SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3561 (Dresses)

3 more reviews
Viewed 283 times 
Reviewed by:Skirler
photo

 
 
About Skirlerstar
MO
Member since: 6/5/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/12 8:50 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
karen n said...
Thx for the explanation. I'll have to check out her book.
4/30/12 12:38 PM
Frozzy said...
Wow! what a nice dress, never would have considered this by looking at the pattern envelope picture. You made this look super classy!
4/26/12 7:07 PM
Skirler said...
Thank you all for saying something :) Makes a sewist feel good!
4/24/12 7:37 AM
Skirler said...
Hi Karen - I used the method from Nancy Zeiman's book, Pattern Fitting with Confidence, for a swayback adjustment. There is no seam added and the alteration is actually very simple. Retrace back onto separate sheet of tissue. Slide your pattern piece down the tracing (i.e. center fold or grainline) the amount you need to remove. For me, that is 1.5 inches. Pin tissue to the tracing at the new "length's" seam allowance. Then pivot the pattern's shoulder back up to the tracing's shoulder and retrace neck line and shoulder (from your pattern piece) onto the tracing underneath. Voila - 1.5 inches removed from center back. (It's much harder to explain than do).
4/24/12 7:36 AM
Sue Parrott said...
This is really cute. I will have to try this one!
4/23/12 10:07 PM
karen n said...
If you don't mind explaining a little more, how and where did you remove the 1.5" from the center? The back is a single piece so did you add a seam soemwhere?
4/23/12 4:52 PM
Jean McGuire said...
Very Nice! This fits you so well and looks great!
4/23/12 4:42 PM
Skirler said...
Fitted ... but I also had to remover 1.5 inches from center back. It is an easy alteration to make and I just did it on the pattern. Now, I just pin pattern, cut and sew. I'm too short to wear anything even remotely poofy LoL
4/23/12 4:13 PM
karen n said...
I like it! I'm looking for a TNT knit dress pattern like this. I have a contender but the back waist poofs a bit. How does yours look in the back waist (fitted or loose or poofy?)
4/23/12 2:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Jalie 2805

photo
by: guineveres...

Review

Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

More Info