SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2690 (Swimsuit)

7 more reviews
Viewed 359 times 
Reviewed by:lovenicky
photo

 
 
About lovenickystar
CANADA
Member since: 5/1/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/12 10:42 PM
Last Updated:6/10/12 10:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnRowe said...
CONGRATS to you!!! Nope, you will never need to bother with RTW swimsuits ever again! Yours looks fabulous, way to go!
6/11/12 0:14 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Wow! looks very professional and what a great fit!
6/11/12 2:36 AM
canei said...
Very nice!!! Looks great on you.
6/11/12 8:52 AM
persevering said...
Awesome! Congratulations! Can you please advise me regarding your lining? I read that you used the same fabric ... Can you tell me did you just sew the 2 layers as 1 or what? (My own UFO cut out swimsuit has been lying in a box for a long time and would really like to get on with it. So your reply can really help me.) Thank you.
6/11/12 9:31 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Very Nice, you did a great job.
6/11/12 9:33 AM
kittykate said...
Nice job!
6/11/12 11:19 AM
sewmaris said...
Nice job! I made a couple of million swimsuits when my youngest daughter was on swim team. Once you learn to manage the fashion fabric, lining, and elastic, the actual construction is easy and quick. Looks great on you - a perfect style for you - I hope you enjoy wearing it!
6/11/12 11:33 AM
lovenicky said...
Thanks ladies for your comments! To:persevering - I just sewed the front body and the back together for both the lining and the outside part, then machine basted those pieces together before joining the bodice part to the whole thing. Then I sewed the side seams together. After that I added the elastics to the top edge, and the leg holes. Because I had 2 layers of fabric together, it made it a bit more troublesome to zig-zag the elastic onto the leg holes. If you look inside the suit you'll see how messy the leg holes are. At the end I applied the straps and adjust it to my liking. That's all! Hope this helps!
6/11/12 12:55 PM
JEF said...
Excellent suit!
6/11/12 2:08 PM
olybinewski said...
Beautiful job! And THANK YOU for posting a pic of you in the suit... can't express how much that is appreciated. I really like the style and the line drawing didn't give me the impression it could look like this. Lovely work.
6/11/12 3:43 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your explanation ... however I've read it several times and am still not clear ... are you using the lining sort of like interlining, that is treating the 2 layers like 1, then sewing their side seams together?
6/13/12 1:38 AM
lovenicky said...
To persevering: Yes you are right. I treated it like an interlining.
6/13/12 1:33 PM
persevering said...
Your clarification is greatly appreciated! :)
6/13/12 7:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: aleah42

Review
McCall's 6611

photo
by: Hills98

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now