SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> 000002 (Jeans drafted from RTW)

4 more reviews
Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:Ms. McCall
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ms. McCallstar
CA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/12 1:28 AM
Last Updated:5/5/12 1:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Living Beauty said...
Wow! You did a great job on the jeans. The look like RTW and fit you perfectly! Thanks for the review. I'd already purchased the class and just hadn't gotten around to making my pattern. I'm on my way now!
5/5/12 8:19 AM
sunnysewer said...
those jeans look great, like your choice of denim and fit is nice.
5/5/12 11:52 AM
Ejegmama said...
I so hope that class goes on sale again. I forgot to buy it when it was. Glad to hear it was great though.
5/5/12 1:28 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Sweet! I signed up for that class last week. I got my colored pencils from Walmart and the silk organza from Yardage Town. I can see your version came out very successful.
5/5/12 8:59 PM
Ms. McCall said...
For those doing the class: I used polyester organza with no problems whatsoever. I used a 6B pencil which is extra soft, so easy to make marks with.
5/5/12 9:05 PM
Kemish said...
Great jeans! I, too, have been watching the videos and now am starting the thread tracing. Glad to hear you had no problems with the polyester organza 'cause that is what I bought as well - just too busy (lazy?) to drive downtown and get silk organiza ;-) for me!
5/5/12 10:52 PM
mochimo said...
Beautiful! I also enrolled in the Jeanius class a while ago but I have not started watching the videos yet. Glad to know you enjoyed the class and that you got such beautiful results with copying your RTW pants!
5/6/12 10:34 AM
Raye Ann said...
Great results! Thanks for the info on your materials. I bought this class on sale also, and haven't even decided which jeans to copy first:).
5/6/12 11:06 AM
NhiHuynh said...
Your jeans look great. They can definitely pass for RTW.
5/7/12 2:29 AM
sewingcanary said...
Great job! You'd be best to wash them inside out and be sure the washer isn't crowded. At least that way any fading should be even. One note about the zipper. It looks like it puckers a bit. You've probably had jeans or other fly-fronts where the overlay puckers or folds back after they've been washed and it only seems to get worse as time goes on??? I discovered this is caused from the button or snap at one the waistband being offset too far. If you move it in - so they are tighter at the waist, it should prevent or repair this. My experience has been fly lays flattest if the edge of it actually goes a bit beyond the centre line. It's amazing what a cm (3/8"-1/2") can do.
5/7/13 8:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 6503

photo
by: charwith

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Popolok Kottie Coat

photo
by: Terri A

Review