SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1849 (Misses' Tops)

2 more reviews
Viewed 778 times 
Reviewed by:Sheila457
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sheila457starstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/21/07
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/12 7:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
freshstart said...
Wow! This looks amazing on you. Your pictures are SO inspiring. Off to fit mine now!
4/29/14 6:17 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you.
5/28/13 6:21 AM
loral15 said...
Thanks for posting a review of this top, all of them look fantastic on you! I just sewed it up and think it's super flattering. DD16 wants me to make one for her, now!
5/27/13 10:56 AM
SAMBoddy said...
I am so glad you posted this! i just picked up this pattern and it looks like it was a good choice. All your versions look incredible!
5/8/13 9:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Noticed this pattern for the first time tonight, on a rack in Walmart, and I was pleased and surprised to find a review. Your versions are very encouraging - lovely! Thanks for taking the time to post the great pictures.
8/13/12 7:28 PM
salsera7 said...
All versions look great on you and made such great fabric selections.
4/28/12 1:22 PM
Woolygal said...
Wow, these new additions to your wardrobe are perfect.
4/11/12 7:11 AM
Jane S said...
Each one looks better than the other. Terrific.
4/11/12 6:08 AM
pdiddly said...
great looking top
4/11/12 2:19 AM
heathergwo said...
Killer pics! Love the editing you did to show off how many ways you made this awesome top. Excellent job!
4/11/12 1:01 AM
jlg said...
Love them all.
4/10/12 6:46 PM
allycovey said...
Great tops I really love the differnt styles and fabrics
4/10/12 1:14 PM
Jrhee said...
These look awesome!
4/10/12 12:36 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks again. MNBarb, Yes it is, simplicity extracted versions B & C for Its So Easy Simplicity pattern. Before serging the neckline I baste stitched the overlay from shoulder to V-point. Then slowly serged along the neckline making sure to place my finger behind the presser feet as I serged, removing my finger to release bunched fabric, repeating the process as I continue, especially being that I didn't stabilize the neckline. Thereafter,snip right at the V-point making sure not to snip past the left/right straight serger threads. Fold the serged edge to the inside and slowly final stitch along neckline using the same technique by placing finger by the presser feet.It ensures neckline does not stretch out. I love this technique, which I came across while web surfing and sadly don't recall the blog to credit for a great technique.
4/10/12 12:08 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Okay....now this is just too HOT! You showin' out! Great insight and use of this pattern. Love, love the dress! Nice work Sheila!
4/10/12 11:31 AM
MNBarb said...
Funny, this is the same pattern as Simplicity 2181. This is such a flattering design with its waist definition. You look terrific in all of your versions! I didn't like the facings either but how did you turn over the V of the neckline without having it get bunchy!
4/10/12 11:12 AM
Elemenopeo said...
great tops - really flattering on you too
4/10/12 11:11 AM
slmstyle said...
Great tops and I love the styling of your fashion photos!
4/10/12 10:55 AM
Barbara V said...
Fantastic tops and ensemble combinations! They all look great on you.
4/10/12 10:11 AM
sewbehind said...
Very nice. I can see why you love this pattern. Great job on combining patterns. Fabulous.
4/10/12 10:05 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you for the beautiful compliments. RadarRadiance, I posted on my blog how I teaked the blouse and how I attached it to the skirt. Let me know if you have any additional questions and thanks.
4/10/12 10:01 AM
SewWil said...
What beautiful tops!!! This made a wonderful dress. Great job!!!
4/10/12 9:51 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
This top looks so flattering on you! I love that you made it multiple times as well as turned it into a dress.
4/10/12 9:49 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it!!!! Just added the pattern to my wish list, what a fabulous fit and look. Thanks for the review! Would love to hear your steps in making the top with the New Look for the dress, it is really sharp and classy.
4/10/12 9:32 AM
lakaribane said...
Sheila, you killed me! I love the montage and each top is so great in its own way! Watch out world, Sheila is on the loose!
4/10/12 9:13 AM
sewmytime said...
Smokin' hot!
4/10/12 8:44 AM
DreinPA said...
That is seriously awesome. Seriously.
4/10/12 8:17 AM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous tops, great job!
4/10/12 7:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info