SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2339 (Misses' & Miss Petite Shirts)

32 more reviews
Viewed 388 times 
Reviewed by:twinkle72
photo

 
 
About twinkle72star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/12 10:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingcanary said...
You will find a good fitting shirt will likely be the best pattern you have. I like yoke style because you can add as much room across the back as you need for various activities. If you have a shirt with good fitting shoulders, sleeves, neck and bodice, even if you go for other styles you can compare the shape and fit and adjust accordingly. I bought this pattern to be my main pattern for any future sewing or alterations. Once I get the fit right (havenít started yet) anything else I ever want to do will be simple. Based on it, I will be able to adjust to make a yokeless blouse, alter neckline, add or subtract collars and collar styles, change sleeve styles ad infinitum. If you are new to sewing, I promise you it will be worth your time to make a good fitting pattern - a good top and pants that look good AND allow you to move at the same time. Getting the angles of things is the real trick. Adding or subtracting little wedges can be a real pay off when it comes to trying to patterns. You always have your basic pattern to compare to. Youíll be able to cut directly into your fabric, sew it up and know it will fit - however a few try-ons in the process is a good plan. Fabric results can vary quite a bit. The thicker the fabric, the bigger you need to make things. I made a great pants pattern. I later cut thick corduroy not realizing the pants would be too tight because of the fabric thickness. Shirt feed-back. Many seem to not like the sleeve placket (myself included). I donít like the folded band with loose interfacing. If not top-stitched it can come loose and twist inside the band. Fusible sometimes washes loose. Personally, I donít like it. I will make a two-piece band instead. They are more stable anyway. I will also change the yoke treatment. Their method is okay if you donít want any stitching to show but can be risky if the pieces arenít cut exactly the same size. I use another method which takes a smidge more time but always comes out perfect. From the looks of the thumbnail photo, your fit looks pretty good. Re ironingÖ a good quality cotton will require little ironing. Over time, it will soften and you wonít need to do much other than the odd touch-up. Some of the quilting cottons are excellent. I had a poplin w/ spandex blouse that always looked wrinkly. Be sure your machine tension is PROPERLY adjusted. Youíll be chained to an iron forever if it is too tight. Test the tension before you top-stitch multiple layers of fabric especially on flat felled seams etc. Be sure there is enough thread to include the thickness. That way you wonít get puckered seams. Carefully turn collars so they lay flat. Use glue stick in corners rather than pins. Also, use pressure foot as light as possible so fabric doesnít creep when you sew. Donít over-dry cottons. I dry on coolest setting and hang immediately on padded hangers. Happy trailsÖ.
8/4/13 1:47 PM
weekendstitch said...
That looks really nice, I have this pattern and I'm really tempted to make a white shirt too. I think your pictures sold it for me.
2/11/13 6:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
Shirts are great and you can't have too many of them! Your results will improve with practice, as will the satisfaction you feel when you finish one you are happy with. You're off to a good start!
3/6/12 6:09 PM
Raye Ann said...
Great shirt! Thanks for the timely review. This is in my cue!
3/5/12 10:56 PM
AndreaSews said...
Nice looking shirt - maybe you'll become a shirt convert with such a great fit!
3/5/12 10:39 PM
MNBarb said...
A nice basic (but beyond basic because of the custom fit) white shirt. Nobody will know it's your first.
3/5/12 12:54 PM
marec said...
Your first shirt? Really? It looks great, and so crisp for spring.
3/5/12 11:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

HotPatterns 1070

photo
by: wenznz

Review
Simplicity 1617

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now