SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1234 (Misses' Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 843 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/12 0:34 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
Smashing, both on you and the fabric! I agree with you on the neckline: A true round neck isn't flattering on most of us. A V, as you say, would flatter it, and I can't help but wonder about a square one. Of course changing it to a boat neck would be easiest and would look so pretty. Congrats on a job well done. :)
3/21/13 3:16 PM
threadandthumb said...
Beautiful in a floral!
7/9/12 2:04 PM
Barbara V said...
Thanks all for the lovely comments! AuntieShel, my height is 5' 3 1/2". I also measured the dress length from front neck edge to hem - 47". Hope that is helpful - Barbara
6/14/12 4:53 PM
AuntieShel said...
Don't know how I missed this when you reviewed it, but this is SPECTACULAR!!! So stunning, the way you used the border print. May I ask how tall you are as a reference if I buy this pattern? Thank you!!
6/14/12 11:37 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Love how you were brave enough to tackle a border print and all your work certainly paid off! I love how you added the border on the bottom not only for the length but it really tied everything together as well.
5/15/12 10:48 AM
Ann Smith said...
Such a great use of the border print. I love it.
5/14/12 12:14 PM
Mrs4Him said...
This is very pretty and such an interesting and flattering design.
5/12/12 5:57 PM
TJSEWS said...
You look gorgeous in your dress and what a fantastic print! Perfect!
5/12/12 5:21 PM
mmcp said...
I have this pattern and keep meaning to make it but haven't found the right fabric. LOVE what you did with that patterned fabric. Thanks for the inspiration!
5/12/12 2:57 PM
Heatherrique said...
Enchantingly beautiful, Barbara!
5/12/12 1:33 PM
barbcl said...
A sensational dress and look!
5/12/12 12:58 PM
cleverkitty said...
gorgeous dress!!
5/12/12 8:04 AM
cocosloft said...
A work of art...stunning!
5/12/12 7:50 AM
mochimo said...
What a beautiful dress!!!
5/12/12 7:48 AM
lamstu said...
Another amazing dress. Love your style and your skill of which this dress is a great example.
5/12/12 2:22 AM
Sar sews said...
Great use of fabric, bravo!
5/11/12 11:01 PM
Annette1 said...
That layout looks like something akin to BRAIN SURGERY, Doc, but you've done a SUPERB job putting your border print to use. I had actually ordered some of the fabric that is in the pattern picture, but then I got a note that, well, actually, it WASN'T that fabric, so I canceled the order. I've never been able to imagine anything that would look quite as good, UNTIL NOW, and I don't even have to imagine! BEAUTIFUL dress! ;o)
5/11/12 9:37 PM
DorothyK said...
The fabric placement is excellent and the fit is divine. You did a great job on this and it looks fabulous on you. You have reminded me that I still intend to make this pattern.
5/11/12 12:07 PM
VogueMistress said...
Stunning..beautiful use of the border print.
5/11/12 10:49 AM
nicegirl said...
That is so cool! Your border print placement is just fabulous.
5/11/12 10:47 AM
marthamyers said...
Wow - terrific on you, Barbara. Thanks for showing the skirt detail. It is such a clever design. And your layout is even more clever. The border print is perfect for this. I am wondering if it could be adapted to a woven fabric. Nice work!
5/11/12 10:07 AM
Nan Kay said...
Love how you used this fabric! I didn't think I liked this pattern from the envelope, but your version is super, I might have to rethink my opinion of the pattern.
5/11/12 10:01 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a fantastic combination of pattern and fabric. You really made it work for you. Gorgeous!!
5/11/12 9:59 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is gorgeous! I've never given this pattern a second thought but now I may...super becoming on you and outstanding fabric and placement!
5/11/12 9:56 AM
Jrhee said...
This looks really great - I also think it looks much better than the pattern envelope.
5/11/12 9:37 AM
CTBarb said...
Wow! You absolutely nailed the border placements on this. I have this material and you have given me a whole new perspective on it! What a wonderfiul dress and you look super in it!
5/11/12 7:40 AM
prttynpnk said...
What a beautiful fabric choice for this- it looks amazing!
5/11/12 6:57 AM
jlg said...
Very well done. I agree with Christas; you should be on the pattern envelope. This is great.
5/11/12 5:47 AM
cmacca said...
That dress looks great, it is a really unusual way to make up this pattern.
5/11/12 4:14 AM
Dilliander said...
Very special, the border print is a perfect choice and your dress looks lovely on.
5/11/12 3:18 AM
sfshaza said...
Barbara, this is spectacular!! I love love it in that border ITY print!!!
5/11/12 2:12 AM
Batik said...
I agree with Christas, this is so beautiful it should be on the pattern envelope. Lovely fabric and the places of the border detail is spectacular.
5/11/12 1:16 AM
Christas said...
That is one very gorgeous dress! You should be on the front of the pattern envelope. Your fabric choice is absolutely wonderful. I would have never looked twice at this pattern, but now I will probably buy it!
5/11/12 1:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

More Info
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

More Info