SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6816 (Misses Easy Two-Hour Skirt, Pants and Knit Tops)

37 more reviews
Viewed 578 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/12 8:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Annette, as usual you have completed two beautiful garments. I actually covet that Norma K. Fabric on the last top and find that top quite elegant. Everything you make is so well thought out and executed. And I always enjoy a good laugh from your detailed reviews along with learning many good techniques. You and Sharon have this full bust allowance thing all worked out for the rest of us.
5/6/12 8:21 PM
barebear said...
What a great top! I really love the fabric you chose, it's so fun. Thanks for the detailed but easy to read review. :)
5/6/12 8:32 PM
jlg said...
Very cool.
5/6/12 9:16 PM
YarnJourney said...
Beautiful! I love how you used the fabric. The way the design flows around your body. Thanks for the detail on the FBA too.
5/6/12 9:40 PM
sewsally said...
I love love love that fabric.
5/6/12 10:11 PM
cleverkitty said...
wow this is so sharp I love the fabric you look great in this fun style, goes with your upbeat personality. Fabulous review!
5/6/12 10:34 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the details on construction. Love your reviews, of course, because they are entertaining but also because I always learn something. From the link you provided on Kamali: "This knit is drapey, soft. You feel like making some dress, gown, tunic. The fabric looks forward to being worked on." hehheh--yeah the fabric probably looks forward to being worked on by someone like you; it probably ought to run from the likes of me! Nice colors!
5/6/12 10:35 PM
SewWil said...
I love both tops. The black/blue fabric is amazing. What a perfect pattern to showcase the fabric. Thanks for the detailed review.
5/6/12 10:51 PM
Christas said...
Not only do you make fantastic clothes, you take the time to tell us HOW you did it in such a way that we all learn so much. I love BOTH tops. They are each so different that you would never know they are the same pattern. Your fabric choices are terrific. I especially love the blue one. I love EveS' vertical fabric placement in her dress, but your placement for your top looks just PERFECT! Thanks for another informative and entertaining review! :-)
5/6/12 10:53 PM
sfshaza said...
WOW!!! I'm so glad I was trolling the gallery tonight. This top is spectacular! That print is so fun and you've used it perfectly! I'm glad you found a way to make the FBA works and I hope, as you wear it, that it does NOT ride up! You are definitely a card carrying member of the UBER BUSTY club. :D
5/6/12 11:14 PM
Barbara V said...
That is one amazingly beautiful piece of Elliot Berman fabric that you sewed into a fabulous top! As always, a fun and informative review! And....your first top is a winner as well.
5/7/12 0:23 AM
ArtAttack said...
Great top! What fabulous fabric!
5/7/12 1:32 AM
Margaret said...
Both versions look great on you! I really like how you used the Norma K. print, and changed the necklines. That's an interesting way of doing an FBA on a dolman-sleeved top, too. Thanks for posting it!
5/7/12 4:40 AM
KathySews said...
Annette, great tops. Thanks so much for the detailed review and fba info.
5/7/12 7:37 AM
MNBarb said...
You made a top from polyester during your hot flash phase? Well, it must be because it's so beautiful you couldn't resist. Both tops look great on you and I think you should make the pants. Love your reviews.
5/7/12 7:54 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love love love the fabric!
5/7/12 8:44 AM
Catbird said...
WOW, WOW, WOW. This might just be my favorite of all the things you've made, but then that's a long list full of wonderful things. This looks AMAZING on you and I love the way you've put that spectacular fabric to use. Love the neckline. As always, I'm amazed at the changes you make to a pattern to make it all your own, and how perfectly they work. Thank you for a brilliant, funny review and an inspiring top!
5/7/12 8:54 AM
Catbird said...
HEY, what happened to my picture?? It has suddenly changed to a cartoon! I'll go in to my profile and see what's up. Ugh.
5/7/12 8:55 AM
Catbird said...
All fixed. :-)
5/7/12 9:03 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
What interesting fabric! Makes the top look more intricate than an "Easy 2 hour" pattern. Great job! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the FBA to this style as well.
5/7/12 9:15 PM
JPForster said...
Wow - your top is beautiful! We're about the same size and I would also need a FBA. When I see how great this looks on you now ... I want one! Added this pattern to my wish list. Thanks also for the great tips!
5/7/12 11:34 PM
Cuffs said...
Love both of those tops, they're very flattering, which is not often the case with dartless tops on full-busted women. Thanks so much for the tips on your alterations. I don't usually know how to handle FBA's without darts, gathers, or princess seams. You've helped me a lot.
5/7/12 11:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
I like the looks you achieved from your two FAB looking tops, Annette! My favorite is your second top, with the contrasting colors highlighting your eye-catching beauty. I enjoyed your very helpful and entertaining review.
5/8/12 1:24 AM
Terri A said...
Love the fabric - how cool is that top???
5/28/12 4:41 PM
marec said...
This is super! How did I miss the review in May?
6/3/12 9:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
McCall's 6271

photo
by: Crys0904

Review