Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 2527 (Marfy dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 700 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/12 11:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
Beautiful work. Love the details. And congratulations on your first Marfy!
6/26/12 11:51 PM
Westy85 said...
Wow this turned out amazing considering you didn't have instructions I would have been pulling my hair out. Looks fantastic and the red is so stunning on you! Well done!
6/26/12 11:52 PM
miausiau said...
Fabulous! Those Marfy patterns are so tempting. I love that you used spray paint for the buckle. I have had great success with nail polish for such things as well...it comes in so many colors. The fit looks perfect, and would be great in a stretch as you have planned. Who needs instructions!!
6/26/12 11:54 PM
Christas said...
I'm so impressed! I have admired the Marfy patterns for years, but never have gotten the courage to sew one. Your dress is so lovely and looks so stylish. Your sewing is always so flawless and inspiring.
6/26/12 11:56 PM
PattyE said...
Congrats...it looks great! I've got 2 Marfy patterns and am anxious to try one.
6/27/12 0:03 AM
joanico said...
This is an amazing dress! Congratulations!
6/27/12 0:16 AM
cmcarr said...
Perfection and you wear it well.
6/27/12 0:18 AM
Aya said...
Wow that's a lot of detail considering no instructions! Kudos to you for a great looking dress!
6/27/12 0:58 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous dress, love the classic style with a bit of edge.
6/27/12 1:48 AM
pdiddly said...
I saw a Marfy catalogue for the first time on Sunday and can understand the attraction to this brand - beautiful
6/27/12 3:32 AM
Karla Kizer said...
It's wonderful! Look at the fit - and all the details. I know they had to be time-intensive. Congratulations on creating a winner.
6/27/12 7:10 AM
Jane Wineteer said...
Great job! Congratulations! You are an inspiration to me to try one of the Marfy patterns I have collected.
6/27/12 8:48 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Wow! What a great looking dress, you look wonderful! I love all the details.
6/27/12 8:53 AM
Nan Kay said...
Fantastic dress, and such a good review. I don't know why I have never thought of painting buckles, that is brilliant!
6/27/12 9:00 AM
heathergwo said...
BEAUTIFUL!! Awesome job! Great review! Thank you!
6/27/12 9:19 AM
sfshaza said...
Just wonderful, Barbara! Such interesting detailing and it looks wonderful on you. A very resourceful way of handling the lack of matching buckles!!
6/27/12 9:22 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a gorgeous dress! You are very inspiring and it looks fabulous on you!!
6/27/12 9:45 AM
Karine said...
Wow - that is an incredible dress! For your first Marfy, it looks like a pretty complicated pattern - so congratulations! The detailing really makes this a stand out and it looks terrific on you.
6/27/12 9:53 AM
Patti B said...
You are a braver woman than I -- and with such a gorgeous result. I really like the brown trims even though my first inclination would have been black also.
6/27/12 9:58 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautifully done! The fit and finish is superb and it is a very flattering dress.
6/27/12 9:59 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow, Barbara, this is a masterpiece. Congratulations on taking the plunge. The result is definitely a step above the ordinary. Looks beautiful on you - and you achieved a perfect fit.
6/27/12 10:08 AM
Jrhee said...
LOVE this awesome dress! Do Marfy patterns ever go on sale?
6/27/12 10:08 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Well done. Congratulations on your first (of many?) Marfy. Your dress looks fabulous and anything but simple. The details are fabulous, and perfectly executed.
6/27/12 10:10 AM
Silknmore said...
What a gorgeous dress and so well fitted. Congratulations!
6/27/12 10:23 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I have long admired the Marfy patterns but not as brave as you. What a fantastic job on this dress, so cool and looks wonderful on you. Just love it!
6/27/12 10:25 AM
Nenewhis said...
How encouraging! I have drooled over Marfy patterns for years. Such a great dress on you!
6/27/12 12:01 PM
Enid E said...
Barbara, as usual another winner! I love the lines and the zipper detail of this dress. You look great in it, and I truly admire your sewing skills!
