SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3242 OOP (Vintage 49er Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 183 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/12 3:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Very nice! The 49er looks like an American classic that is not known where I live, but I certainly wish I could have one. I'll have to watch out for a suitable pattern. You have done well to reuse the skirt fabric so successfully, too.
3/21/12 5:02 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Beautiful, beautiful. I want one, too! I have a small men's plaid shirt jacket that was handed down to me, but a women's version like yours would be so much better fitting and looking.
3/21/12 6:06 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I love this! great work
3/21/12 6:59 AM
Rhoda K said...
Such a nice jacket and repurpose project! I had a red/gray one when I was in high school and literally wore it out.
3/21/12 7:32 AM
jlg said...
I recognized this as the Pendleton jacket as soon as I saw it. Great job.
3/21/12 8:15 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
What luck finding an additional fabric source.. your jacket is fabulous!
3/21/12 8:27 AM
karen n said...
Fabulous job, Mary and it looked great real life too as I got to see it on you at the Expo! The best part? Mary impressed me in that she put this right in her washing machine with Woolite, no dryer (correct me if I'm wrong) and it comes out beautifully!
3/21/12 9:02 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Fantastic jacket - looks perfectly lovely.
3/21/12 2:18 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, SNAP! Finding an identical skirt can only mean it was fated for perfection! Well done!
3/21/12 3:43 PM
21wale said...
Very nice! Such a classic and looks great in the plaid.
3/21/12 6:44 PM
snaffles said...
Beautiful jacket...I love Black Watch plaid. I've been looking for this pattern for ages. I'm pretty sure Lucy was wearing an original one in the classic rumba scene she did with Ricky when she had eggs in her jacket pockets. Waste of a great jacket.
3/24/12 3:47 AM
sewpelican said...
Love your jacket. I have some Pendleton skirts packed away as my waist has "grown". Hated to part with them , but now am inspired to make a vest or two. "Serge and topstitch is what P is doing now", is that to reduce amount of fabric they use I wonder? Their SA used to be quite generous.
11/3/12 4:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 6208

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 7610

photo
by: Ducky D

Review