Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2880 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 714 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR
About Danmar
FL USA
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/12 8:46 PM
Last Updated:4/27/12 0:35 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shayedknits said...
Thanks for the review! I am working on this dress, too and I just finished sewing all of the lining. I then thought that I sewed it backwards (I was also assuming that the seams should face the inside of the dress, so the right side of the lining would show)...but I guess I did it correctly! Thanks-can't wait to see pictures of yours!
4/23/12 11:38 AM
Danmar said...
You are welcome! I could not have made this dress without the other reviewers tips! So I thought I should return the favor. Pics will be a few days as I want to wait until my daughter puts it on again. How are you handling the slippery chiffon? Any special method? The gelatin sounds crazy but really works if your fabric is washable!
4/23/12 9:15 PM
Danmar said...
Hi all, Can you see my photos? Having trouble with the process!
4/24/12 8:19 PM
Calama said...
Wow, looks gorgeous!
4/24/12 9:01 PM
EliseMarie said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Took my breath away this dress is so pretty :-)
4/24/12 10:06 PM
Scheri said...
What a lucky young lady to have someone make her such a beautiful gown.
4/27/12 0:56 AM
Dale C said...
Beautiful! She's very lucky to have you sewing her prom dress!
4/27/12 1:00 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That is a gorgeous dress!
4/27/12 1:32 AM
BillieJean said...
My gosh - this is so beautiful. I can't imagine ever tackling anything this daunting. But you sure did make it work.
4/27/12 6:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very beautiful and thank you for the detailed review!
4/27/12 6:38 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great review! I made this last year for my daughter and I wish I had left off the boning, etc. It was a ton of work, but she has gotten a lot of use out if it. She sings in competitions. Your dress is soooo lovely!
4/27/12 9:59 AM
zoe said...
Great detailed review! Beautiful dress!
4/27/12 10:19 AM
twinkle72 said...
This is beautiful!
4/27/12 11:28 AM
tsedai said...
It looks like the dress walked off of the pattern envelope! It looks stunning!
4/27/12 2:30 PM
Fictionfan said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely!!! This is really a labor of love for your lucky daughter. I bet she'll be the envy of her friends at the prom. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/27/12 10:55 PM
LynnMR333 said...
awesome!! thanks for sharing!!
4/28/12 8:02 AM
Schnipps said...
That dress is wonderful! You did not sew the boning at all? But you did the foundation parts (1,2,3 and 4)? In another review I jus read, she did the boning except on the shoulders. I just started with the very first steps of a prototype and I would really like to omit the boning.
5/2/12 5:05 PM
ChristineX said...
That is such a hot dress! I love it!
5/2/12 9:49 PM
salsera7 said...
Very ambitious project. You did a wonderful job!
5/5/12 12:46 PM
Danmar said...
Schnipps--- I omitted the entire foundation with boning. So instead I used 1/4" elastic across the shoulders. Did not need it across bodice or back. So there ends up being 3 layers in the bodice. The chiffon and two linings.
5/8/12 11:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 2377
photo
Review by tacittalk on 9/14/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 9172 1-hour
photo
Review by RJB on 7/7/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us