SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3216 (Vintage Opera Coat)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 1060 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 9:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
OMG. What a beautiful coat.
4/15/12 10:01 PM
lyndle said...
Have been following progress on your blog. How do you fit in so much sewing? This looks fab, and multifunctional - do you think Peter could borrow it from Cathy for a night out?
4/16/12 0:34 AM
sew2little said...
Kathy is glowing!
4/16/12 0:57 AM
Athene said...
A very lovely coat, and I continue to enjoy the adventures of Cathy.
4/16/12 2:08 AM
petro said...
I remember these, seeing my mother in that shape of coat. I always loved them. Lucky Cathy.
4/16/12 2:17 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful coat Peter. Love your fabric color choices.
4/16/12 2:42 AM
Cerisa said...
That is one gorgeous coat and Cathy looks radiant in it.
4/16/12 2:49 AM
rivergum said...
Gorgeous! I love this coat and Cathy looks stunning in it.
4/16/12 5:41 AM
Bonnie O said...
Fantastic ensemble!
4/16/12 5:51 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful ensemble! I like your collar and cuff changes.
4/16/12 6:19 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, folks!
4/16/12 7:32 AM
ChantillyDreams said...
Too much fun!!! If I could get my hubby to the opera, I'd be proud to wear that!
4/16/12 8:59 AM
pterion said...
Wonderful coat! Lovely springy color brings out the rose in Kathy's cheeks. Amazing sewing and storytelling. Well done!
4/16/12 9:37 AM
Jeffer said...
Very creative!! Wish I could visit the garment district to pick up fabric like that at those prices :). The style of the coat seems perfect for Cathy
4/16/12 11:51 AM
JEF said...
Cathy is in another stunner. Great sewing Peter! Anyof it done on your treadle?
4/16/12 1:38 PM
Peter in NYC said...
He, he....no. But I did make them all on my Featherweight!
4/16/12 2:14 PM
portercs said...
Lovely!!!
4/16/12 6:15 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This is a wonderful coat!
4/16/12 10:10 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm wetting my pants after reading Cathy's story. Doesn't she look lovely with a bun-in-the-oven/baby bump. Hats off to you and your creativity! I want to live in the day when a coat and robe can be cut from the same pattern. Throw those fitting worries out the window.
4/18/12 1:30 PM
jmosew said...
I just love the Cathy photo shoots. That coat is lovely and the maternity top is very pretty too. Cathy wears them so well!
4/18/12 7:30 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Cathy is stunning in the beautiful opera coat and ensemble! Do let us know when the baby arrives.
4/20/12 8:03 AM
Aroura said...
You've outdone yourself this time! Cathy looks fantastic, and love the story, glowing mom-to-be. :). Perfect colors for her!
4/20/12 12:01 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! I love the coat and the stripey smock. The floral lining is a cute and witty touch.
4/24/12 8:03 AM
droxy said...
Cathy looks fab. You should see my male cousin. =) Fantastic coat. I have a vintage 80s kenmore and a singer 401. Wish I had time to sew more.
4/24/12 12:40 PM
BMH said...
Lovely, with beautiful details.
4/25/12 11:28 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
Beautiful ensemble! Cathy is lucky to have her own personal courtier. I am just a few miles over the bridge (hint hint)
4/26/12 1:02 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Congratulations!!!! Well done....well done!
4/27/12 11:31 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Yipee skippy...You did a great job...probably first of it's kind. THe opera coat really turned out fantastic, like your collar. Can't wait to see her new bundle of joy!
4/27/12 4:10 PM
SewWil said...
Congratulations! Cathy looks marvelous in her opera coat. I enjoyed reading about Cathy's exploits in her new outfit.
5/1/12 0:32 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
Great coat! Thanks also for the photoshoot. You've made me laugh on a horrible rainy day!
5/1/12 8:07 AM
Weif said...
Great coat and I love your story board!!
5/1/12 9:26 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everyone! They're always fun to create, though running into neighbors in the elevator sometimes raises a few eyebrows.
5/1/12 10:18 AM
GinormicaMG said...
Peter you are something else! I love the sophisticated 50ís look and your work is impeccable.
5/9/12 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice, and I really am amazed at an opera coat from that housecoat pattern; I wouldn't have made that leap.
6/5/12 8:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Burda 7323

photo
by: chenille

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now