SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET)

62 more reviews
Viewed 837 times 
Reviewed by:Maree P
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Maree Pstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/12 1:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
I have the same concerns about the style but this looks just very cool on you. It's great enough I might even try it...
6/16/12 1:31 AM
Renata said...
My first thought when I saw it was Chanel rather than David Jones (dept store). I like it very much. I also prefer the raw edge. All your procrastination paid off in the end with a lovely jacket. Wear it well.
6/16/12 1:37 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket! It must have been annoying to remove the vinyl trim after all your work :( but I like the final deconstructed look. And I know what you mean about houndstooth :) at least fabric in flat form. As a jacket I don't think of DJ's. Nice matching of the houndstooth too.
6/16/12 1:52 AM
CynthiaSue said...
totally gorgeous. first review I've bothered to click on in weeks!!!
6/16/12 2:12 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very chic, and an impressive effort. The fringed edge is much better than the leather trim.
6/16/12 4:11 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Did not think DJ's at all - but what a smart jacket!
6/16/12 4:59 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
...
6/16/12 4:59 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
...
6/16/12 4:59 AM
cocosloft said...
Really like this on you. Fringed edges are perfect!
6/16/12 6:08 AM
mollyshark said...
Spectacular. I like your edges and the tip on the sleeves.
6/16/12 7:34 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a lovely jacket! Thanks for the construction tips....very helpful.
6/16/12 8:22 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket.
6/16/12 9:26 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - I have almost the identical fabric (from EOS) and wasn't quite sure what I wanted to do with it - thanks to your review problem solved!
6/16/12 9:57 AM
MissLadyAudrey said...
I love the finished jacket....
6/16/12 10:11 AM
USMCMom said...
Very chic and it looks wonderful on you! The fringe really makes it. And a very informative review. Thanks!
6/16/12 10:12 AM
PattyE said...
Fabulous jacket!
6/16/12 10:57 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous jacket! Great job.
6/16/12 3:35 PM
Erin D said...
The fringed edges look really great-it's a nice contrast between classic and modern. Hope you enjoy wearing it!
6/16/12 6:05 PM
MNBarb said...
I've never been interested in this pattern since, like you, I don't consider myself "Chanel-ish". Now that I've seen your lovely, sportier version I'm getting tempted. Pairing it with comfy jeans and sweater is perfect!
6/16/12 9:01 PM
hme75 said...
I love this. While I love the look, the Chanel jacket doesn't fit into my lifestyle. But this, this I could do! I think the fringed edges are perfect. Thanks for the review.
6/17/12 0:09 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I'm joining the chorus of love, love, love. It looks fabulous on you, love the houndstooth. I liked the leatherish trim too but agree about the waviness. What a pity. However I am a fan of the fringing also.
6/17/12 0:55 AM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely jacket!
6/17/12 1:53 AM
pdiddly said...
great looking jacket - I have bought some similar fabric to make a Chanel type jacket
6/17/12 2:21 AM
Fran G said...
Very chic jacket..styled beautifully..very current. Can you expound a bit more on your method of attaching the lining to the jacket fabric please? You trimmed off the SA on the lining and left a raw edge when zigzagging to the raw edge of the jacket? Did you turn under some of the lining before zigging to jacket? The lining photos do not appear to have a "raw" edge. I love your jacket as it appears soft and lightweight. Thanks for the review and any further explanation you can give me, although your review is very thorough and complete..it's just that one little part that confuses me.
6/17/12 8:03 AM
mochimo said...
Fantastic jacket! Tres chic but very modern at the same time!
6/17/12 8:37 AM
jenleeC said...
Great jacket! Thanks for the review as I have this one in the cue and planned on using basic sewing techniques rather than the full couture methods. Your has worked very well.
6/17/12 9:33 AM
Maree P said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments. You really make a difference to my sartorial confidence. Dear Fran G - in relation to your question. 1. Sandwich shell and lining together - have scores of pins over the whole jacket or tailor tack all over (just like getting a quilt ready for quilting). 2. Trim off the 1. 5cm seam allowance all around - as this would have been used to bag the lining to the shell. 3. Measure in 1cm around the edge. Tuck under lining (tack if you prefer) and sew on the 1cm line with short small zig zag (I think my stitch was 1 length 1 width). I tried to show the lining tucked in on the photo but you may not be able to see it. 4. Then fringe the fabric. 5. It is preferable if applying interfacing all over not to have interfacing going right to the edge. Fran, if this is not clear please message me. Taa.
6/17/12 7:05 PM
AncientElna said...
Your perseverance paid off, Maree -- lovely jacket and the fringe softens the houndstooth just the right amount! Super look and looks beautiful on you!
6/17/12 7:22 PM
Sharonspils said...
Wonderful jacket and the houndstooth, very stylish.
6/18/12 0:16 AM
Catbird said...
Fantastic jacket, perfectly styled to look very 'you'! I love the slim simplicity of it, and love the fit and subtle details as well.
6/18/12 12:12 PM
Fran G said...
Maree..thanks so much for your additional explanation concerning the lining and jacket fringing..I understand what you did now!
6/21/12 9:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Other Booby Traps

photo
by: LiZ

Review
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6471

photo
by: nickelc624

Review