Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3216 (Vintage Opera Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 1050 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 9:26 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
OMG. What a beautiful coat.
4/15/12 10:01 PM
lyndle said...
Have been following progress on your blog. How do you fit in so much sewing? This looks fab, and multifunctional - do you think Peter could borrow it from Cathy for a night out?
4/16/12 0:34 AM
sew2little said...
Kathy is glowing!
4/16/12 0:57 AM
Athene said...
A very lovely coat, and I continue to enjoy the adventures of Cathy.
4/16/12 2:08 AM
petro said...
I remember these, seeing my mother in that shape of coat. I always loved them. Lucky Cathy.
4/16/12 2:17 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful coat Peter. Love your fabric color choices.
4/16/12 2:42 AM
Cerisa said...
That is one gorgeous coat and Cathy looks radiant in it.
4/16/12 2:49 AM
rivergum said...
Gorgeous! I love this coat and Cathy looks stunning in it.
4/16/12 5:41 AM
Bonnie O said...
Fantastic ensemble!
4/16/12 5:51 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful ensemble! I like your collar and cuff changes.
4/16/12 6:19 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, folks!
4/16/12 7:32 AM
ChantillyDreams said...
Too much fun!!! If I could get my hubby to the opera, I'd be proud to wear that!
4/16/12 8:59 AM
pterion said...
Wonderful coat! Lovely springy color brings out the rose in Kathy's cheeks. Amazing sewing and storytelling. Well done!
4/16/12 9:37 AM
Jeffer said...
Very creative!! Wish I could visit the garment district to pick up fabric like that at those prices :). The style of the coat seems perfect for Cathy
4/16/12 11:51 AM
JEF said...
Cathy is in another stunner. Great sewing Peter! Anyof it done on your treadle?
4/16/12 1:38 PM
Peter in NYC said...
He, he....no. But I did make them all on my Featherweight!
4/16/12 2:14 PM
portercs said...
Lovely!!!
4/16/12 6:15 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This is a wonderful coat!
4/16/12 10:10 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm wetting my pants after reading Cathy's story. Doesn't she look lovely with a bun-in-the-oven/baby bump. Hats off to you and your creativity! I want to live in the day when a coat and robe can be cut from the same pattern. Throw those fitting worries out the window.
4/18/12 1:30 PM
jmosew said...
I just love the Cathy photo shoots. That coat is lovely and the maternity top is very pretty too. Cathy wears them so well!
4/18/12 7:30 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Cathy is stunning in the beautiful opera coat and ensemble! Do let us know when the baby arrives.
4/20/12 8:03 AM
Aroura said...
You've outdone yourself this time! Cathy looks fantastic, and love the story, glowing mom-to-be. :). Perfect colors for her!
4/20/12 12:01 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! I love the coat and the stripey smock. The floral lining is a cute and witty touch.
4/24/12 8:03 AM
droxy said...
Cathy looks fab. You should see my male cousin. =) Fantastic coat. I have a vintage 80s kenmore and a singer 401. Wish I had time to sew more.
4/24/12 12:40 PM
BMH said...
Lovely, with beautiful details.
4/25/12 11:28 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
Beautiful ensemble! Cathy is lucky to have her own personal courtier. I am just a few miles over the bridge (hint hint)
4/26/12 1:02 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Congratulations!!!! Well done....well done!
4/27/12 11:31 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Yipee skippy...You did a great job...probably first of it's kind. THe opera coat really turned out fantastic, like your collar. Can't wait to see her new bundle of joy!
4/27/12 4:10 PM
SewWil said...
Congratulations! Cathy looks marvelous in her opera coat. I enjoyed reading about Cathy's exploits in her new outfit.
5/1/12 0:32 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
Great coat! Thanks also for the photoshoot. You've made me laugh on a horrible rainy day!
5/1/12 8:07 AM
Weif said...
Great coat and I love your story board!!
5/1/12 9:26 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everyone! They're always fun to create, though running into neighbors in the elevator sometimes raises a few eyebrows.
5/1/12 10:18 AM
GinormicaMG said...
Peter you are something else! I love the sophisticated 50ís look and your work is impeccable.
5/9/12 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice, and I really am amazed at an opera coat from that housecoat pattern; I wouldn't have made that leap.
6/5/12 8:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 2370
photo
Review by marec on 8/17/12
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

La Mia Boutique Magazine 02-2009-3
photo
Review by Twinset on 11/29/09
Read Review

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1611 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1611 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7234 Pattern
Burda 7234 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us