Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5913 (Vintage Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 236 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Sunkissedjellybaby
photo
About Sunkissedjellybabystar
IRELAND
Member since: 8/15/09
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/12 7:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
facesunderwater said...
I love the sleeves!
4/8/12 7:30 PM
velosewer said...
You've been through a great deal with this dress but it really is a classic vintage look. Love the fabrics you've used. You've got more guts than I have, sewing a french seam on a curve...
4/8/12 7:44 PM
svetlana said...
I put that pattern as 1967 or 1968. My mother made me many variations of this pattern adding elements from other patterns. I had one long sleeved, 2 short straigt sleeves and one with short puffed sleeves, and at least 2 sleveless. Collar variations: pointed, rounded, jewel neckline, high rolled and mandarin. She also added a false short placket with buttons on one and bibbed face bodice front with piping details on another. Mine were not as short as those pictured, though the style of the time was a mini skirt. My mother did not hold with such nonsese.
4/8/12 8:52 PM
Calama said...
Love the fabrics combination, very nice!
4/8/12 9:05 PM
trudiz said...
Thank you, thank you for sharing your "adventures" with this project. I am currently working on a similar trial and error project and appreciate your words of encouragement. Will share it in a future review.
4/8/12 9:25 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Love what you did with the sleeves on this dress. So 70's looking. Excellent review by the way!
4/9/12 7:55 AM
Aroura said...
So pretty, love the sleeves also!
4/9/12 11:41 AM
petro said...
Inspired fabric combination!
4/11/12 4:07 PM
Norsecross said...
Super clever to make the sleeves with a cool looking scarf! You persevered, there is a lot of that sort of adventure in sewing, isn't there! Sheesh! I wish I had a nickle for all the troubles I have had with collars. It is cute, wear it with a secret smile on your face!
4/15/12 12:54 PM
Margaret said...
Very cute -- love how you combined fabrics!
4/23/12 12:37 PM
StudioCherie said...
Very entertaining review. I agree with Norsecross who said "wear it with a secret smile on your face." It looks great on you and will be fabulous belted too.
4/26/12 3:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used Bags
photo
Review by BeckyMc on 1/19/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3713 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3713 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1092
photo
Review by Re Becca on 9/19/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us