SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5974 

88 more reviews
Viewed 528 times 
Reviewed by:Peggyscloset
photo

 
 
About Peggysclosetstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/6/10
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/10/12 9:18 AM
Last Updated:5/10/12 9:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lakaribane said...
I just made this pattern and intend to sew another one sew, with the sash. Lovely fabric even if it was a PITA to sew, LOL!
5/10/12 9:53 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Beautiful dress, the fabric is really pretty.
5/10/12 10:34 AM
halleyscomet said...
Lovely dress!
5/10/12 11:29 AM
ArtAttack said...
Great version of this timeless classic. Can't wait to see it made up in that other great fabric!
5/10/12 1:01 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress. I'm thinking about making another version of this dress soon.
5/10/12 1:07 PM
Christas said...
This is a great looking dress .... love your fabric choice, too! You sewing looks flawless!
5/10/12 4:22 PM
allycovey said...
THis is a beautiful dress, I am sorry the fabric was hard to work with but the result is worth it right? Where can you buy a dress like that for less than 5 bucks
5/10/12 4:27 PM
jlg said...
Love this dress (fabric and all). By the way, I love the phrase "selectively frugal."
5/10/12 7:47 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! Love the fabric. Love the bound neckline.
5/10/12 9:17 PM
Scheri said...
Beautiful and I think thefabricis perfect. I gave this dress a go couple years ago maybe it's time to try it again now that I have more experience. Thank you for your review.
5/10/12 10:25 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
5/11/12 8:32 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Very nice!!! I got this fabric in the pinks...but you got a much better price! I love your bound neckline and wondered if you have the binder attachemtn for your coverstitch machine? It looks so professional. I only have the Covoerpro...but no special attachments. Loved your blog post too. Thanks for your review. I'll have to dig this pattern out.
5/11/12 1:15 PM
Peggyscloset said...
Thank you all for your kind comments! They really mean a lot to me! Laurie Lou ~ I do have a binder attachment for my coverstitch, but I'm embarrassed to say that I haven't figured out how to use it yet! *Blush* I need to figure it out because it'll give a more professional finish. As it is, I used a 2" wide piece of fabric, folded it in half (lengthwise), sewed the raw edges of the binding to the wrong side of the bodice, stretching slightly, then trimmed the (5/8") seam, folded the binding over the trimmed seam to the right side, and topstitched. I like this method because of the clean finish on the inside. Unfortunately, my topstitching is only so-so.
5/11/12 2:28 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks Peggy! I'll try this method. a bit differnt than I do. I love my Coverstitch...but I'm with you...the binders look complicated.
5/11/12 4:06 PM
happygrammy50 said...
How long did you make your binding?
5/15/12 11:25 AM
Peggyscloset said...
For the binding, I measured the length of the neckline and cut the binding that long, but didn't use the full amount. I stretched the binding very slightly as I sewed it to prevent any gaping, and lopped off the unused portion of binding when I was done.
5/15/12 1:13 PM
happygrammy50 said...
I have another question. I made a practice of this dress and don't like the pleats. Could I gather the skirt instead? Thanks for your help
5/16/12 9:34 AM
Peggyscloset said...
Sure! I think gathers would work well.
5/16/12 5:33 PM
happygrammy50 said...
Thanks for your help. I hope my dress comes out as good as yours.
5/16/12 7:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

No Pattern Used Frankenfrenchy

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
No Pattern Used My Twin Dress Form

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now