SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8774 (Misses Jeans)

22 more reviews
Viewed 534 times 
Reviewed by:EliseMarie
photo

 
 
About EliseMariestar
Member since: 10/2/10
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/12 10:41 PM
Last Updated:4/5/12 10:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dragon10 said...
Well done. They look good and you did a good job with the topstitching. I have this pattern but haven't made them up yet. I did try a Burda jeans pattern and went down a size and got more of a jeans (tighter) fit. I suggest you go down a size especially if the denim has stretch. thanks for the review.
4/5/12 11:34 PM
EleanorSews said...
Looks like you got a fairly good fit. Like dragon 10 says, you might consider going down a size. One problem with not prewashing your denim is that you could lose length ~ of course, if you cut them a bit longer and washed/dried the finished jeans before hemming, you might also avoid the loss of length. Something to think about anyway...
4/6/12 6:23 AM
khurl said...
Wow! Your first pair?!? They say it only takes one to get addicted... Well done
4/6/12 7:52 AM
1SewSweet said...
Nice job on your first pair! I agree with the others, you may want consider going down a size on your next pair, unless you are comfortable with your fit.
4/6/12 7:57 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, great work on your first pair of jeans! I too would recommend possibly going down a size. Also with denim, there is residual shrinkage and many suggest washing and drying the denim at least three times before cutting out your pattern. Another wash and dry prior to hemming ensures you won't loose any length. :)
4/6/12 9:39 AM
Barbara V said...
Amazing jeans and fit on your first pair. I agree with the other comments about preshrinking and going down a size and taking into consideration the fabric as to weight and stretch. Well done - I'm sure now you are hooked!
4/6/12 11:42 AM
marec said...
Bravo!! I have not yet attempted jeans but your pair may nudge me. They are wonderful and the topstitching is fantastic.
4/7/12 10:42 AM
EliseMarie said...
Thanks for all of your nice comments. They seem to have some residual shrinkage as Sue pointed out which means that now they are fitting a little bit snugger. Next I will attempt a pair of dress pants. I had always shied away from pants but I love that I can make them as long as I want :)
4/8/12 5:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

No Pattern Used Kestrel Coat

photo
by: meleliza

Review
McCall's 6078

photo
by: JEH

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now