Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1801 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 910 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/12 6:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
craftylady66 said...
It's lovely. The back midriff looks fine to me.
5/11/12 7:08 PM
Nenewhis said...
I love this dress, it is so well thought out, and looks like you bought it off the rack. Well done!
5/11/12 8:01 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty border print fabric. The dress is gorgeous on your very attractive daughter!
5/11/12 8:54 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This isnso cute!
5/11/12 9:09 PM
momsurfing said...
very nice
5/11/12 9:24 PM
heathergwo said...
Super cute!! Love the fabric and you matched the pattern up very well!
5/11/12 10:08 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. Great use of the border print.
5/12/12 0:25 AM
stitchywitch said...
Lovely - looks great on your daughter. Thank you for the review - I want to make this in a knit, but I was worried it wouldn't work!
5/12/12 2:03 AM
tigergirl said...
What fabulous fabric! This dress looks great on her.
5/12/12 2:41 AM
becca a said...
What a pretty dress! I don't see anything off about the back midriff. What a gorgeous border print you used!
5/12/12 8:05 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, the border fabric is gorgeous.
5/12/12 8:16 AM
facesunderwater said...
Your placement of the print is stunning!
5/12/12 8:57 AM
magpie57 said...
Wonderful use of your border print! Noone will ever notice the upside down piece if you don't mention it! Sweet dress. Well done.
5/12/12 9:52 AM
sunnysewer said...
WOW, I love this. looks fantastic. Did you raise the V-neck at all? Since the wearer is tall it looks great, might it be kind of low cut on a shorter person? Also can you tell where you found that fabric? thanks
5/12/12 12:38 PM
Steffie said...
SunnySewer - No, I did not raise the neckline, but I would raise it a bit if I made it again. It is a little low, but the bodice pieces are wide enough that it isn't too revealing. It looks a bit more revealing in person. I purchased the fabric on Fabric.com a couple of summers ago and finally got around to using it. :)
5/12/12 3:15 PM
Steffie said...
Thanks for all your positive comments!
5/12/12 3:16 PM
Patti B said...
So so pretty as is your daughter. I'm getting ready to see this for my DD and appreciate the review.
5/13/12 10:11 AM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress!!!! Had my eye on this, thanks for reviewing!!
5/23/12 11:07 AM
Melody said...
Wow! This looks great. I loved the way you wrangled that border print. It's absolutely beautiful. Oh and the midriff back placement is spot on, you needn't worry.
5/31/12 7:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used 0001
photo
Review by Sally Sews on 1/14/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2009-106
photo
Review by becca a on 4/16/09
Read Review

McCalls 6544 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6544 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us