SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vintage Fashion Library> 2528 (Dress circa 1940)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:ChantillyDreams
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ChantillyDreams
NY United States
Member since: 11/26/11
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 3:31 PM
Last Updated:4/16/12 9:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kuby said...
This looks adorable on you. I love the sleeves.
4/15/12 3:37 PM
zoe said...
Beautiful! I hope to try a vintage pattern one day soon myself.
4/15/12 3:57 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks wonderful on your and I, like you, think black and white is classic.
4/15/12 5:45 PM
RadarRadiance said...
You did a fantastic job on this dress, very pretty and classy.
4/15/12 7:55 PM
velosewer said...
Very vintage.
4/15/12 8:16 PM
magpie57 said...
A wonderful dress. Very informative review and blog. I guess most women sewed than so there was not the need for every little detail on the instruction sheet. Your dress looks very flattering on you. and your shoes are to die for!!!
4/15/12 8:33 PM
Hilary said...
What a pretty dress, and it looks so cute on you!
4/15/12 9:24 PM
jenleeC said...
Great dress! Those waisted 1940's styles are so flattering for those of us with waists and hips!
4/15/12 9:35 PM
petro said...
So elegant§ It looks great on you.
4/16/12 1:49 AM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous dress! I like your version even more than the pattern one.
4/16/12 5:09 AM
LDT2011 said...
What a lovely dress. I like the monochrome look...gives it a stylish twist.
4/16/12 6:44 AM
Jill Giard said...
Beautiful!
4/16/12 10:21 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful
4/16/12 1:31 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
The flattering black panels that nip in the waist, the collars, the shoes and picture framing, the belt...everything so well thought out in this outfit and presentation... those pin tucks are truly awesome.
4/16/12 10:31 PM
momsurfing said...
stunning
4/16/12 11:13 PM
ChantillyDreams said...
Thanks for all of your kind words. I had so much fun making it, and your encouragement makes it all the better!
4/17/12 9:22 AM
Aroura said...
Very classy!! love it.
4/17/12 6:24 PM
facesunderwater said...
Beautiful vintage dress.
4/18/12 10:46 AM
StudioCherie said...
Wonderful review. Fabulous dress! I know just the bag to go with it. I hope you enjoy the vintage style frame bag pattern I am sending you. Congratulations.
4/20/12 3:13 PM
Margaret said...
Looks great on you -- wonderful fabric combo!
4/22/12 7:14 PM
Betty Stitchup said...
What a stunning dress - you've done a fabulous job, I love the choice of fabric, and all the little details. Good luck with the competition - you've got my vote!
4/24/12 11:58 PM
ChantillyDreams said...
I really appreciate the feedback. I don't personally know any garment sewers, so your encouragement means a lot!
4/25/12 8:59 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
Love this!
4/26/12 1:00 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress, what a nice style. Your dress came out very well.
6/5/12 8:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: annie11

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now