SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1878 (Lisette Diplomat Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 830 times 
Reviewed by:susank
photo

 
 
About susank
PA USA
Member since: 1/26/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/12 9:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
horrocl said... (6/11/14 8:08 PM) Reply
I love how the dress looks on you. Love your choice of fabric and I think adding the extra inches to the knee made it look even better. I don't see how anyone could go amiss with this pattern. Flattering design with any height.
writer04 said... (6/7/13 9:13 PM) Reply
I've had this pattern for a little while but haven't gotten around to making it yet. I'm going fabric shopping soon, and I think I'll try to find something for it. Your version looks great! I love the print too!
MissMaddiePi said... (5/1/13 10:37 AM) Reply
Beautiful! Both the dress and you in it! Thanks so much for the helpful tips and observations in your review - I'm most appreciative. WOW that fabric... I'm going to be thinking about it all day - seems like a good pattern so show off some great fabric.
MissMaddiePi said... (11/26/12 1:56 PM) Reply
This looks great on you! LOVE the print. The detailing is really fantastic - thanks for link to your blog. I've had this pattern for a while, and was having a hard time visualizing it and what fabric to use - but now I can definitely see that it will be perfect to show off a large floral wallpaper-y cotton print I've been holding on to waiting for the "perfect" pattern. Thanks to your review - and helpful tips - I believe I have found it!
susank said... (6/11/12 12:56 PM) Reply
JTink, the line across the bodice gave me pause at first, but it falls almost like a yoke.
JTink said... (6/10/12 10:51 AM) Reply
Very cute dress. I made up one for display at our Joann Fabrics. Only problem I have with this pattern, the seam in the bodice runs right across the bust. Would be hard for anyone larger than a B to carry it off.
Raye Ann said... (6/9/12 8:56 PM) Reply
great dress and great review! i haven't taken notice of this pattern before, but it's on my list now. the short sleeves are nice!
marec said... (6/9/12 11:22 AM) Reply
Wow, this is a terrific dress. Off to read more about this pattern (as if I need more patterns!).
JEF said... (6/9/12 10:09 AM) Reply
So pretty. Great tips in your review too!
zoe said... (6/8/12 10:59 PM) Reply
Cute dress
Sewncooknmom said... (6/8/12 10:30 PM) Reply
It looks very cute on you. I have this pattern in my ready to be sewn stash. So, I am eager to make it.
momsurfing said... (6/8/12 9:36 PM) Reply
i made and love this pattern too. nice fabric.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Violette Field Threads Stella

photo
by: busymomof3

Review
Other My Childhood Treasures

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Pattern Details
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Pattern Details