SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7398 (BLOUSE)

1 more reviews
Viewed 520 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 74 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/12 1:30 PM
Last Updated:6/10/12 5:31 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnRowe said...
There appears to be two eyes and a mouth open in surprise...someone is caught underneath your top! :D Sorry this I didn't work out for you, it's beautifully sewn.
6/3/12 2:04 PM
LynnRowe said...
Before you chuck it (and rescue whoever is stuck underneath it), would it be possible to unsew the sleeves, cut down the side seams, and reattach the sleeves? If the shoulder area fit, maybe shaping new side seams would save it? It really is beautiful, other than the tent thing.
6/3/12 2:07 PM
Pj3g said...
The bowls made me laugh! They definitely caught my attention and made me take a look! The blouse doesn't look as bad as you describe, but I understand what you are saying. All in all, a very helpful review!
6/3/12 4:38 PM
cleverkitty said...
Elizabeth has your wit thats for sure. I know what you mean about a tent making someone look even bigger. Only you would think of the bowls in the shirt LOL Someone is going to love this top....
6/3/12 4:43 PM
AuntieShel said...
I did a doubletake on your thumbprint and laughed when I clicked on it!! Corelle bowls, now that's funny!! Sorry this ended up in the trash as the sewing is exquisite. But thoroughly understand the unwanted circus tent look.
6/3/12 8:15 PM
jenleeC said...
I just had to click on the photo and see what was going on here! Bowls for boobs, very funny! What a pity the fit is so poor as your shirt looks quite lovely in the photo (minus the bowls, of course).
6/3/12 8:54 PM
JillyBe said...
Your thumbnail made me click, and I'm glad I did! Sorry for the sizing fail, but at least you've provided load of entertainment! ;D
6/3/12 9:34 PM
Barbara V said...
So sorry to read about the semi (truck) fitted blouse. Too bad, but thanks for helping other sewists!
6/3/12 10:19 PM
ArtAttack said...
Like others said I had to click to see what in the world was going on...too bad it is a lost cause, but hey, your review was quite entertaining!
6/3/12 11:50 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
I think the bowls help..HA
6/4/12 7:57 AM
JPForster said...
I, too, had to click on the thumbnail just to see what was going on - Barb, you are too funny!
6/4/12 8:25 AM
Sue Parrott said...
The bowls are funny, I couldn't imagine what sort of fabric manipulation you had to do for this pattern until I read the review. Too funny! Thanks for the honest review, I have come to love Burda patterns but will avoid this one!
6/4/12 9:41 AM
Dianne22 said...
Great review--love the humor. Isn't it interesting how Burda appears to use a size 2 model for the plus sized blouse; of course it looks different IRL! Seriously though, please do finish it before you donate it, you did such a beautiful job sewing it. Someone may find it fits perfectly or might use it belted.
6/4/12 10:38 AM
JOshiro said...
Aw, what a shame it didn't work! Thanks for the review, though. I too clicked after the thumbnail piqued my interest!
6/5/12 6:29 AM
TJSEWS said...
Thanks for the laugh!
6/6/12 3:27 PM
Fictionfan said...
Oh, I hope she likes this blouse once it is done! So much work to make it work! I really like the changes you've made to shape the hem and to make the body of the blouse more fitted. The style is very nice, and I love the color and the drape of the fabric. You've sewn it very well. Thanks for the warning and the revised review on the rescued garment.
6/10/12 9:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, GOOD WORK! You and your daughter have turned this top into a winner! You're so right about some of these plus-size patterns being tents, too, although USUALLY Burda isn't as bad about that. I can remember Nancy Zieman saying that you should never start with anything larger than a size 20 (or maybe she said 22), and then make your changes from there, because you lose the style in the larger patterns once you get above that size. I think she may be right about that in some instances. At any rate, your daughter is STYLIN' NOW, with your modifications to this great little top! :o)
7/1/12 1:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now