SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Icon Shirt (Icon Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 386 times 
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 134
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/12 11:56 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
I really like your fabric use on this; I bought this pattern to make a shirt for my sister, and she thought your version much nicer. Ditto the ReVisions instructions; sometimes you have to make a little model of something to see how it works (my spatial sense is less bendy than it used to be)
4/8/13 2:35 AM
mm said...
I was hoping someonw would review this pattern. It looks great and I want one.
3/23/12 6:55 AM
magoe6217 said...
Martha, I think this is a real winner. When you start receiving the many compliments that I am sure will be coming your way, hopefully it will grow on you.
3/22/12 7:09 PM
Cultured Purl said...
This particular pattern and the Hybiscus are my all time favorite shirts of SW, I absolutely LOVE both of them and could make them repeatedly in diff ways Would love to know where one gets such wonderful shirting fabric love this blouse, both patterns are on my table now~
3/21/12 2:34 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I am waiting for my pattern right now ( ordered as a kit) I have been wondering why the other side of the fabric needed to show, now I know I LOVE LOVE LOVE your shirt and would love to do mine in stripes any day( I love stripes in anything tho), I love the cowl of the neckline, I think they have a winner in this pattern, and I think yours is absolutely fun and perfect for summer! This shirt looks like an expensive boutique shirt, and you did a great job on sewing it,,,, hope mine turns out as well as yours does, I will be making a few of these myself! ( gosh I love stripes!)
3/21/12 2:32 PM
DorothyK said...
This is fabulous. I love your use of the stripes and buttons. Looks like I'll have to get this pattern :-)
3/21/12 10:48 AM
Karine said...
Martha, I love your Icon shirt! I hope the stripes grow on you because they're super - I especially like the red mixed in. Great idea on the buttons for the side flap. I'm just finishing this top and think I'll copy that idea. For what it's worth, the hanging pocket is really fun - you might want to consider it on your next one. I'm thinking, too, about making the back shorter next time. Very nice work - you're so creative!
3/21/12 9:16 AM
cmcarr said...
It's interesting that we sewers are always the hardest critics. I love everything about you shirt. Please send it to me if you don't like it. I wear a medium also. I just finished my first TSW pattern and I love all the details. I never knew there were so many independent pattern companies until I found Pattern Review. I have sewn forever but I have learned more in the past 2 years than the last 40 years. Thanks everyone.
3/21/12 0:47 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's fun and distinctive, but I agree with you about the fabric. Something plain or with a fine pattern might be better. But do keep wearing it. It's much too good to waste, and you might come around to liking it more.
3/21/12 0:05 AM
Kemish said...
Great review. I just traced this pattern off this morning and am looking forward to making it. I was intrigued by the funnel neck. Love yours in stripes. I appreciate TSW unique and detailed instructions - I'm looking forward to starting my blouse.
3/20/12 5:23 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love this top and the stripes, especially the navy cuff with red lining!
3/20/12 4:20 PM
sfshaza said...
I adore this top. I love the stripes, I love the color blocking. I love your modification with the buttons at the side hem. I can't wait to make this one up!
3/20/12 2:24 PM
Claverie said...
Looks SOOOO much better than the pattern/web site. Great looking shirt!
3/20/12 1:30 PM
anncie1 said...
I want this!!!
3/20/12 12:16 PM
carolynw said...
In my many years of sewing I have often sewn garments that I personally do not feel is "me" which are then gleefully taken by my DS because they are in fact down right pretty - even beautiful -which I realise when I see her wearing them - and Martha I think you are doing the same darn thing - I absolutely love your blouse and the fabrics you used - it's so modern but not overly so - I would expect to see this in an expensive RTW store so please wear it often - or I could send you my address?
3/20/12 12:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Butterick 5498

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

More Info
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

More Info