SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6100 (shorts)

8 more reviews
Viewed 378 times 
Reviewed by:awesomepotatoes
photo

 
 
About awesomepotatoesstar
Member since: 10/10/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/12 12:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fictionfan said...
Was the original waistband a contour band? They can stretch out when you work with them because they have bias edges. A straight band won't stretch, but is usually not as comfortable because of the lack of stretch. Do you still have the belt loop pieces? Undo the waist seam at the places where you have those vertical seams, slip the belt loops in there, stitch them into the seam so that they are sticking out of the waist seam with enough length to go above the band when folded up, then fold them over the top of the waistband covering the vertical seams and tack the tops of the loops inside the waistband at the top. HTH. Cute shorts!
5/19/12 12:47 PM
Living Beauty said...
Your shorts look great! Without some of the background info, I wouldn't have known you were a beginner! Don't give up...try the shorts again, rereading the instructions you'll only get more practice and very soon you'll totally understand the process! As for the placing and sewing of belt loops, you can also look at how the belt loops are sewn on your favorite pair of ready to wear pants or jeans
5/19/12 1:10 PM
Sandi S said...
I haven't tried this pattern yet, but it's on my summer sewing list. I'll take a closer look at the belt loop instructions when I do.
5/19/12 8:27 PM
Huntwoman said...
Funny about the noise when you walk but they look cute.
5/20/12 6:53 AM
jgmafpw said...
LOL you MUST start a blog! I would love to keep up with your stories! Great looking shorts!
5/20/12 7:37 AM
strongnow said...
I have to agree with other reviewers that these shorts look really good on you. Also, the blog idea is excellent. (I loved the remark about patio furniture!) Let us know if you start a blog so we may all read it. I looked at this pattern in a search for a shorts pattern and rejected it, but having seen your shorts I may reconsider. They have a nice shape. Anyway, IMHO, your shorts look better than the pattern picture. Maybe you should give them a try again.
5/20/12 8:24 AM
JEF said...
Agree with all above...those are so cute.
5/20/12 10:59 AM
HDWen said...
Had to click on the review because in the picture your shorts look so great! Sew them, sew them and you will get the Ah HA moment :-) hahaha lawn furniture! Sure know what your talking about with lack of exact instructions or photo!!! You'll get there, but still a great job
5/20/12 1:10 PM
awesomepotatoes said...
Thanks for all the tips and comments. Unfortunately, sewing.patternreview.com is about as bloggy as I get. But I'll try to keep up the ridiculous sewing mistakes (this won't be hard at all) and share them with y'all.
5/22/12 0:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Monkeysbug Sweet Sailor Ruffle Short

photo
by: brissmith

Review
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2749

photo
by: Steph huck

Review