Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6100 (shorts) thumbsup - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 360 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:awesomepotatoes
photo
About awesomepotatoesstar
Member since: 10/10/11
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/12 12:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Shorts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fictionfan said...
Was the original waistband a contour band? They can stretch out when you work with them because they have bias edges. A straight band won't stretch, but is usually not as comfortable because of the lack of stretch. Do you still have the belt loop pieces? Undo the waist seam at the places where you have those vertical seams, slip the belt loops in there, stitch them into the seam so that they are sticking out of the waist seam with enough length to go above the band when folded up, then fold them over the top of the waistband covering the vertical seams and tack the tops of the loops inside the waistband at the top. HTH. Cute shorts!
5/19/12 12:47 PM
Living Beauty said...
Your shorts look great! Without some of the background info, I wouldn't have known you were a beginner! Don't give up...try the shorts again, rereading the instructions you'll only get more practice and very soon you'll totally understand the process! As for the placing and sewing of belt loops, you can also look at how the belt loops are sewn on your favorite pair of ready to wear pants or jeans
5/19/12 1:10 PM
Sandi S said...
I haven't tried this pattern yet, but it's on my summer sewing list. I'll take a closer look at the belt loop instructions when I do.
5/19/12 8:27 PM
Huntwoman said...
Funny about the noise when you walk but they look cute.
5/20/12 6:53 AM
jgmafpw said...
LOL you MUST start a blog! I would love to keep up with your stories! Great looking shorts!
5/20/12 7:37 AM
strongnow said...
I have to agree with other reviewers that these shorts look really good on you. Also, the blog idea is excellent. (I loved the remark about patio furniture!) Let us know if you start a blog so we may all read it. I looked at this pattern in a search for a shorts pattern and rejected it, but having seen your shorts I may reconsider. They have a nice shape. Anyway, IMHO, your shorts look better than the pattern picture. Maybe you should give them a try again.
5/20/12 8:24 AM
JEF said...
Agree with all above...those are so cute.
5/20/12 10:59 AM
HDWen said...
Had to click on the review because in the picture your shorts look so great! Sew them, sew them and you will get the Ah HA moment :-) hahaha lawn furniture! Sure know what your talking about with lack of exact instructions or photo!!! You'll get there, but still a great job
5/20/12 1:10 PM
awesomepotatoes said...
Thanks for all the tips and comments. Unfortunately, sewing.patternreview.com is about as bloggy as I get. But I'll try to keep up the ridiculous sewing mistakes (this won't be hard at all) and share them with y'all.
5/22/12 0:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Fashion Sewing Group 1945 Jacket
photo
Review by marthamyer... on 4/17/10
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2922 Project Runway
photo
Review by Meggie LuL... on 5/28/08
Read Review

Vogue 1403 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1403 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us