SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> Pastille (Pastille)

20 more reviews
Viewed 550 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Bullock
photo

 
 
About Irene Bullockstar
Netherlands
Member since: 3/22/10
Reviews: 24 (patterns: 23)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/12 4:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
annem54 said... (5/16/14 9:52 AM) Reply
I think it looks good - I hope you've had good use from it.
TJSEWS said... (4/3/12 3:36 PM) Reply
I think it looks great on you and hope you give it another try once you have some time away from it.
MariaDenmark said... (4/2/12 3:09 AM) Reply
Great dress. Perfect LBD, I must say. The neckline is lovely. Thanks for a helpful review!
Irene Bullock said... (4/1/12 3:24 PM) Reply
Oh, I know about the ample bosom policies at Colette Patterns. Indeed, I should have done an SBA, like I did with the Jasmine blouse. Going down a size was not such a bad idea, it's just that I often forget to give the waist a good 1-2 cms. extra, which I always need regardless of the size (I'm kind of a rectangle).
JEF said... (4/1/12 10:06 AM) Reply
Wow - I think it is so cute on you and I love your photo. I would have no idea the fit wasn't as anticipated/designed. It just looks wonderful on you.
marec said... (4/1/12 1:10 AM) Reply
It looks great on you in the photos, but if it is too tight when sitting...well, it's too tight. I love Colette designs, and struggle with the fit too. There are SBA tutorials on her blog. Hope you make another-it is perfect on you.
barebear said... (3/31/12 8:44 PM) Reply
Like zoe said, their patterns are drafted for a 'c' cup instead of the standard 'b' cup. This is a nice change for those of us who are doomed to do FBA's for the rest of our lives, but less so for those who don't. When I choose to go up a size instead of spending the time doing an FBA, the fit is always way too big at the waist and shoulders. Sounds like a similar problem for you, just the opposite way. You may want to consider doing a small bust adjustment (SBA) on the size 4 instead of going down a size. That said, this looks very lovely on you! I hope you try it again once you're willing to look at it again. :D
zoe said... (3/31/12 6:55 PM) Reply
Well, despite all of the challenges, it certainly looks cute on you. I have read that Collette patterns are sized for a 'c' cup fit in the bodice ( one reason I've shyed away from them so far). I've wondered about differences between pictures on the pattern envelopes, and real life fit ( and even style) differences too. Surely they sew it up from the same patterns??? Interesting review.
Vintage Joan said... (3/31/12 6:44 PM) Reply
Beautiful!! I love your bilingual blog and reviews, too. :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7823

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 7871

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review