SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5974 

88 more reviews
Viewed 531 times 
Reviewed by:Peggyscloset
photo

 
 
About Peggysclosetstar
Member since: 10/6/10
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 26
 
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/10/12 9:18 AM
Last Updated:5/10/12 9:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
happygrammy50 said...
Thanks for your help. I hope my dress comes out as good as yours.
5/16/12 7:53 PM
Peggyscloset said...
Sure! I think gathers would work well.
5/16/12 5:33 PM
happygrammy50 said...
I have another question. I made a practice of this dress and don't like the pleats. Could I gather the skirt instead? Thanks for your help
5/16/12 9:34 AM
Peggyscloset said...
For the binding, I measured the length of the neckline and cut the binding that long, but didn't use the full amount. I stretched the binding very slightly as I sewed it to prevent any gaping, and lopped off the unused portion of binding when I was done.
5/15/12 1:13 PM
happygrammy50 said...
How long did you make your binding?
5/15/12 11:25 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks Peggy! I'll try this method. a bit differnt than I do. I love my Coverstitch...but I'm with you...the binders look complicated.
5/11/12 4:06 PM
Peggyscloset said...
Thank you all for your kind comments! They really mean a lot to me! Laurie Lou ~ I do have a binder attachment for my coverstitch, but I'm embarrassed to say that I haven't figured out how to use it yet! *Blush* I need to figure it out because it'll give a more professional finish. As it is, I used a 2" wide piece of fabric, folded it in half (lengthwise), sewed the raw edges of the binding to the wrong side of the bodice, stretching slightly, then trimmed the (5/8") seam, folded the binding over the trimmed seam to the right side, and topstitched. I like this method because of the clean finish on the inside. Unfortunately, my topstitching is only so-so.
5/11/12 2:28 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Very nice!!! I got this fabric in the pinks...but you got a much better price! I love your bound neckline and wondered if you have the binder attachemtn for your coverstitch machine? It looks so professional. I only have the Covoerpro...but no special attachments. Loved your blog post too. Thanks for your review. I'll have to dig this pattern out.
5/11/12 1:15 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
5/11/12 8:32 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful and I think thefabricis perfect. I gave this dress a go couple years ago maybe it's time to try it again now that I have more experience. Thank you for your review.
5/10/12 10:25 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! Love the fabric. Love the bound neckline.
5/10/12 9:17 PM
jlg said...
Love this dress (fabric and all). By the way, I love the phrase "selectively frugal."
5/10/12 7:47 PM
allycovey said...
THis is a beautiful dress, I am sorry the fabric was hard to work with but the result is worth it right? Where can you buy a dress like that for less than 5 bucks
5/10/12 4:27 PM
Christas said...
This is a great looking dress .... love your fabric choice, too! You sewing looks flawless!
5/10/12 4:22 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress. I'm thinking about making another version of this dress soon.
5/10/12 1:07 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great version of this timeless classic. Can't wait to see it made up in that other great fabric!
5/10/12 1:01 PM
halleyscomet said...
Lovely dress!
5/10/12 11:29 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Beautiful dress, the fabric is really pretty.
5/10/12 10:34 AM
lakaribane said...
I just made this pattern and intend to sew another one sew, with the sash. Lovely fabric even if it was a PITA to sew, LOL!
5/10/12 9:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5974

photo
by: Anne Cherr...

Review