Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2053 (Side Pleat Sheath Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 771 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/12 10:11 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
well, it's really adorable on you, I hope you wear it!
6/5/12 10:59 AM
zoe said...
This is a beautiful dress. It looks lovely on you. What a wonderful review, with your links to your tutorial on lining a sleeveless dress. Your instructions and video were clear and easy to understand. I have puzzled over pictures of this method for a while now; now I feel I can go ahead and try it with some confidence. Thank you.
6/5/12 11:08 AM
marec said...
This looks really good on you and even though you have identified some issues with the pattern, you ended up with a flattering summer dress.
6/5/12 11:23 AM
pdiddly said...
I too think it looks great on you
6/5/12 11:39 AM
CraftAddict said...
Looks great! Good fit. And GREAT tutorials on your blog. I will definitely be adding them to my favorites and your blog to bloglovin!
6/5/12 11:40 AM
Elona said...
That dress is beautifully fitted and extraordinarily becoming to you. I think it's lovely.
6/5/12 12:08 PM
ArtAttack said...
This fits you like a glove! You should love it...great job!
6/5/12 12:19 PM
Mufffet said...
VERY nice - I think BURDA had a pattern like this recently in the mag. In fact, did you make that one as well? This is SOOO slim and lithe looking!
6/5/12 12:21 PM
Pamaro said...
What a great look on you! I have to disagree about pleats not being flattering on you. Those are sooooo flattering. Pretty dress.
6/5/12 12:22 PM
Clareew said...
I love it, it is classic with a twist. Great
6/5/12 1:13 PM
SewWil said...
I think your dress is very pretty and looks great on you.
6/5/12 2:46 PM
jennybaxt said...
I agree with everyone else. I think it looks lovely and flattering.
6/5/12 4:39 PM
Nan Kay said...
Understand the hesitation with upward laying pleats, but I think it is looking down at them that you don't like. The pictures show a totally flattering and well fitted dress! Looks fabulous.
6/5/12 5:19 PM
DreinPA said...
I wonder if the look would change if the the pleats were stitched in place for a short distance; in a radiating pattern. It might keep them crisper and not give the open over the belly feeling you have. Nonetheless it is a stellar dress for you, and I would not have guessed there was such a great degree of taper in the skirt. It is an excellent fit on you.
6/5/12 6:20 PM
kjcaron said...
What a pretty dress! It looks fabulous on you!
6/5/12 7:07 PM
Barbara V said...
I'll chime in too to say it is a very flattering dress on you!
6/5/12 7:25 PM
katlew03 said...
Beautiful job. I think the dress is very flattering.
6/5/12 8:04 PM
norie creates said...
Your dress is beautiful! Thanks for the tutorial. You make it look so easy!
6/5/12 10:56 PM
Jrhee said...
The pleats look perfect on you to me!
6/5/12 11:10 PM
Terri A said...
That is soooooooo cute! Really adorable and the color and pleating just perfect.
6/6/12 0:08 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I was so surprised at your comment that you didn't think the dress was flattering because when I looked at your photos my thoughts were "Wow, this is the loveliest dress NiceGirl has made". So I'm sorry but you are wrong, wrong, wrong. It looks stunning.
6/6/12 3:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like this dress on you. Very flattering.
6/6/12 5:31 AM
Bonnie O said...
That is a great dress!! You look wonderful.
6/6/12 9:06 AM
Luvable said...
Very cute dress on you.... I love your glasses
6/6/12 11:56 AM
JEF said...
Not your best look??? Are you nuts? This dress rocks and is totally sexy. You look super in it!
6/6/12 3:52 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Yup, It's a keeper. You look great in it. I always love reading your reviews and visiting your blog!
6/6/12 4:49 PM
lilbear said...
looks really great on you- what pear!
7/24/12 2:38 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great dress on you. Stunning color and the style is really cute! I can't imagine anyone of your size having a "pear-shaped body", as you put it, but I guess pears come in all sizes, including us "bartletts". I think the pleats would bug me too, unless they were vertically stitched down. I'd be looking at them and thinking they were "poofy". You got a great fit though; fabulous job!
9/17/12 8:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 5941
photo
Review by gotpeace91 on 4/5/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3660
photo
Review by catalak on 4/23/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us