Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Oliver + S> Reversible Bucket Hat (Reversible Bucket Hat)

11 more reviews
Viewed 119 times 
Reviewed by:karen n
photo

 
 
About karen nstar
Member since: 11/24/08
Reviews: 45 (patterns: 44)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/27/12 7:26 PM
Last Updated:5/27/12 7:38 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $0.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $0.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ammartini said... (8/12/15 9:04 PM) Reply
What's not to love? I can see why this pattern has been so popular! Your fabric choices are super, isn't it wonderful that this is a free pattern too. I noted that the pattern ran a little smaller than I had thought it would, I printed it at a slightly larger scale on my printer which worked for me. I did a tester hat to measure the head circumference, which worked well.
BlackEarthSquid said... (8/3/12 11:36 AM) Reply
FYI I enlarged the "Large" and it just barely fit my almost 6-year old's 21" cabeza... it would be my estimation that this pattern runs a teensy bit small. Great pattern, though. Her bird/flower hat is a sight to see!
BlackEarthSquid said... (6/19/12 10:27 AM) Reply
Karen, Great review and beautiful hats. I made this pattern too. I made a “M” for my 18–month old and I can tell you it does run small. Making a Large for my 5-year-old, right now. Because of my experience with the “M” size I enlarged 10% and I’m using a 3/8 seam allowance. I tried the “surgeon cap” on her last night and it seems to have created enough ease that she will be able to wear it through the summer. Very good advice to test the cap for size – and remember when you’ve added the reversible “second later” it will be even a bit smaller. So go carefully with sizing and be sure to build in the ease you need.
karen n said... (5/28/12 5:28 AM) Reply
JeanM, I recall finding this enlarging post. https://oliverands.com/forums/topic.php?id=854#post-6871 on the Oliver & S forum. Let us know if it works out! I might try enlarging next year.
ctirish said... (5/28/12 0:54 AM) Reply
Excellent review, it is great when more than the questions are answered. The hats look great, good colors and the stitching around it is precise. Awesome job
JeanM said... (5/27/12 10:42 PM) Reply
Very nice! I'm going to have to try this for my 8-yr old son...though I think I will have to try enlarging it a bit. I looked at the pattern, it looks like it wouldn't be too hard to make another size or two larger. Wish me luck!
Steffie said... (5/27/12 9:34 PM) Reply
Such cute hats! Excellent job!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

McCall's 6519

photo
by: dinagideon

Review
HotPatterns HP 1151

photo
by: bakertoo

Review
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Pattern Details