SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5913 (Vintage Dress)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 241 times 
Reviewed by:Sunkissedjellybaby
photo

 
 
About Sunkissedjellybabystar
IRELAND
Member since: 8/15/09
Reviews: 26 (patterns: 26)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/12 7:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
StudioCherie said... (4/26/12 3:51 PM) Reply
Very entertaining review. I agree with Norsecross who said "wear it with a secret smile on your face." It looks great on you and will be fabulous belted too.
Margaret said... (4/23/12 12:37 PM) Reply
Very cute -- love how you combined fabrics!
Norsecross said... (4/15/12 12:54 PM) Reply
Super clever to make the sleeves with a cool looking scarf! You persevered, there is a lot of that sort of adventure in sewing, isn't there! Sheesh! I wish I had a nickle for all the troubles I have had with collars. It is cute, wear it with a secret smile on your face!
petro said... (4/11/12 4:07 PM) Reply
Inspired fabric combination!
Aroura said... (4/9/12 11:41 AM) Reply
So pretty, love the sleeves also!
VirginiasDghter said... (4/9/12 7:55 AM) Reply
Love what you did with the sleeves on this dress. So 70's looking. Excellent review by the way!
trudiz said... (4/8/12 9:25 PM) Reply
Thank you, thank you for sharing your "adventures" with this project. I am currently working on a similar trial and error project and appreciate your words of encouragement. Will share it in a future review.
Calama said... (4/8/12 9:05 PM) Reply
Love the fabrics combination, very nice!
svetlana said... (4/8/12 8:52 PM) Reply
I put that pattern as 1967 or 1968. My mother made me many variations of this pattern adding elements from other patterns. I had one long sleeved, 2 short straigt sleeves and one with short puffed sleeves, and at least 2 sleveless. Collar variations: pointed, rounded, jewel neckline, high rolled and mandarin. She also added a false short placket with buttons on one and bibbed face bodice front with piping details on another. Mine were not as short as those pictured, though the style of the time was a mini skirt. My mother did not hold with such nonsese.
velosewer said... (4/8/12 7:44 PM) Reply
You've been through a great deal with this dress but it really is a classic vintage look. Love the fabrics you've used. You've got more guts than I have, sewing a french seam on a curve...
facesunderwater said... (4/8/12 7:30 PM) Reply
I love the sleeves!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Lutterloh Lutterloh Supp 271#75

photo
by: Lagolden2

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details