SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5581 (Men's, boys' shirt shorts hat)

48 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 158 times 
Reviewed by:HDWen
photo

 
 
About HDWenstar
AZ USA
Member since: 12/26/11
Reviews: 55 (patterns: 54)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/12 7:12 PM
Last Updated:5/24/12 7:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HDWen said... (5/25/12 2:20 PM) Reply
Thank you all. KwikSew pattern ok, YES a book on trousers would be great too - and just learning patience and keep on trucking, errr sewing :-)
RLL said... (5/25/12 8:19 AM) Reply
These look good and I know what you mean about the waist. I made them a couple years ago for my hubby and they look good but he does not wear them much because of the lack of waistband. Keep working on the zippers, as Margaret said, it does get easier and just take your time.
Margaret said... (5/25/12 4:41 AM) Reply
These look good and I hope the further modifications work out well too. The zippers definitely get easier with practice.
sewtofit said... (5/24/12 11:26 PM) Reply
It is nice for you to rejoin the fold..(the sewing fold that is). The pants look good. But you will soon find that the RTW versions of mens pants is a little more involved. I would suggest a David Coffin book on trousers or tailoring if you really want to do the "right" treatments for mens pants. Good luck and welcome back.
renren said... (5/24/12 9:15 PM) Reply
Hmm, look good for all the trouble you had. Glad you brought the lack of a waistband to my attention. Most people who have sewn this have reviewed the shirt and been happy, but I do see the problem for men with the turned and faced waist (no waistband). The Kwik Sew shorts I have for men all have a separate waistband and normal pockets (they don't narrow down like these do). Looks like a good 1st effort and I'm sure your mods will make dh happier with the next pair.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Portabello Pixie Ruffle Pants

photo
by: JanElise

Review
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-110

photo
by: olgarosita

Review