SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Self-drafted (Au Bonheur inspired sweater)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/12 0:17 AM
Last Updated:5/23/12 3:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
I see what you mean about the dye. The colour still makes this top effective. I can see this pattern being useful for two sided stripe or print.
5/15/12 1:24 AM
Sharonspils said...
Lovely top and you did a beautiful job on the dying of the wool.
5/15/12 2:07 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great job - I am very impressed with all your drafted tops!
5/15/12 2:13 AM
Mel.J said...
Wonderful!
5/15/12 2:24 AM
CCQ said...
Nice job; looks very RTW.
5/15/12 10:19 AM
margk said...
Great work!
5/15/12 7:18 PM
jenleeC said...
Nice top! The collar detail adds a nice interest.
5/15/12 9:42 PM
mm said...
Well done. It looks great.
5/16/12 0:35 AM
Dilliander said...
Thanks everyone. Velosewer, I have a striped wool rib that I am considering for this top. I agree the stripes would be quite effective, so may give it a go.
5/16/12 2:47 AM
mmcp said...
Lovely sweater. Someone in France needs to dig up all the leftover Bonheur patterns (they must exist, right?) and throw them on e-bay!
5/16/12 6:24 AM
cleverkitty said...
very very nice, this would rival any designer :)
5/16/12 7:44 AM
VivianZ said...
very nice sweater. I like the design very much.
5/16/12 8:56 AM
sfshaza said...
What a great job you did with this!!! It looks fabulous!
5/19/12 3:07 AM
rivergum said...
Very elegant top. I love the pattern you made and the way it is finished.
5/22/12 1:42 AM
DaisyA said...
Ohh La La! C'est magnifique!
5/23/12 6:28 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Your sweater came out lighter than expected because if you used Dylon it's "fiber reactive" dye, which is for cellulose fibers. For wool, a protein fiber, you need to use acid dyes, which are actually less fussy to use. Next time :-)..
5/23/12 12:21 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks again for the kind comments. fuzzygalore your explanation of the different types of dyes is very helpful and I have added a note to your comment in the review. The Dylon packet says it can be used with any natural fibre and explains that wool will be a lighter colour, but in reality there was a big variation in tone.
5/23/12 7:11 PM
meggipeg said...
I just scrolled through the contest entries and this was the one that caught my eye. Absolutely stylish and gorgeous. Love it.
5/27/12 6:37 PM
wendyrb said...
I think this is one of the most beautiful things I've seen on PR! And there have been plenty of greats. Thanks for the well detailed review. I look forward to seeing more variations and wish I could locate that pattern.
6/2/12 1:49 PM
Mufffet said...
That is so lovely!
6/4/12 12:31 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, what a great review and amazing sweater! Very impressed!
6/5/12 6:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
An impressive achievement and a lovely garment.
6/15/12 7:19 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous! Love the colour. Your hard work was worth it.
6/16/12 8:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 5811

photo
by: DD1104

Review
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now