SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3242 OOP (Vintage 49er Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 184 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/12 3:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Very nice! The 49er looks like an American classic that is not known where I live, but I certainly wish I could have one. I'll have to watch out for a suitable pattern. You have done well to reuse the skirt fabric so successfully, too.
3/21/12 5:02 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Beautiful, beautiful. I want one, too! I have a small men's plaid shirt jacket that was handed down to me, but a women's version like yours would be so much better fitting and looking.
3/21/12 6:06 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I love this! great work
3/21/12 6:59 AM
Rhoda K said...
Such a nice jacket and repurpose project! I had a red/gray one when I was in high school and literally wore it out.
3/21/12 7:32 AM
jlg said...
I recognized this as the Pendleton jacket as soon as I saw it. Great job.
3/21/12 8:15 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
What luck finding an additional fabric source.. your jacket is fabulous!
3/21/12 8:27 AM
karen n said...
Fabulous job, Mary and it looked great real life too as I got to see it on you at the Expo! The best part? Mary impressed me in that she put this right in her washing machine with Woolite, no dryer (correct me if I'm wrong) and it comes out beautifully!
3/21/12 9:02 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Fantastic jacket - looks perfectly lovely.
3/21/12 2:18 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, SNAP! Finding an identical skirt can only mean it was fated for perfection! Well done!
3/21/12 3:43 PM
21wale said...
Very nice! Such a classic and looks great in the plaid.
3/21/12 6:44 PM
snaffles said...
Beautiful jacket...I love Black Watch plaid. I've been looking for this pattern for ages. I'm pretty sure Lucy was wearing an original one in the classic rumba scene she did with Ricky when she had eggs in her jacket pockets. Waste of a great jacket.
3/24/12 3:47 AM
sewpelican said...
Love your jacket. I have some Pendleton skirts packed away as my waist has "grown". Hated to part with them , but now am inspired to make a vest or two. "Serge and topstitch is what P is doing now", is that to reduce amount of fabric they use I wonder? Their SA used to be quite generous.
11/3/12 4:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2891

photo
by: HolleyM

Review
Butterick 5859

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now