SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> #116 12/04-1/05 (Purse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1325 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/04 8:35 AM
Last Updated:11/22/04 8:42 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindaS. said...
Thanks for a great review. I'll be making some of these as gifts and will not even attempt the zipper according to directions. Yours makes so much more sense. Beautiful bag - what are the final dimensions?
11/22/04 8:48 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think your idea to use this zipper makes much more sense for a lot of projects. Your bag looks wonderful (even after all the broken needles - hehehe).
11/22/04 9:10 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks! Linda, I've added the finished dimensions to the review under pattern sizing.
11/22/04 10:11 AM
Susan M said...
Absolutely beautiful! I've looked at that Threads several times and worried about the zipper. Thanks for a great solution.
11/22/04 10:29 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I like your "wimp" zipper solution! I, too, feared making this bag when I read you had to remove the zipper pull. Now I think I will try this bag, too. Yours (and the others') are gorgeous!
11/22/04 11:37 AM
cindyann said...
Well I can certainly understand your frustration with the zipper. It took me forever to get mine back on too. Your idea for a longer zip is by far less stressful. Your bag is very pretty!
11/22/04 12:22 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
So cute! Great tip about the zipper.
11/22/04 1:44 PM
Gail S said...
Love it! I wanted to try this but was discouraged by the pulling the zipper apart project. I did this once on another quick to make project and it was almost the death of me! It took me forever to get the zipper put back together and I invented several new swear words in the process. I am all for the longer zipper wimp method. Sign me up! I'm going to add this one to my got to do projects.
11/23/04 1:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-121A

photo
by: SewWil

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: Jgpea

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now