SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2572 (Women's shapewear)

1 more reviews
Viewed 814 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 195
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/12 2:10 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mlsews said...
Those are fantastic!
3/24/12 3:58 AM
Living Beauty said...
Thanks for the review. You did such a great job on this pattern. I always wondered how a pattern for "shape wear" would work out for a home sewing engineer! Beautiful!
3/24/12 10:04 AM
RadarRadiance said...
They look great, perfect for those clingy knit dresses!
3/24/12 10:06 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Great job...I'll have to get this pattern! Thank you for the review...very helpful!
3/24/12 10:16 AM
Elemenopeo said...
great job - thanks for the tips!
3/24/12 10:41 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Yes! Yes! Love those!
3/24/12 10:53 AM
2mulie said...
Excellent!! I've often wanted to make these, especially when I don't get the fit I want in RTW and have to spend major $$$ to be unhappy. Thank you for your review and modifications.
3/24/12 12:21 PM
cindyann said...
What a great review! Do the legs ride up at all?
3/24/12 1:07 PM
clothingengineer said...
Cindyann - they don't after I lengthened them and made sure the stretch lace is tight enough. It is very important to make sure the fabric you use has 70% 4-way stretch.
3/24/12 1:24 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
What a helpful and great review. I need this pattern!!!
3/24/12 4:03 PM
marjoriekh said...
Maybe this is the answer to my summer VPL and panty ride-up problems. Do you have any further advice about fabric selection? Light weight OK, or needs body?
3/24/12 9:31 PM
clothingengineer said...
marjoriekh - My rayon/lycra knit is about as thin and flimsy as you can get and it worked really well for this pattern. However I wasn't looking for compression - I mostly wanted a comfortable way of avoiding VPL. I think you could use any fabric as long as it has lots of stretch in both directions.
3/24/12 10:43 PM
wildberrymom said...
Thanks for a great review and inspiration!
3/24/12 11:20 PM
morzel said...
Thanks for this good review!
3/25/12 3:08 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful - will have to have a go myself
3/25/12 3:12 AM
MNBarb said...
Wow! Perfect fit and no undergarment lines in a natural fiber.
3/25/12 8:54 AM
marjoriekh said...
Thanks! Not looking for compression, but invisible, cool comfort in the heat. Thank you for this very helpful review.
3/26/12 10:02 AM
Levone said...
Wow, I love the idea of making my own shapewear, yours look perfect. I'm always disappointed with my store bought ones. Great review!
3/26/12 9:24 PM
canei said...
Nice. I love making shapewear. I have this and have made several. Better fit than RTW and cost effective once you find your supplier.
4/15/13 8:13 AM
irmartin said...
Looks Great!!!! Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about this pattern. Now, I thinkI will try it.
6/13/13 1:33 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Great review, I will have to try this pattern. There are so many awesome Jalie's out there to try!
9/29/13 9:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2011-128

photo
by: Irene Bull...

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now