Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2690 (Swimsuit) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 354 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:lovenicky
photo
About lovenickystar
CANADA
Member since: 5/1/08
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/12 10:42 PM
Last Updated:6/10/12 10:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnRowe said...
CONGRATS to you!!! Nope, you will never need to bother with RTW swimsuits ever again! Yours looks fabulous, way to go!
6/11/12 0:14 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Wow! looks very professional and what a great fit!
6/11/12 2:36 AM
canei said...
Very nice!!! Looks great on you.
6/11/12 8:52 AM
persevering said...
Awesome! Congratulations! Can you please advise me regarding your lining? I read that you used the same fabric ... Can you tell me did you just sew the 2 layers as 1 or what? (My own UFO cut out swimsuit has been lying in a box for a long time and would really like to get on with it. So your reply can really help me.) Thank you.
6/11/12 9:31 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Very Nice, you did a great job.
6/11/12 9:33 AM
kittykate said...
Nice job!
6/11/12 11:19 AM
sewmaris said...
Nice job! I made a couple of million swimsuits when my youngest daughter was on swim team. Once you learn to manage the fashion fabric, lining, and elastic, the actual construction is easy and quick. Looks great on you - a perfect style for you - I hope you enjoy wearing it!
6/11/12 11:33 AM
lovenicky said...
Thanks ladies for your comments! To:persevering - I just sewed the front body and the back together for both the lining and the outside part, then machine basted those pieces together before joining the bodice part to the whole thing. Then I sewed the side seams together. After that I added the elastics to the top edge, and the leg holes. Because I had 2 layers of fabric together, it made it a bit more troublesome to zig-zag the elastic onto the leg holes. If you look inside the suit you'll see how messy the leg holes are. At the end I applied the straps and adjust it to my liking. That's all! Hope this helps!
6/11/12 12:55 PM
JEF said...
Excellent suit!
6/11/12 2:08 PM
olybinewski said...
Beautiful job! And THANK YOU for posting a pic of you in the suit... can't express how much that is appreciated. I really like the style and the line drawing didn't give me the impression it could look like this. Lovely work.
6/11/12 3:43 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your explanation ... however I've read it several times and am still not clear ... are you using the lining sort of like interlining, that is treating the 2 layers like 1, then sewing their side seams together?
6/13/12 1:38 AM
lovenicky said...
To persevering: Yes you are right. I treated it like an interlining.
6/13/12 1:33 PM
persevering said...
Your clarification is greatly appreciated! :)
6/13/12 7:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used none body pillow
photo
Review by maria 6705 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3830
photo
Review by Happy go l... on 6/26/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )
Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us