Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1849 (Misses' Tops) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 719 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Sheila457
photo
Friend of PR
About Sheila457starstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/21/07
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 55 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/12 7:30 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $2.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $2.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Fabulous tops, great job!
4/10/12 7:45 AM
DreinPA said...
That is seriously awesome. Seriously.
4/10/12 8:17 AM
sewmytime said...
Smokin' hot!
4/10/12 8:44 AM
lakaribane said...
Sheila, you killed me! I love the montage and each top is so great in its own way! Watch out world, Sheila is on the loose!
4/10/12 9:13 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it!!!! Just added the pattern to my wish list, what a fabulous fit and look. Thanks for the review! Would love to hear your steps in making the top with the New Look for the dress, it is really sharp and classy.
4/10/12 9:32 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
This top looks so flattering on you! I love that you made it multiple times as well as turned it into a dress.
4/10/12 9:49 AM
SewWil said...
What beautiful tops!!! This made a wonderful dress. Great job!!!
4/10/12 9:51 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you for the beautiful compliments. RadarRadiance, I posted on my blog how I teaked the blouse and how I attached it to the skirt. Let me know if you have any additional questions and thanks.
4/10/12 10:01 AM
sewbehind said...
Very nice. I can see why you love this pattern. Great job on combining patterns. Fabulous.
4/10/12 10:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Fantastic tops and ensemble combinations! They all look great on you.
4/10/12 10:11 AM
slmstyle said...
Great tops and I love the styling of your fashion photos!
4/10/12 10:55 AM
Elemenopeo said...
great tops - really flattering on you too
4/10/12 11:11 AM
MNBarb said...
Funny, this is the same pattern as Simplicity 2181. This is such a flattering design with its waist definition. You look terrific in all of your versions! I didn't like the facings either but how did you turn over the V of the neckline without having it get bunchy!
4/10/12 11:12 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Okay....now this is just too HOT! You showin' out! Great insight and use of this pattern. Love, love the dress! Nice work Sheila!
4/10/12 11:31 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks again. MNBarb, Yes it is, simplicity extracted versions B & C for Its So Easy Simplicity pattern. Before serging the neckline I baste stitched the overlay from shoulder to V-point. Then slowly serged along the neckline making sure to place my finger behind the presser feet as I serged, removing my finger to release bunched fabric, repeating the process as I continue, especially being that I didn't stabilize the neckline. Thereafter,snip right at the V-point making sure not to snip past the left/right straight serger threads. Fold the serged edge to the inside and slowly final stitch along neckline using the same technique by placing finger by the presser feet.It ensures neckline does not stretch out. I love this technique, which I came across while web surfing and sadly don't recall the blog to credit for a great technique.
4/10/12 12:08 PM
Jrhee said...
These look awesome!
4/10/12 12:36 PM
allycovey said...
Great tops I really love the differnt styles and fabrics
4/10/12 1:14 PM
jlg said...
Love them all.
4/10/12 6:46 PM
heathergwo said...
Killer pics! Love the editing you did to show off how many ways you made this awesome top. Excellent job!
4/11/12 1:01 AM
pdiddly said...
great looking top
4/11/12 2:19 AM
Jane S said...
Each one looks better than the other. Terrific.
4/11/12 6:08 AM
Woolygal said...
Wow, these new additions to your wardrobe are perfect.
4/11/12 7:11 AM
salsera7 said...
All versions look great on you and made such great fabric selections.
4/28/12 1:22 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Noticed this pattern for the first time tonight, on a rack in Walmart, and I was pleased and surprised to find a review. Your versions are very encouraging - lovely! Thanks for taking the time to post the great pictures.
8/13/12 7:28 PM
SAMBoddy said...
I am so glad you posted this! i just picked up this pattern and it looks like it was a good choice. All your versions look incredible!
5/8/13 9:02 PM
loral15 said...
Thanks for posting a review of this top, all of them look fantastic on you! I just sewed it up and think it's super flattering. DD16 wants me to make one for her, now!
5/27/13 10:56 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you.
5/28/13 6:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7696
photo
Review by Renee B on 7/11/09
Read Review

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6123
photo
Review by wendlesue on 4/30/13
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6641 Pattern
New Look 6641 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us