Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2339 (Misses' & Miss Petite Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 379 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:twinkle72
photo
About twinkle72star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 66
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/12 10:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Your first shirt? Really? It looks great, and so crisp for spring.
3/5/12 11:22 AM
MNBarb said...
A nice basic (but beyond basic because of the custom fit) white shirt. Nobody will know it's your first.
3/5/12 12:54 PM
AndreaSews said...
Nice looking shirt - maybe you'll become a shirt convert with such a great fit!
3/5/12 10:39 PM
Raye Ann said...
Great shirt! Thanks for the timely review. This is in my cue!
3/5/12 10:56 PM
FreyaStark said...
Shirts are great and you can't have too many of them! Your results will improve with practice, as will the satisfaction you feel when you finish one you are happy with. You're off to a good start!
3/6/12 6:09 PM
weekendstitch said...
That looks really nice, I have this pattern and I'm really tempted to make a white shirt too. I think your pictures sold it for me.
2/11/13 6:51 PM
sewingcanary said...
You will find a good fitting shirt will likely be the best pattern you have. I like yoke style because you can add as much room across the back as you need for various activities. If you have a shirt with good fitting shoulders, sleeves, neck and bodice, even if you go for other styles you can compare the shape and fit and adjust accordingly. I bought this pattern to be my main pattern for any future sewing or alterations. Once I get the fit right (havenít started yet) anything else I ever want to do will be simple. Based on it, I will be able to adjust to make a yokeless blouse, alter neckline, add or subtract collars and collar styles, change sleeve styles ad infinitum. If you are new to sewing, I promise you it will be worth your time to make a good fitting pattern - a good top and pants that look good AND allow you to move at the same time. Getting the angles of things is the real trick. Adding or subtracting little wedges can be a real pay off when it comes to trying to patterns. You always have your basic pattern to compare to. Youíll be able to cut directly into your fabric, sew it up and know it will fit - however a few try-ons in the process is a good plan. Fabric results can vary quite a bit. The thicker the fabric, the bigger you need to make things. I made a great pants pattern. I later cut thick corduroy not realizing the pants would be too tight because of the fabric thickness. Shirt feed-back. Many seem to not like the sleeve placket (myself included). I donít like the folded band with loose interfacing. If not top-stitched it can come loose and twist inside the band. Fusible sometimes washes loose. Personally, I donít like it. I will make a two-piece band instead. They are more stable anyway. I will also change the yoke treatment. Their method is okay if you donít want any stitching to show but can be risky if the pieces arenít cut exactly the same size. I use another method which takes a smidge more time but always comes out perfect. From the looks of the thumbnail photo, your fit looks pretty good. Re ironingÖ a good quality cotton will require little ironing. Over time, it will soften and you wonít need to do much other than the odd touch-up. Some of the quilting cottons are excellent. I had a poplin w/ spandex blouse that always looked wrinkly. Be sure your machine tension is PROPERLY adjusted. Youíll be chained to an iron forever if it is too tight. Test the tension before you top-stitch multiple layers of fabric especially on flat felled seams etc. Be sure there is enough thread to include the thickness. That way you wonít get puckered seams. Carefully turn collars so they lay flat. Use glue stick in corners rather than pins. Also, use pressure foot as light as possible so fabric doesnít creep when you sew. Donít over-dry cottons. I dry on coolest setting and hang immediately on padded hangers. Happy trailsÖ.
8/4/13 1:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's 8026
photo
Review by Peter in N... on 7/7/10
Read Review

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 001
photo
Review by Karen6790 on 1/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8795 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8795 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5214 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 5214 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us