Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Knit Block (RTW inspired mixed fabric collage top) - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Ready to Wear (RTW) Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 655 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/12 9:49 PM
Last Updated:7/27/12 1:21 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Living Beauty said...
WOW!
4/23/12 9:58 PM
marjoriekh said...
What an excellent job you did using the original as inspiration and producing something that is really your own work. Thank you for such a helpful, thorough review.
4/23/12 10:23 PM
Sharonspils said...
WOW this is brilliant and I love your interpretation of the original. Your detailed review has given me a lot to information to work with, thank you.
4/23/12 11:10 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, I absolutely love, love, LOVE this! I've just returned from several boutiques selling tops like this so your review is both timely and inspirational. I especially like that your base colour isn't black like 99.9% of tops. Great job and fantastic review too. So incredibly helpful, thanks!
4/23/12 11:28 PM
Jrhee said...
OMG, this is awesome, and you are so cute in this!
4/24/12 0:05 AM
barebear said...
Wow, what a cool top! I really like that you made yours long sleeve. Thanks for the great review too! I'll definitely refer to it if I attempt something similar. :)
4/24/12 0:32 AM
velosewer said...
Very stunning top. Your choice of RTW and your version are both excellent.
4/24/12 2:24 AM
GBK said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Not only you made an adorable top that looks like RTW, your tips and pics are so helpful! I always wanted to make a top out of the many left over pieces of jerseys I have but was unsure how to construct it so that it would look professional and not home-made. Thanks again!
4/24/12 2:33 AM
pdiddly said...
ditto what the other said - WOW - I love it (great review)
4/24/12 3:03 AM
Mel.J said...
Wow, that is fabulous! Wonderful top. Thanks for putting so much effort into sharing the process.
4/24/12 6:51 AM
sewingsilly said...
WOW....I love the creativity!! So many possibilities!! Great Job!!!!
4/24/12 7:38 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just so beautifully done and your excellent review (tutorial) makes me think I could do something like this. Love it!
4/24/12 8:11 AM
RLL said...
Incredible job! I love it.
4/24/12 8:53 AM
redside said...
This is very inspiring! Thanks for the detailed instructions.
4/24/12 9:51 AM
sewinfrance said...
Great work, thanks for such a detailled and informative review. Now I just need to give it a go too....
4/24/12 10:53 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Wonderful!
4/24/12 11:23 AM
Sigrid. said...
Where is the very, very helpful button? What a great review, and the result: STUNNING.
4/24/12 11:47 AM
CTBarb said...
Wow! I am blown away. Great interpretation of a really cool design.
4/24/12 12:23 PM
LynnG said...
What a beautiful top!!! Great review with so much helpful information. Much appreciated.
4/24/12 12:29 PM
CSY said...
WOW is right! and I want one too. Great review and description of what you did.
4/24/12 3:04 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great review and the finished top is stunning!
4/24/12 6:42 PM
jacqui rocks said...
Luv it!!!
4/24/12 7:01 PM
DaisyA said...
Fantabulous!! You're a genius and an inspiration. Thanks
4/25/12 2:24 AM
jenleeC said...
Your top is a work of art! Thank you for the marvelous review full of really helpful information. I have saved this one for future reference.
4/25/12 10:16 AM
GodsgirlT said...
You've created a masterpiece!
4/25/12 12:35 PM
Alexus1325 said...
This is epic win!
4/25/12 2:25 PM
DeJa Chic said...
Loved!
4/25/12 8:03 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Awesome top! There is something very satifying about copying a design that was in the hundreds of dollars in the RTW form, I must say! I like your version much better than that the Anthropolgie version. A brown suede wrap skirt or a long Jean skirt would complete the look! Wonderful!
4/26/12 1:44 AM
Cuffs said...
Stunning design and oh-so-well-done! Thanks immensely for the flatlock tips, I will definitely give that technique another try. Also, the fit is perfect and I see you've been able to achieve that lovely "softmess" at the waist you were going for. ;^)
4/27/12 1:27 PM
CTBarb said...
Wow, great interpretation! I love the color and pattern choices.
4/29/12 7:39 AM
ConnieBJ said...
This is stunning! ummm trying to utilize some descriptive words here that haven't been already used! I love it! Thanks for giving me some inspiration as well!
4/30/12 7:51 PM
portercs said...
I love your top! Great job!!!!
4/30/12 9:08 PM
treefrog said...
Fantastic. You have a real flair for combining fabrics. Thanks for the detailed information on how you drafted it - very inspiring.
5/1/12 6:07 PM
carolyn101 said...
For fear of repeating the obvious... WOW!
5/2/12 1:11 AM
BettyMike said...
Very nice review and a lovely top!
5/2/12 4:28 PM
Danmar said...
I am feeling quite inadequate as I see your work and read your reviews! Wow! Well, I'll keep trying!
5/3/12 1:58 PM
meggipeg said...
This is really lovely. Good luck in the competition
5/3/12 10:34 PM
Edris said...
This is great! I have some scraps on my sewing table to be pieced together but I planned on winging it. I like your attention to detail and thank you for all the tips. I may be reconsidering my approach....Awesome job!
5/31/12 1:54 PM
chenille said...
This is just amazing! Thanks so much for the detailed review. Wow!
7/27/12 3:36 AM
Rebecca D said...
Astonishing work, so beautiful and a wonderful review as well. Good luck in the contest.
7/27/12 6:53 AM
marec said...
Your review has sparked a storm of creativity in me!! Gorgeous work Diliander.
7/27/12 9:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1051
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/29/08
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8087
photo
Review by Maree P on 10/18/09
Read Review

McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us