SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2679 (Sport Jackets for Women)

15 more reviews
Viewed 347 times 
Reviewed by:E.A.Y.
photo

 
 
About E.A.Y.
CA
Member since: 1/25/12
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/12 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/26/12 5:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
E.A.Y. said... (4/29/12 2:06 PM) Reply
For quite a while I could only find the Schoeller from Finland. I was happy to find it in the US. I do not own a serger so I don't know what I am missing! Hopefully this review will also demonstrate that this kind of sewing is possible "sergerless".
fuzzygalore said... (4/29/12 1:21 PM) Reply
I used microtex (sharp) needles on my Malden PowerStretch jacket too. But I just serged it :-). And did a very tiny zigzag on the topstitching. I have this pattern too but haven't used it yet, thanks for a very thorough review! And thanks for the Finnish link too.
MNBarb said... (4/27/12 8:13 PM) Reply
I just wore my jacket from this pattern today and was thinking, "this is such a great fit and design". I love the way you color-blocked and topstitched yours. I agree, how nice to have a knock-around comfy jacket that is fit for a woman! Great details in your review.
Danmar said... (4/27/12 9:52 AM) Reply
Nice! I love the color blocking. Your tips are very helpful
Stephanie C. said... (4/27/12 1:36 AM) Reply
That's an amazing looking jacket!
annakeeton said... (4/26/12 7:20 PM) Reply
Wow, great jacket! Schoeller makes super quality fabric, so you know this jacket will wear well. Brilliant idea to use bulk zipper tape on the hand pockets to not have to sew around the stop.
E.A.Y. said... (4/26/12 5:34 PM) Reply
I should add a note about working w/ Schoeller dryskin. This is a woven fabric, so some kind of anti-fray is necessary along the front edges. I used Fray Block. If I'd thought of it, I'd have incorporated some seam tape or something for a nicer finish.
TJSEWS said... (4/26/12 4:27 PM) Reply
Fabulous!
E.A.Y. said... (4/26/12 11:49 AM) Reply
If you are in Europe, shelby.fi In the States rockywoods.com
MaryDB said... (4/26/12 11:47 AM) Reply
Wow - the jacket looks great! You did a terrific job. Where on earth did you find the Schoeller softshell? I have been looking for it everywhere.
E.A.Y. said... (4/6/12 9:27 AM) Reply
Thank you! I've finally ordered the fabric and altered the pattern so once I finish a jacket for my husband, I can get going.
wildberrymom said... (3/24/12 10:39 PM) Reply
Nice muslin and helpful review--look forward to seeing the final project.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Contest Travel Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: MVi14

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1011

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Pattern Details
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Pattern Details