SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Oliver + S> Reversible Bucket Hat (Reversible Bucket Hat)

9 more reviews
Viewed 102 times 
Reviewed by:karen n
photo

 
 
About karen nstar
WA
Member since: 11/24/08
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/27/12 7:26 PM
Last Updated:5/27/12 7:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $0.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $0.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Steffie said...
Such cute hats! Excellent job!
5/27/12 9:34 PM
JeanM said...
Very nice! I'm going to have to try this for my 8-yr old son...though I think I will have to try enlarging it a bit. I looked at the pattern, it looks like it wouldn't be too hard to make another size or two larger. Wish me luck!
5/27/12 10:42 PM
ctirish said...
Excellent review, it is great when more than the questions are answered. The hats look great, good colors and the stitching around it is precise. Awesome job
5/28/12 0:54 AM
karen n said...
JeanM, I recall finding this enlarging post. https://oliverands.com/forums/topic.php?id=854#post-6871 on the Oliver & S forum. Let us know if it works out! I might try enlarging next year.
5/28/12 5:28 AM
BlackEarthSquid said...
Karen, Great review and beautiful hats. I made this pattern too. I made a “M” for my 18–month old and I can tell you it does run small. Making a Large for my 5-year-old, right now. Because of my experience with the “M” size I enlarged 10% and I’m using a 3/8 seam allowance. I tried the “surgeon cap” on her last night and it seems to have created enough ease that she will be able to wear it through the summer. Very good advice to test the cap for size – and remember when you’ve added the reversible “second later” it will be even a bit smaller. So go carefully with sizing and be sure to build in the ease you need.
6/19/12 10:27 AM
BlackEarthSquid said...
FYI I enlarged the "Large" and it just barely fit my almost 6-year old's 21" cabeza... it would be my estimation that this pattern runs a teensy bit small. Great pattern, though. Her bird/flower hat is a sight to see!
8/3/12 11:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Angela Osborn Bow Tie

photo
by: MicNanDec

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-109

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now