Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Self-drafted (Au Bonheur inspired sweater) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 353 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/12 0:17 AM
Last Updated:5/23/12 3:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
I see what you mean about the dye. The colour still makes this top effective. I can see this pattern being useful for two sided stripe or print.
5/15/12 1:24 AM
Sharonspils said...
Lovely top and you did a beautiful job on the dying of the wool.
5/15/12 2:07 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great job - I am very impressed with all your drafted tops!
5/15/12 2:13 AM
Mel.J said...
Wonderful!
5/15/12 2:24 AM
CCQ said...
Nice job; looks very RTW.
5/15/12 10:19 AM
margk said...
Great work!
5/15/12 7:18 PM
jenleeC said...
Nice top! The collar detail adds a nice interest.
5/15/12 9:42 PM
mm said...
Well done. It looks great.
5/16/12 0:35 AM
Dilliander said...
Thanks everyone. Velosewer, I have a striped wool rib that I am considering for this top. I agree the stripes would be quite effective, so may give it a go.
5/16/12 2:47 AM
mmcp said...
Lovely sweater. Someone in France needs to dig up all the leftover Bonheur patterns (they must exist, right?) and throw them on e-bay!
5/16/12 6:24 AM
cleverkitty said...
very very nice, this would rival any designer :)
5/16/12 7:44 AM
VivianZ said...
very nice sweater. I like the design very much.
5/16/12 8:56 AM
sfshaza said...
What a great job you did with this!!! It looks fabulous!
5/19/12 3:07 AM
rivergum said...
Very elegant top. I love the pattern you made and the way it is finished.
5/22/12 1:42 AM
DaisyA said...
Ohh La La! C'est magnifique!
5/23/12 6:28 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Your sweater came out lighter than expected because if you used Dylon it's "fiber reactive" dye, which is for cellulose fibers. For wool, a protein fiber, you need to use acid dyes, which are actually less fussy to use. Next time :-)..
5/23/12 12:21 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks again for the kind comments. fuzzygalore your explanation of the different types of dyes is very helpful and I have added a note to your comment in the review. The Dylon packet says it can be used with any natural fibre and explains that wool will be a lighter colour, but in reality there was a big variation in tone.
5/23/12 7:11 PM
meggipeg said...
I just scrolled through the contest entries and this was the one that caught my eye. Absolutely stylish and gorgeous. Love it.
5/27/12 6:37 PM
wendyrb said...
I think this is one of the most beautiful things I've seen on PR! And there have been plenty of greats. Thanks for the well detailed review. I look forward to seeing more variations and wish I could locate that pattern.
6/2/12 1:49 PM
Mufffet said...
That is so lovely!
6/4/12 12:31 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, what a great review and amazing sweater! Very impressed!
6/5/12 6:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
An impressive achievement and a lovely garment.
6/15/12 7:19 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous! Love the colour. Your hard work was worth it.
6/16/12 8:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6969
photo
Review by Hotcouture on 9/22/13
Read Review

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Disparate Disciplines 3401 Avocado hoodie
photo
Review by ahearta on 10/24/13
Read Review

Burda 7138 Pattern
Burda 7138 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7152 Pattern
Burda 7152 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us