Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2682 (Women's Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 743 times 67 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Anne Cherry
photo
Friend of PR
About Anne Cherrystar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/2/10
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:4/20/12 3:24 AM
Last Updated:4/20/12 3:28 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renata said...
Thank you for that Anne. I thought the top was absolutely stunning on the model but it totally pops on you. Love the pose. You look gorgeous.
4/20/12 4:15 AM
SewWil said...
Love all of your versions but the Red Maple Leaf is gorgeous. Great job on the fabric placement. It looks great with your new skirt and those shoes are awesome.
4/20/12 4:26 AM
jlg said...
What a great bunch of tops. Adding this pattern to my wish list.
4/20/12 5:34 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic top,love all the versions.
4/20/12 6:00 AM
Dilliander said...
Wow, one pattern many lovely and different tops! The maple leaf top placement is very clever and looks very chic with your red skirt.
4/20/12 6:01 AM
Huntwoman said...
Stunning. What a great choice of fabric!
4/20/12 6:28 AM
velosewer said...
Wow. Stunning top. Wonderful fabric and I want one too. Excellent pose and shoes.
4/20/12 6:31 AM
Clareew said...
Wonderful
4/20/12 8:25 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
All three tops are pretty, but I absolutely love the red maple leaf! The fabric placement is super - thanks for the review!
4/20/12 9:45 AM
Terri A said...
You look gorgeous! Wow!
4/20/12 1:04 PM
MNBarb said...
You're so smart to eliminate the bodice line for another different look. I'm glad you took the time to pose and shoot since the top looks nice on the stand but one-thousand times better on you with your cute skirt and heels. Great pattern, great fabric.
4/20/12 4:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Cute top. Really like it with bodice line removed. Will have to try this. It looks super on you!
4/20/12 7:56 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Thanks for all the lovely comments! Special thanks to Renata for getting me out of my comfort zone re: self pics with a good dose of humour! Like my sewing, taking self pics will get better with practice! As for the shoes, they are long time faves...from Nine West, circa 2002. Best worn these days for dinner parties...they are excellent to sit in ;-*
4/20/12 9:30 PM
mary in FL said...
Oh, Kewl!
4/20/12 10:31 PM
pdiddly said...
This is a favorite pattern of mine, but I love your version, especially the maple leaf one - am going to give it a go.
4/21/12 4:52 AM
Mel.J said...
Awesome tops! (also love the skirt topstitching!)
4/21/12 7:53 AM
JanyceR said...
Great Review and thank you so much for pictures of all the versions. The maple leaf version with the arc skirt is absolutely wonderful!
4/21/12 8:14 AM
marec said...
Yet another wonderful top I must have-I love all your versions and enjoyed all the pictures!
4/21/12 9:55 AM
kjcaron said...
I love all of your versions! I have this pattern but haven't tried it because I don't like where the bodice line sits on most of the ones I have seen. I hope I am able to figure it out your way when I give it a try!
4/21/12 11:06 AM
SandyinMO said...
I have this pattern and like your version so much better. The way you made it without the bodice line, is the whole front doubled?
4/21/12 1:45 PM
AndreaSews said...
Gorgeous fabric. Your tops are fabulous.
4/21/12 4:51 PM
Anne Cherry said...
SandyinMO & kjcaron - I cut two fronts and sewed them down the middle, all the way down to the bottom, then turned as per the Jalie instructions and continued as written. Go for it!
4/22/12 3:29 AM
JETrinity said...
Nice job of matching the front center. Absolutely stunning.
4/23/12 11:15 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you for the review, your tops are beautiful! I had lost a pattern that was similar to this from an independent pattern company that I paid some good $$ for, and was frantic b/c I loved this look, then I realized I HAD this pattern which is quite similar but had the horizontal band,,,,,,( I did not want that, I , like you. prefer a sleeker look) Now I am happy b/c I will be adding this to my 6 pack, sleeveless for summer,,,thank you
4/29/12 1:05 PM
Sar sews said...
Great idea taking out the 'empire' line....a bit of tracing coming on here for a similar effort. Many thanks for info.
5/2/12 4:01 AM
Sar sews said...
Sar in Perth again....I am assuming that taking out 'empire line' at back as well will still alllow it al to work??!! Seems like a dumb question but those instructions have got me flummoxed.
5/5/12 11:33 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Hi Sar Sews, I taped the top and bottom pattern pieces for the back together, to create one piece - and I cut on the fold, to avoid having a back seam. So I ended up with just 3 pattern pieces: front, back and sleeve. I cut front x2, back x1(on fold) and sleeve x2. The two front pieces are required to create the soft neck line. I know the neck line construction seems a bit weird but if you just follow them literally, it works!!
5/6/12 7:05 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
What a lovely top! The neckline does look ingenious. Is it turned back on itself and sewn at the centre seam in a tubular type seam? Then raw edges into the side seams? Nifty.
5/14/12 8:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by colormefun on 1/9/11
Read Review

Simplicity 2340 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2340 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3091 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3091 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2780
photo
Review by sailor gir... on 6/23/06
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us