SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1164 OOP (DKNY)

Viewed 380 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/12 10:00 AM
Last Updated:5/5/12 4:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Vogue Patterns: 1164 OOP by FreyaStark  Vogue Patterns: 1164 OOP by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fourkid said...
You always write great reviews - have a wonderful sense of style and an interesting view of life. Thank you for sharing it with us. btw - I love the dress and you in it.
5/16/12 11:05 AM
Heatherrique said...
Bohemian chic is what I like about this dress! I don't think it looks dated at all. I have been seeing a revival of maxi shirt dresses. You make "Florence and the Sewing Machine" look and sound really hip!
5/5/12 9:17 PM
Stargirl7 said...
As well as between expiditions, I think it is quite the right dress for a lady's travel wardrobe, especially if she is venturing rather farther than is usual. Bravo!
5/5/12 8:25 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress. It looks great on you. I like the contrasting tights a lot.
5/5/12 8:22 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
I like it! The fact that it is classic makes it even better. You picked a great fabric for this one too! I'd wear it in a heartbeat! Good job!
5/5/12 4:04 PM
zoe said...
This looks comfortable and certainly will be a favourite. I love your online 'persona'; Freya Stark is one of my favourite travel writers from the 1930s. In her obituary in the London Times in 1993 they described her as 'the last of the romantic travellers'. I am actually currently reading her book 'Valley of the Assasins'. You must be a fan of hers as well!
5/5/12 10:50 AM
jannw said...
Great fabric for a classic dress! Looks very comfortable with the swishy skirt! Perfect for hopping on that camel if necessary!! Love the magenta tights!
5/5/12 8:41 AM
cleverclogs said...
Lovely dress. Those sleeves are certainly drafted way too long if the pattern photos are anything to go by!
5/5/12 8:07 AM
Margaret said...
This dress looks like a wonderful classic. I love the rayon print.
5/5/12 5:43 AM
Annette1 said...
Another WINNING review, and of a pattern that I don't even remember ever seeing. I love a color with a stand. Your dress looks SO nice and COMFY and SWISHY. :o)
5/4/12 10:10 PM
Christas said...
Flawless sewing and wonderful review, as usual! Love your fabric choice. I hope you find the time to make a summer version. You might have to put the pic of your favorite camel away to do it! LOL! :-)
5/4/12 6:04 PM
Mufffet said...
:) Nice dress and fabric.
5/4/12 1:46 PM
MNBarb said...
I had a dress just like this in the 80's. It was such a treat to wear. Rayon is the perfect choice.
5/4/12 11:21 AM
Renren said...
It's all in the framing: what is called distinctly dated might also be considered timelessly classic. This is a beautiful classic! It looks so comfortable to wear. I can see it becoming a favorite. (BTW, what is the camel's name? I hope he is doing well.)
5/4/12 11:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

More Info
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

More Info