SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5581 (Men's, boys' shirt shorts hat)

46 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 153 times 
Reviewed by:HDWen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About HDWenstar
AZ USA
Member since: 12/26/11
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/12 7:12 PM
Last Updated:5/24/12 7:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HDWen said...
Thank you all. KwikSew pattern ok, YES a book on trousers would be great too - and just learning patience and keep on trucking, errr sewing :-)
5/25/12 2:20 PM
RLL said...
These look good and I know what you mean about the waist. I made them a couple years ago for my hubby and they look good but he does not wear them much because of the lack of waistband. Keep working on the zippers, as Margaret said, it does get easier and just take your time.
5/25/12 8:19 AM
Margaret said...
These look good and I hope the further modifications work out well too. The zippers definitely get easier with practice.
5/25/12 4:41 AM
sewtofit said...
It is nice for you to rejoin the fold..(the sewing fold that is). The pants look good. But you will soon find that the RTW versions of mens pants is a little more involved. I would suggest a David Coffin book on trousers or tailoring if you really want to do the "right" treatments for mens pants. Good luck and welcome back.
5/24/12 11:26 PM
Renren said...
Hmm, look good for all the trouble you had. Glad you brought the lack of a waistband to my attention. Most people who have sewn this have reviewed the shirt and been happy, but I do see the problem for men with the turned and faced waist (no waistband). The Kwik Sew shorts I have for men all have a separate waistband and normal pockets (they don't narrow down like these do). Looks like a good 1st effort and I'm sure your mods will make dh happier with the next pair.
5/24/12 9:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Serendipity Studio SDG-104

photo
by: brissmith

Review
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now