SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Oliver + S> Reversible Bucket Hat (Reversible Bucket Hat)

9 more reviews
Viewed 108 times 
Reviewed by:karen n
photo

 
 
About karen nstar
Member since: 11/24/08
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/27/12 7:26 PM
Last Updated:5/27/12 7:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $0.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $0.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BlackEarthSquid said...
FYI I enlarged the "Large" and it just barely fit my almost 6-year old's 21" cabeza... it would be my estimation that this pattern runs a teensy bit small. Great pattern, though. Her bird/flower hat is a sight to see!
8/3/12 11:36 AM
BlackEarthSquid said...
Karen, Great review and beautiful hats. I made this pattern too. I made a “M” for my 18–month old and I can tell you it does run small. Making a Large for my 5-year-old, right now. Because of my experience with the “M” size I enlarged 10% and I’m using a 3/8 seam allowance. I tried the “surgeon cap” on her last night and it seems to have created enough ease that she will be able to wear it through the summer. Very good advice to test the cap for size – and remember when you’ve added the reversible “second later” it will be even a bit smaller. So go carefully with sizing and be sure to build in the ease you need.
6/19/12 10:27 AM
karen n said...
JeanM, I recall finding this enlarging post. https://oliverands.com/forums/topic.php?id=854#post-6871 on the Oliver & S forum. Let us know if it works out! I might try enlarging next year.
5/28/12 5:28 AM
ctirish said...
Excellent review, it is great when more than the questions are answered. The hats look great, good colors and the stitching around it is precise. Awesome job
5/28/12 0:54 AM
JeanM said...
Very nice! I'm going to have to try this for my 8-yr old son...though I think I will have to try enlarging it a bit. I looked at the pattern, it looks like it wouldn't be too hard to make another size or two larger. Wish me luck!
5/27/12 10:42 PM
Steffie said...
Such cute hats! Excellent job!
5/27/12 9:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now