Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2248 (misses dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 498 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:penelopey4
photo
About penelopey4star
CO USA
Member since: 5/27/11
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/12 5:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zoe said...
Very cute dress!
3/19/12 6:04 PM
CJgal said...
I think this is beautiful! I love the back especially. Could you possibly tack the neckline down by hand? I think you could make it work!
3/19/12 6:21 PM
penelopey4 said...
CJgal, I did tack it by hand to see if that would help, but nope. I also considered putting a piece of boning in the facing to shape it my body. Any thoughts on that? Is boning even shapeable??
3/19/12 6:25 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty dress, I like the cut out in the back and your fabric is lovely.
3/19/12 7:00 PM
LorrieAnn said...
See if your library has "Sewing 911" by Barbara Deckert. It contains fixes for many sewing disasters, and if I recall correctly, she addresses using boning to make a very low-backed dress conform to the body....that might help the neckline problem....I hope you can make this gorgeous dress wearable to your satisfaction.
3/19/12 7:33 PM
LorrieAnn said...
oh, gosh, I didn't mean to imply your dress is a disaster - far from it.
3/19/12 7:34 PM
PattyE said...
I think Hollywood Fashion Tape would be perfect for your neckline issue. It's a lovely dress.
3/19/12 7:44 PM
penelopey4 said...
Wow, thanks for the ideas, ladies!! I'm hopeful now that I can fix it! :)
3/19/12 7:58 PM
MaryDB said...
That dress is darling on you! Nice job.
3/19/12 8:46 PM
jlg said...
So pretty in the picture.
3/19/12 9:13 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Super cute and love your fabric choice
3/19/12 10:45 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a beautiful dress! The gaping doesn't look bad at all.
3/19/12 11:02 PM
tigergirl said...
I hope you can do some sort of fix, it would be such a shame to have this dress wasted.
3/20/12 7:22 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is gorgeous and fits you so perfectly--the gaping front, as you said, is not noticeable in the pic. Not sure what you can do to fix it, but am very sure there is a fix. Hope you do, cuz it would be a shame not to get lots of wear from this beautiful dress.
3/20/12 8:41 PM
JenniferMM said...
Very pretty!
3/22/12 12:01 PM
Gendun said...
IT's very pretty! Have you considered adding a piece of lace horizontally to raise the neckline? It might be lovely in white and your fabric would make it look like a design feature.
2/20/13 1:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 8789
photo
Review by Cristinagf on 8/11/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1312 Misses Dress
photo
Review by Sewmuchcra... on 10/7/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8651 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8651 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5589 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5589 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us