SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2679 (Sport Jackets for Women)

13 more reviews
Viewed 310 times 
Reviewed by:E.A.Y.
photo

 
 
About E.A.Y.
CA
Member since: 1/25/12
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/12 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/26/12 5:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wildberrymom said...
Nice muslin and helpful review--look forward to seeing the final project.
3/24/12 10:39 PM
E.A.Y. said...
Thank you! I've finally ordered the fabric and altered the pattern so once I finish a jacket for my husband, I can get going.
4/6/12 9:27 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow - the jacket looks great! You did a terrific job. Where on earth did you find the Schoeller softshell? I have been looking for it everywhere.
4/26/12 11:47 AM
E.A.Y. said...
If you are in Europe, shelby.fi In the States rockywoods.com
4/26/12 11:49 AM
TJSEWS said...
Fabulous!
4/26/12 4:27 PM
E.A.Y. said...
I should add a note about working w/ Schoeller dryskin. This is a woven fabric, so some kind of anti-fray is necessary along the front edges. I used Fray Block. If I'd thought of it, I'd have incorporated some seam tape or something for a nicer finish.
4/26/12 5:34 PM
annakeeton said...
Wow, great jacket! Schoeller makes super quality fabric, so you know this jacket will wear well. Brilliant idea to use bulk zipper tape on the hand pockets to not have to sew around the stop.
4/26/12 7:20 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That's an amazing looking jacket!
4/27/12 1:36 AM
Danmar said...
Nice! I love the color blocking. Your tips are very helpful
4/27/12 9:52 AM
MNBarb said...
I just wore my jacket from this pattern today and was thinking, "this is such a great fit and design". I love the way you color-blocked and topstitched yours. I agree, how nice to have a knock-around comfy jacket that is fit for a woman! Great details in your review.
4/27/12 8:13 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I used microtex (sharp) needles on my Malden PowerStretch jacket too. But I just serged it :-). And did a very tiny zigzag on the topstitching. I have this pattern too but haven't used it yet, thanks for a very thorough review! And thanks for the Finnish link too.
4/29/12 1:21 PM
E.A.Y. said...
For quite a while I could only find the Schoeller from Finland. I was happy to find it in the US. I do not own a serger so I don't know what I am missing! Hopefully this review will also demonstrate that this kind of sewing is possible "sergerless".
4/29/12 2:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5816

photo
by: nickelc624

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Neue Mode 22367

photo
by: CycleGal

Review