SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1803 (Misses Dress)

32 more reviews
Viewed 1129 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/12 6:46 PM
Last Updated:8/24/12 11:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sleonard said...
Your comments followed my own conclusions exactly. I am making this pattern right now from some inexpensive cotton floral fabric I nabbed at WalMart (also not knowing then what I would use it for) and decided to line it with a batiste. For my first run at this pattern, I thought I would try to line it as best I can, although I have to really think through the yoke bit. I had concerns too about the tie being the fabric and blending in. I also thought about making it a solid. Perhaps I will do that and post a pic if I am courageous enough. Thanks for your thoughts on this pattern. I am anxious to see your end product!
4/24/12 2:26 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Sleonard, I posted my steps for lining the bodice in the review for you. With the weird geometry it can be tough to visualize, so hope that helps!
4/24/12 8:21 PM
sleonard said...
Thanks! This saves me a lot of time. You explained it very clearly! Looking forward to seeing your dress!
4/26/12 9:52 PM
Dilliander said...
Gosh, this is lovely, worth finishing!
5/9/12 7:20 PM
Huntwoman said...
Gorgeous results.
5/9/12 7:45 PM
Redsmum said...
I think if you threw on some funky/chunky red sandals you would eliminate the "50's housewife" look you fear. It's super cute!
5/9/12 8:11 PM
Claverie said...
it's so cute!
5/9/12 8:31 PM
Jrhee said...
I love the neckline, and your cotton print.
5/9/12 11:11 PM
jlg said...
What a great dress.
5/10/12 5:34 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I hope you'll finish the dress! Very nice.
5/10/12 7:04 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress ..... such a lovely fabric choice! You've sewn it so nicely, too!
5/10/12 4:16 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty dress! I love your choice of fabric.
5/25/12 6:14 PM
ShanniLoves said...
I like how you cut along the size 6 line for the top of the front yoke facing to get a lower neckline. I think I'm going to do this on mine. On my muslin I didn't like how high up the neckline was. It felt like it was choking me.
6/8/12 11:24 PM
zoe said...
What a great, detailed review! I think the dress looks really good. I'm picturing it with flat, gold, strappy sandals. It's very cute, and you look lovely in it.
8/24/12 6:36 PM
cleverkitty said...
prostheticsgirl your dress is so cute on you. What a great review you did on this pattern too. I hope you finish up the last details. Dolly is a perfect name for your dress form :)
8/25/12 8:17 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks everyone! Cleverkitty, my mom couldn't understand why I call my dressform Dolly, since neither of us have much in regards to bust HAHA
8/26/12 10:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

No Pattern Used none

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now