SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2682 (Women's Tops)

66 more reviews
Viewed 752 times 
Reviewed by:Anne Cherry
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Anne Cherrystar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/2/10
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:4/20/12 3:24 AM
Last Updated:4/20/12 3:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renata said...
Thank you for that Anne. I thought the top was absolutely stunning on the model but it totally pops on you. Love the pose. You look gorgeous.
4/20/12 4:15 AM
SewWil said...
Love all of your versions but the Red Maple Leaf is gorgeous. Great job on the fabric placement. It looks great with your new skirt and those shoes are awesome.
4/20/12 4:26 AM
jlg said...
What a great bunch of tops. Adding this pattern to my wish list.
4/20/12 5:34 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic top,love all the versions.
4/20/12 6:00 AM
Dilliander said...
Wow, one pattern many lovely and different tops! The maple leaf top placement is very clever and looks very chic with your red skirt.
4/20/12 6:01 AM
Huntwoman said...
Stunning. What a great choice of fabric!
4/20/12 6:28 AM
velosewer said...
Wow. Stunning top. Wonderful fabric and I want one too. Excellent pose and shoes.
4/20/12 6:31 AM
Clareew said...
Wonderful
4/20/12 8:25 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
All three tops are pretty, but I absolutely love the red maple leaf! The fabric placement is super - thanks for the review!
4/20/12 9:45 AM
Terri A said...
You look gorgeous! Wow!
4/20/12 1:04 PM
MNBarb said...
You're so smart to eliminate the bodice line for another different look. I'm glad you took the time to pose and shoot since the top looks nice on the stand but one-thousand times better on you with your cute skirt and heels. Great pattern, great fabric.
4/20/12 4:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Cute top. Really like it with bodice line removed. Will have to try this. It looks super on you!
4/20/12 7:56 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Thanks for all the lovely comments! Special thanks to Renata for getting me out of my comfort zone re: self pics with a good dose of humour! Like my sewing, taking self pics will get better with practice! As for the shoes, they are long time faves...from Nine West, circa 2002. Best worn these days for dinner parties...they are excellent to sit in ;-*
4/20/12 9:30 PM
mary in FL said...
Oh, Kewl!
4/20/12 10:31 PM
pdiddly said...
This is a favorite pattern of mine, but I love your version, especially the maple leaf one - am going to give it a go.
4/21/12 4:52 AM
Mel.J said...
Awesome tops! (also love the skirt topstitching!)
4/21/12 7:53 AM
JanyceR said...
Great Review and thank you so much for pictures of all the versions. The maple leaf version with the arc skirt is absolutely wonderful!
4/21/12 8:14 AM
marec said...
Yet another wonderful top I must have-I love all your versions and enjoyed all the pictures!
4/21/12 9:55 AM
kjcaron said...
I love all of your versions! I have this pattern but haven't tried it because I don't like where the bodice line sits on most of the ones I have seen. I hope I am able to figure it out your way when I give it a try!
4/21/12 11:06 AM
SandyinMO said...
I have this pattern and like your version so much better. The way you made it without the bodice line, is the whole front doubled?
4/21/12 1:45 PM
AndreaSews said...
Gorgeous fabric. Your tops are fabulous.
4/21/12 4:51 PM
Anne Cherry said...
SandyinMO & kjcaron - I cut two fronts and sewed them down the middle, all the way down to the bottom, then turned as per the Jalie instructions and continued as written. Go for it!
4/22/12 3:29 AM
JETrinity said...
Nice job of matching the front center. Absolutely stunning.
4/23/12 11:15 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you for the review, your tops are beautiful! I had lost a pattern that was similar to this from an independent pattern company that I paid some good $$ for, and was frantic b/c I loved this look, then I realized I HAD this pattern which is quite similar but had the horizontal band,,,,,,( I did not want that, I , like you. prefer a sleeker look) Now I am happy b/c I will be adding this to my 6 pack, sleeveless for summer,,,thank you
4/29/12 1:05 PM
Sar sews said...
Great idea taking out the 'empire' line....a bit of tracing coming on here for a similar effort. Many thanks for info.
5/2/12 4:01 AM
Sar sews said...
Sar in Perth again....I am assuming that taking out 'empire line' at back as well will still alllow it al to work??!! Seems like a dumb question but those instructions have got me flummoxed.
5/5/12 11:33 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Hi Sar Sews, I taped the top and bottom pattern pieces for the back together, to create one piece - and I cut on the fold, to avoid having a back seam. So I ended up with just 3 pattern pieces: front, back and sleeve. I cut front x2, back x1(on fold) and sleeve x2. The two front pieces are required to create the soft neck line. I know the neck line construction seems a bit weird but if you just follow them literally, it works!!
5/6/12 7:05 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
What a lovely top! The neckline does look ingenious. Is it turned back on itself and sewn at the centre seam in a tubular type seam? Then raw edges into the side seams? Nifty.
5/14/12 8:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Simplicity 3754

photo
by: iluv2sew61

Review