Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8712 (misses pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest    printable version
Viewed 1054 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Clareew
photo
Friend of PR
About Clareewstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/12 9:13 AM
Last Updated:7/2/12 5:02 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CTBarb said...
Great fitting pants. And great review. Okay, I'll bite, I have never heard of "pressing out the bias," but my linens always bag. Please tell me!!
6/5/12 9:41 AM
nicegirl said...
Nice job on these pants! That back view shows what a great fit you have. The hidden pocket is so clever.
6/5/12 10:14 AM
Sanibelle said...
I am so impressed with the fit. (And achieving it with an elastic waist!) They look fabulous. Have a wonderful time in Barcelona.
6/5/12 10:19 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great fit Clare, they look very good. The pocket is a nice detail.
6/5/12 11:00 AM
Clareew said...
CTBarb, I couldn't find the link to the Seat Stretch Prevention so I have edited the review include a photo from the S Betzina book.
6/5/12 11:02 AM
kremmer said...
Hello Clare, well done! Thanks for included the tip on seat stretch prevention. So useful!
6/5/12 12:52 PM
allycovey said...
I love the pants and the review, (oh and i love the background ;)
6/5/12 1:25 PM
quathy said...
Nice work, and I love your pocket and other changes. Thanks for the tip about pressing out the bias - I've never heard of that before, and I'm getting ready to make my first linen pants. This will be very helpful!
6/5/12 2:01 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a really nice fit you've got in this pattern. It's a great idea to make it over and over again!
6/5/12 2:02 PM
seamsmith1 said...
I have put in a thigh high side pocket in a "bound buttonhole" opening. I have thought of using an invisible zipper, but didn't think that it could be sewn into a slit in the fabric instead of a seam. Did you cut a horizontal seam on the pants leg?
6/5/12 7:20 PM
Fictionfan said...
Great fit! Nice looking pants and such a clever pocket. Great thing to have when traveling! I forgot about that SB trick. Thanks for the reminder, thanks for the review.
6/5/12 8:03 PM
SquishSews said...
Ditto on all the kudos! Excellent explanations, and my goal is to learn to do all kinds of secret pockets, so your pants are particularly appealing to me.
6/5/12 9:10 PM
Terri A said...
Very nice fitting pants!
6/22/12 10:11 PM
Clareew said...
Masd, there is a seam there. It shows better on different version - I will upload a photo later for you to see it better.
6/30/12 3:47 PM
Sew Whatever said...
I seem to need to sign in to see the photos. I would love to see them. Especially the difference that pressing out the bias makes.
7/1/12 5:01 PM
Clareew said...
I have mended the photo links, please let me know if there are any more problems.
7/2/12 6:47 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Love your pants! Fit is wonderful, and how clever to slip in a hidden pocket. Very helpful review!
7/2/12 8:22 AM
woggy said...
love your pants and oh what a cute, cute dog!
7/2/12 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Jalie 2449 Crossover Top
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 5/23/07
Read Review

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns OOP 9387
photo
Review by Marji on 11/13/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1557 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1557 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us