SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2012-107 

4 more reviews
Viewed 490 times 
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 112 people
patterns reviewed: 186
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/12 8:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jennybaxt said...
Fantastic dress! Thanks for the review.
5/20/12 7:53 AM
ChristineX said...
Awesome dress! I like it better on you than on the model!
5/14/12 11:37 PM
Montarville said...
Beautiful work! I can't wait to try it myself.
5/10/12 10:01 PM
Lizz said...
Just bought the white linen today to make this! My insert is cherry red - hope this combo turns out as well as yours. Thanks for the tips!
5/8/12 1:13 PM
beauturbo said...
Wow, that is really nice and a real stunner on you. It also looks very different and much more classy in your color combination, than the one the Burda magazine used. I want one too now, so running out to try to get that Burda magazine today before they are all gone!
5/7/12 7:03 PM
allycovey said...
I was hoping someone would make this, I still want to do a color blocking dress and I guess I am just afraid of it. You did such a wonderful job.
5/7/12 4:13 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great dress and the color blocking is very flattering! I must remember the CCC expression :)
5/7/12 9:21 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous dress! I love this pattern and plan to make it soon. Thanks for the helpful review. I was thinking about adding shaping to the back of the dress.
5/7/12 7:27 AM
olgarosita said...
Cissie, thank you for answering me! It's good to know that, in real life, this design doesn't emphasize the height.
5/7/12 3:13 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Very classy!
5/7/12 2:26 AM
GBK said...
You look like a million dollors! Many thanks for a very helpful review.
5/7/12 0:22 AM
lamstu said...
Wowwee! Must have this dress!! And your review will come in handy if I get around to it too.
5/6/12 8:56 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love your dress, the colour combination is really flattering.
5/6/12 8:53 PM
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! I loved this dress in the Burda SM and wanted to see it on someone...super great on you!
5/6/12 7:01 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dress! You chose the perfect fabric combination for this!
5/6/12 5:57 PM
CissieW said...
olga, I'm fairly tall -- 5'8" but I don't think the stripe down the from accentuates that. Perhaps it is the fact that it curves rather than go straight down.
5/6/12 3:40 PM
JoanneM said...
Stunning. I did giggle about the CCC.
5/6/12 3:27 PM
olgarosita said...
Your dress turned out beautiful! I noticed this pattern in the magazine and was attracted to it, but I am tall and I'm affrait that vertical line would make me look taller, but it looks great on you!
5/6/12 2:19 PM
pammieh said...
I'm thinking of making this dress. . . thanks for the good review and links to tips.
5/6/12 1:32 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Thanks to you, this dress is on my to-do list, too! Yours is beautiful, and I love your color choices.
5/6/12 11:48 AM
twinkle72 said...
Stylish dress and great review!
5/6/12 11:34 AM
Raye Ann said...
What a lovely dress! Thanks for the very helpful review. Yes, this is a perfect CCC dress ( and I will add that my sewing abbreviations:).
5/6/12 11:00 AM
rabitgrl said...
Beautiful dress!
5/6/12 10:49 AM
lakaribane said...
I love the CCC concept! Total my kind of thinking/dressing, LOL! I love it, looks great.
5/6/12 10:31 AM
Dilliander said...
The color blocking is very effective and looks lovely in the linen. It will be extra special with thee underlining too.
5/6/12 9:55 AM
nellc said...
Really lovely dress!
5/6/12 9:50 AM
blessedtosew said...
Very very pretty!!! This dress is on my todo list.
5/6/12 9:18 AM
Janiki said...
Thanks for the helpful review. This one's on my to-do list too.
5/6/12 9:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 5975

photo
by: tigergirl

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2012-110

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now