SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2248 (misses dresses)

10 more reviews
Viewed 504 times 
Reviewed by:penelopey4
photo

 
 
About penelopey4star
CO USA
Member since: 5/27/11
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/12 5:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
IT's very pretty! Have you considered adding a piece of lace horizontally to raise the neckline? It might be lovely in white and your fabric would make it look like a design feature.
2/20/13 1:50 AM
JenniferMM said...
Very pretty!
3/22/12 12:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is gorgeous and fits you so perfectly--the gaping front, as you said, is not noticeable in the pic. Not sure what you can do to fix it, but am very sure there is a fix. Hope you do, cuz it would be a shame not to get lots of wear from this beautiful dress.
3/20/12 8:41 PM
tigergirl said...
I hope you can do some sort of fix, it would be such a shame to have this dress wasted.
3/20/12 7:22 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a beautiful dress! The gaping doesn't look bad at all.
3/19/12 11:02 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Super cute and love your fabric choice
3/19/12 10:45 PM
jlg said...
So pretty in the picture.
3/19/12 9:13 PM
MaryDB said...
That dress is darling on you! Nice job.
3/19/12 8:46 PM
penelopey4 said...
Wow, thanks for the ideas, ladies!! I'm hopeful now that I can fix it! :)
3/19/12 7:58 PM
PattyE said...
I think Hollywood Fashion Tape would be perfect for your neckline issue. It's a lovely dress.
3/19/12 7:44 PM
LorrieAnn said...
oh, gosh, I didn't mean to imply your dress is a disaster - far from it.
3/19/12 7:34 PM
LorrieAnn said...
See if your library has "Sewing 911" by Barbara Deckert. It contains fixes for many sewing disasters, and if I recall correctly, she addresses using boning to make a very low-backed dress conform to the body....that might help the neckline problem....I hope you can make this gorgeous dress wearable to your satisfaction.
3/19/12 7:33 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty dress, I like the cut out in the back and your fabric is lovely.
3/19/12 7:00 PM
penelopey4 said...
CJgal, I did tack it by hand to see if that would help, but nope. I also considered putting a piece of boning in the facing to shape it my body. Any thoughts on that? Is boning even shapeable??
3/19/12 6:25 PM
CJgal said...
I think this is beautiful! I love the back especially. Could you possibly tack the neckline down by hand? I think you could make it work!
3/19/12 6:21 PM
zoe said...
Very cute dress!
3/19/12 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 3588

photo
by: Jennifer s...

Review
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Simplicity 4020

photo
by: sharondipi...

Review