SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5679 (Misses' Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 447 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 159
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/12 2:23 PM
Last Updated:5/1/12 4:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kemish said...
I saw this on your blog (yes, I am a lurker) and just love it. What a great top! You are right - What's not to love about a great knit top. This is definitely a TNT pattern.
5/1/12 3:59 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh Snap! Let's see pics of the hem finish too please! Oh HOW did you turn the corner on your serger??!! Tell tell!!
5/1/12 4:15 PM
sfshaza said...
Very carefully, SavageCoco! I started the serging at the inside corner and going towards the horizontal hem. I went all the way around and ended at the point. I then started again at the bottom of the point and ended back at the inside corner. It was a little tricky, but not too bad. I'll try to get better pics.
5/1/12 4:19 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this top - and the fabric is fabulous. I'm glad I got to see it in person - it's even better than the picture. Great job with your alterations.
5/1/12 4:33 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, Dorothy! :) SavageCoco, I added more pictures and explanation of the hem to this review and to the blog.
5/1/12 4:53 PM
Dilliander said...
Gosh, you really have a talent for taking a good pattern and making it great! This looks fantastic, stylish with interesting details and the fit is perfect!
5/1/12 7:37 PM
Barbara V said...
I'm impressed with your serger acrobatics! Super job throughout on this great looking top on you and really nice choice of fabric for the style.
5/1/12 7:44 PM
Karendee said...
Shams, just noticed the lettering in the fabric of your top. What wonderful fabric. I couldn't see that while reading your blog. Another great top for you.
5/1/12 8:27 PM
SavageCoco said...
Shaza - thanks so much for the serger pics!
5/1/12 9:03 PM
Annette1 said...
SO cute, but then WHAT ELSE IS NEW? I know you'll be SHOCKED to know that I have this pattern, too. :o) I'd better start bookmarking your reviews, so I can follow in your footsteps -- ha! Oh, by the way, I LOVE Walk Off the Earth and had never heard of them until I saw the links on your blog. They're right up my alley, and NOW I want a ukelele -- ha! (Probably spelled that wrong.) Seems like I was going to tell you something else, but I can't remember what. Oh, I know: Mood is having a sale on lots of brightly-colored fabrics. Got the email today. :o) LORD KNOWS I need more fabric. I can almost walk a path through my sewing room with no obstructions.
5/1/12 11:12 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice. Sometimes you just have to ignore the instructions and sew what you know normally works for you.
5/2/12 7:01 AM
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top. The fit is perfect, too.
5/2/12 7:36 AM
Jrhee said...
Cute shirt! I'm a big fan of your hems.
5/2/12 9:53 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great shirt and great detailed review as always. Thanks for the link on neckline binding. Very helpful.
5/5/12 1:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 4020

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now