6/27/12 1:08 PM
CSY said...
Outstanding!
6/27/12 1:33 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for the very encouraging comments!!!! Jrhee, I have never noticed Marfy patterns on sale; however, I received a 15% discount through Club BMV membership - http://clubbmv.mccall.com/ and savings on shipping with multiple patterns as follows: $5.50 for 1-2, $11.50 for 3-4, etc.
6/27/12 1:41 PM
slmstyle said...
Kudos to you for trying a Marfy pattern, your efforts resulted in a beautiful, successful dress!
6/27/12 1:59 PM
msmull3562 said...
Love the dress! It looks fantastic.
6/27/12 2:32 PM
Seamin in LA said...
I hadn't seen this pattern before but it has great detailing and you did a fabulous job on your first Marfy, congrats. My first one is close to completion so I look forward to joining you in the "Did a Marfy" club.
6/27/12 3:30 PM
Seamin in LA said...

6/27/12 3:30 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow, your dress is just absolutely beautiful!
6/27/12 4:02 PM
kias2 said...
This dress looks pefect on you. Each detail is SO neat. I would feel so proud to produce work like this. Lovely colour on you too.
6/27/12 4:43 PM
rozzybabe said...
Your creations are ALWAYS beautifully sewn, & this is no exception! Great job, great improvising with notions! You've given me the extra push I needed, & I'll order a Marfy for Fall sewing. Perhaps will do my first review with it too!!
6/27/12 5:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
You did not need any set of directions to create a Marfy-lous and mesmerizing dress, Barbara! Impressive details and outstanding craftladyship on your dress. :-)
6/27/12 5:39 PM
marthamyers said...
Beautifully fitted and a very attractive result. The red-brown combination is a unique and successful combination. Bravo!
6/27/12 9:50 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Fantastic looking dress. Great job!!!
6/27/12 9:58 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's really a beautiful and unique dress. The sewing and topstitching looks perfect. Enjoy wearing your fabulous creation!
6/28/12 12:04 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wow! Look at all the comments. Now that is a noteworthy dress to get everybody to respond like this. Congrats.
6/28/12 4:13 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Love the details of this dress, from the rounded front and exposed zipper to the pockets and strapped sleeves. Very European and chic! And your execution is perfect. Very well sewn, very stylish - a winner!
6/28/12 10:17 PM
Annette1 said...
CONGRATULATIONS on taking the Marfy plunge, something I haven't worked up the confidence to do as of yet. :o) Your dress is OUTSTANDING in all the details, including the SPRAY PAINT! I've made a few trips to the hardware store for some little sewing detail myself -- ha! -- or had Bailey go for me, since he knows his way around so much better than I do. (He works part-time for our local hardware store here.) You've also achieved such a nice fit. If you make it again, be sure and post a NEW review -- rules be d#(*$med! -- instead of just "updated." Otherwise, I'll miss it for sure -- ha!
7/1/12 1:27 AM
jewelea said...
Truly exceptional work...I admire everything you make. What style!
7/1/12 8:08 PM
Sewing Gal said...
Wow! This dress looks great on you. I have been toying with the idea of ordering a Marfy pattern. Maybe I'll get brave and do so soon. Your dress looks absolutely beautiful.
7/7/12 11:52 AM
Fictionfan said...
Stunning! Just stunning. I'll say it even though the other 43 people already told you how wonderful your dress is. Thanks for the review and the ideas! Congratulations on your first Marfy and welcome to the addiction. Their patterns are in a class of their own, worth every minute and every penny.
8/28/12 11:41 PM
heatherlynn said...
Thanks for a great review and this dress really looks fabulous on you!
9/5/12 3:36 PM
Hetty said...
Just beautiful!
12/27/12 0:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-120 Zip-up top
photo
Review by meggipeg on 4/2/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by ImListenin... on 7/12/10
Read Review

McCalls 5721 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5721 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1787 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 1787 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us