Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6816 (Misses Easy Two-Hour Skirt, Pants and Knit Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 570 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/12 8:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Annette, as usual you have completed two beautiful garments. I actually covet that Norma K. Fabric on the last top and find that top quite elegant. Everything you make is so well thought out and executed. And I always enjoy a good laugh from your detailed reviews along with learning many good techniques. You and Sharon have this full bust allowance thing all worked out for the rest of us.
5/6/12 8:21 PM
barebear said...
What a great top! I really love the fabric you chose, it's so fun. Thanks for the detailed but easy to read review. :)
5/6/12 8:32 PM
jlg said...
Very cool.
5/6/12 9:16 PM
YarnJourney said...
Beautiful! I love how you used the fabric. The way the design flows around your body. Thanks for the detail on the FBA too.
5/6/12 9:40 PM
sewsally said...
I love love love that fabric.
5/6/12 10:11 PM
cleverkitty said...
wow this is so sharp I love the fabric you look great in this fun style, goes with your upbeat personality. Fabulous review!
5/6/12 10:34 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the details on construction. Love your reviews, of course, because they are entertaining but also because I always learn something. From the link you provided on Kamali: "This knit is drapey, soft. You feel like making some dress, gown, tunic. The fabric looks forward to being worked on." hehheh--yeah the fabric probably looks forward to being worked on by someone like you; it probably ought to run from the likes of me! Nice colors!
5/6/12 10:35 PM
SewWil said...
I love both tops. The black/blue fabric is amazing. What a perfect pattern to showcase the fabric. Thanks for the detailed review.
5/6/12 10:51 PM
Christas said...
Not only do you make fantastic clothes, you take the time to tell us HOW you did it in such a way that we all learn so much. I love BOTH tops. They are each so different that you would never know they are the same pattern. Your fabric choices are terrific. I especially love the blue one. I love EveS' vertical fabric placement in her dress, but your placement for your top looks just PERFECT! Thanks for another informative and entertaining review! :-)
5/6/12 10:53 PM
sfshaza said...
WOW!!! I'm so glad I was trolling the gallery tonight. This top is spectacular! That print is so fun and you've used it perfectly! I'm glad you found a way to make the FBA works and I hope, as you wear it, that it does NOT ride up! You are definitely a card carrying member of the UBER BUSTY club. :D
5/6/12 11:14 PM
Barbara V said...
That is one amazingly beautiful piece of Elliot Berman fabric that you sewed into a fabulous top! As always, a fun and informative review! And....your first top is a winner as well.
5/7/12 0:23 AM
ArtAttack said...
Great top! What fabulous fabric!
5/7/12 1:32 AM
Margaret said...
Both versions look great on you! I really like how you used the Norma K. print, and changed the necklines. That's an interesting way of doing an FBA on a dolman-sleeved top, too. Thanks for posting it!
5/7/12 4:40 AM
KathySews said...
Annette, great tops. Thanks so much for the detailed review and fba info.
5/7/12 7:37 AM
MNBarb said...
You made a top from polyester during your hot flash phase? Well, it must be because it's so beautiful you couldn't resist. Both tops look great on you and I think you should make the pants. Love your reviews.
5/7/12 7:54 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love love love the fabric!
5/7/12 8:44 AM
Catbird said...
WOW, WOW, WOW. This might just be my favorite of all the things you've made, but then that's a long list full of wonderful things. This looks AMAZING on you and I love the way you've put that spectacular fabric to use. Love the neckline. As always, I'm amazed at the changes you make to a pattern to make it all your own, and how perfectly they work. Thank you for a brilliant, funny review and an inspiring top!
5/7/12 8:54 AM
Catbird said...
HEY, what happened to my picture?? It has suddenly changed to a cartoon! I'll go in to my profile and see what's up. Ugh.
5/7/12 8:55 AM
Catbird said...
All fixed. :-)
5/7/12 9:03 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
What interesting fabric! Makes the top look more intricate than an "Easy 2 hour" pattern. Great job! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the FBA to this style as well.
5/7/12 9:15 PM
JPForster said...
Wow - your top is beautiful! We're about the same size and I would also need a FBA. When I see how great this looks on you now ... I want one! Added this pattern to my wish list. Thanks also for the great tips!
5/7/12 11:34 PM
Cuffs said...
Love both of those tops, they're very flattering, which is not often the case with dartless tops on full-busted women. Thanks so much for the tips on your alterations. I don't usually know how to handle FBA's without darts, gathers, or princess seams. You've helped me a lot.
5/7/12 11:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
I like the looks you achieved from your two FAB looking tops, Annette! My favorite is your second top, with the contrasting colors highlighting your eye-catching beauty. I enjoyed your very helpful and entertaining review.
5/8/12 1:24 AM
Terri A said...
Love the fabric - how cool is that top???
5/28/12 4:41 PM
marec said...
This is super! How did I miss the review in May?
6/3/12 9:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 5196
photo
Review by marvelous on 5/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2594
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 3/3/13
Read Review

Burda 6904 Pattern
Burda 6904 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8930 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8930 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us