SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2690 (Swimsuit)

7 more reviews
Viewed 362 times 
Reviewed by:lovenicky
photo

 
 
About lovenickystar
CANADA
Member since: 5/1/08
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/12 10:42 PM
Last Updated:6/10/12 10:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Your clarification is greatly appreciated! :)
6/13/12 7:19 PM
lovenicky said...
To persevering: Yes you are right. I treated it like an interlining.
6/13/12 1:33 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your explanation ... however I've read it several times and am still not clear ... are you using the lining sort of like interlining, that is treating the 2 layers like 1, then sewing their side seams together?
6/13/12 1:38 AM
olybinewski said...
Beautiful job! And THANK YOU for posting a pic of you in the suit... can't express how much that is appreciated. I really like the style and the line drawing didn't give me the impression it could look like this. Lovely work.
6/11/12 3:43 PM
JEF said...
Excellent suit!
6/11/12 2:08 PM
lovenicky said...
Thanks ladies for your comments! To:persevering - I just sewed the front body and the back together for both the lining and the outside part, then machine basted those pieces together before joining the bodice part to the whole thing. Then I sewed the side seams together. After that I added the elastics to the top edge, and the leg holes. Because I had 2 layers of fabric together, it made it a bit more troublesome to zig-zag the elastic onto the leg holes. If you look inside the suit you'll see how messy the leg holes are. At the end I applied the straps and adjust it to my liking. That's all! Hope this helps!
6/11/12 12:55 PM
sewmaris said...
Nice job! I made a couple of million swimsuits when my youngest daughter was on swim team. Once you learn to manage the fashion fabric, lining, and elastic, the actual construction is easy and quick. Looks great on you - a perfect style for you - I hope you enjoy wearing it!
6/11/12 11:33 AM
kittykate said...
Nice job!
6/11/12 11:19 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Very Nice, you did a great job.
6/11/12 9:33 AM
persevering said...
Awesome! Congratulations! Can you please advise me regarding your lining? I read that you used the same fabric ... Can you tell me did you just sew the 2 layers as 1 or what? (My own UFO cut out swimsuit has been lying in a box for a long time and would really like to get on with it. So your reply can really help me.) Thank you.
6/11/12 9:31 AM
canei said...
Very nice!!! Looks great on you.
6/11/12 8:52 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Wow! looks very professional and what a great fit!
6/11/12 2:36 AM
LynnRowe said...
CONGRATS to you!!! Nope, you will never need to bother with RTW swimsuits ever again! Yours looks fabulous, way to go!
6/11/12 0:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 0000

photo
by: Terri A

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

More Info
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

More Info