Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2012-104 (Satin Pencil Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 221 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:rabitgrl
photo
About rabitgrlstar
OR USA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/12 3:40 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mich23 said...
Thanks for the review. Been planning to make this for a while, and this has given me a couple of things to think about - namely elastic and fit! Hmm... Seem to be a fair few pencil skirt patterns in BurdaStyle this year tho, so lots to choose from.
5/24/12 4:02 PM
rabitgrl said...
Mich23 I think it is a skirt worth trying. I hope my review did not dissuade you. I really have very little experience with pencil skirt making and wearing, but I think this one fits as it is meant to. However, going down a size might assure a more snug fit.
5/24/12 4:06 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
The fitting issue might be attributed to more fullness in the area than needed. You might have to decrease horizontally and vertically, making sure your hemline is even.This si usually a problem resulting from flat buttocks because the skirt collapses when not supported by the body. I recognize that this might not be the answer you need (or want). I like the skirt and love the cat.
5/24/12 9:27 PM
rabitgrl said...
Thanks Sue, you seem to know what you are talking about on the fit issue. I am not very good at identifying the root of fitting problems, so I appreciate your insight :o)
5/24/12 10:34 PM
Levone said...
Cute skirt! This skirt is on my list to sew as well so your review has been very helpful.
5/27/12 6:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1004
photo
Review by pegsewer on 11/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1568 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1568 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8646 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8646 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 2 piece tunic
photo
Review by montanachi... on 3/31/11
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us