SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1955 (Doll Clothes in three sizes)

1 more reviews
Viewed 147 times 
Reviewed by:kidmd
photo

 
 
About kidmdstarstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 276
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/12 7:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
Oh dear! You are a saint! I do American Girl but nothing smaller. What a great Mom!
5/29/13 8:27 PM
kidmd said...
@terlyart - I definitely think there is a drafting error somewhere... It sounds ridiculous, but if you are making the wedding dress, I'd actually muslin the bodice before I cut satin and silk. Trying the large size is a good idea though.
12/31/12 11:45 AM
terlyart said...
I tried to do the wedding dress and the bodice didn't fit for the 11 1/2 for my barbies. I have both the old version and the new barbie. Should I have used the large size for the bodice?
12/27/12 6:34 AM
kidmd said...
@craftylady66 - Good to know! I was pretty surprised at how much width I had to add, given that this fashion doll does look pretty much like a Barbie in shape. I'm glad the other pieces are better drafted.
5/28/12 8:20 PM
craftylady66 said...
I made a few pieces of this pattern for my niece's (new body) Barbies and the pattern for the dress you're reviewing is way too small. It ended up fitting a Bratz doll, which is smaller than Barbie, so I believe that dress pattern is mis-sized. The other pieces I made seem to fit (the new body size Barbie) correctly.
5/28/12 1:40 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks cute!
5/28/12 9:47 AM
Aroura said...
Super cute Barbie dress! They are so tedious to sew, you did great! They are a good way to use pretty scraps though, aren't they?
5/27/12 1:43 PM
SewRaeMe said...
Adorable!
5/27/12 10:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

McCall's 6607

photo
by: Sue Anfang

Review
You Can Make This Lily Bird Studio

photo
by: busymomof3

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now