SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2962 (Misses Swimsuit)

14 more reviews
Review submitted in Swimwear Contest Contest
Viewed 984 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/12 9:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jane Mary said...
Thank you so very much for this outstanding review! I have made many swimsuits for my daughter when she was little and have now decided to attempt one for myself. I am done paying over $100 for a designer swimsuit and another $89 for matching cover-ups! I especially love your suggestion on getting the Elastic Applicator Foot. I just ordered mine and can't wait for it to arrive! I also have the Baby Lock Imagine Wave...so hoping for the same great results that you achieved! I also loved your idea of color blocking and making the adjustments specifically for your body type. Something you can not do with Ready-to-Wear. I have a custom dress form and already can see where I need to add a bit more fabric here or there.....which the swimsuit designers don't...since their models are perfect and most everyday people are not! And, love your feline friends...we have two here as well. You look amazing in your swimsuit! The pattern companies should consider asking you to write an instruction booklet to compliment their patterns. And, if you modeled the suit....they would get more sales. Great job! Thanks so much for the help and inspiration! I will continue to follow your work, as I hope to be in your sewing ability league someday!
3/24/14 11:50 AM
caper81 said...
Great swimsuit! Thanks for including all of your photos along with your detailed review. Very helpful! :)
7/17/12 8:17 AM
Jrhee said...
I somehow missed this review the first time around! AMAZING swimsuit and technique. I see that you used an elasticator foot - I'm currently using it on my 3rd swimsuit, and while very convenient, I can't get it to feed smoothly over seams. I'll play around with it some more, I suppose.
7/16/12 1:54 PM
Lynn67 said...
Just wanted to say thanks for all the pics of the bra cups - I was directed here by a fellow PR'er since my bra cups didn't work out for a halter I'm making. I've learned a lot from your pics (like cutting out the inside lining - where did I think my little boobs would go?). Awesome bathing suit, too, BTW!
6/4/12 6:31 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Fabulous job!! Congratulations! Thanks so much for the excellent tut on the bra lining!
5/1/12 11:58 AM
fractal said...
Fantastic swimsuit and a wonderfully detailed review. Well done!
4/9/12 11:43 AM
sew4real said...
Great review! Your suite look professionally done. I am inspired to try my hand at making a swim suite. I like your kitty cats, mine do the same thing!
4/7/12 8:58 AM
cindysewsaz said...
Absolutely awesome! (Both the review and the suit!) Thanks for the detailed review!
4/4/12 11:54 AM
KHinson said...
What a beautiful suit and great fit. I don't think I could pull it off with a regular sewing machine.
4/4/12 9:36 AM
petro said...
Wow! perfect fit, wonderful swimsuit.
4/4/12 7:41 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the demo on sewing the cups in - very good information! Great suit and cute kitty!
4/1/12 0:17 AM
AuntieShel said...
You are absolutely stunning in your suit!!! We should all be so lucky to look like that at 45 after 4 kids!! Absolutely LOVE the black and green combo. Am thinking I should try making a suit out of bathing suit fabric, yours is so inspiring!
3/31/12 7:07 PM
Bonnie O said...
YOU LOOK GREAT! I love the fabric combo. Congrats on the weight loss.
3/31/12 9:39 AM
JEF said...
1. You look fantastic in this suit. 2. Your review is wonderful - thank you so much for all the detailed info and photos. 3. I think the ruching a very stylish detail. 4. I have a black cat who looks just like yours (there is a certain similarity to black cats, isn't there?) who helps out in the exact same way!!!
3/31/12 8:48 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Thank you so much your wonderful review on adding bra cups your suit is A+
3/31/12 8:27 AM
RobbieK said...
I have this pattern! I've used it, but my swimsuit didn't look as good as yours, wait maybe it's the body it was on ;) I love what you've done and you've inspired me to make another.
3/31/12 8:09 AM
Dilliander said...
Wonderful review and wonderful swimsuit.
3/31/12 4:32 AM
sewing for fun said...
Fantastic!
3/31/12 1:02 AM
annakeeton said...
Awesome suit and the lycra print rocks! Thanks for including all of the details and photo links in your review.
3/30/12 11:35 PM
BeckyC said...
Your suit looks wonderful on you! I love the ruched neckline trim and the way you incorporated the print fabric by adding princess seams - what a great idea and very slimming to have the solid black on the sides. What a great project to utilize all of your machines. Thanks for the detailed review!
3/30/12 11:14 PM
tsedai said...
Looks great! Thanks for such an excellent review!
3/30/12 10:52 PM
Judy Kski said...
You look fabulous in your new swimsuit! Thanks for all the time you spent writing an incredibly detailed review. I loved all the insight you provided on the entire process. I, for one, will be referring back to it as I work on incprving my swimsuit sewing skills. Good luck in the contest!
3/30/12 10:20 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...excellent - you really DID pull out all the stops and this is a great looking suit and of course looks great on you! :) Congrats!
3/30/12 10:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 1938

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

More Info
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

More Info