Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5603 (misses dressRetro '56) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 599 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:thesewinglab
photo
Friend of PR
About thesewinglabstar
AZ USA
Member since: 6/8/12
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/12 5:45 PM
Last Updated:6/11/12 6:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
aquamarineerica said...
I like it! I think you did a great job! Love the way it looks.
6/11/12 8:21 PM
BrendaJoyce said...
I love the retro look and will have to buy this pattern. I wish more women dressed this way. I think you did a great job.
6/11/12 8:24 PM
Joanna in Western Australia said...
I am just about to make this dress, View B. The problem with the v-neck at the back may be due to your stretchy fabric. Did you interface it - this would keep it more stable. Also did you baste the edge when you turned in the seam allowance in Step 11? I would then baste it to the actual dress before you stitch it to the dress and I would also do the understitching at the neckline to keep it all stable. A walking foot on your machine would help if you have one. Regarding the zip - either remove it entirely and put it in again and place the stopper lower down and lower the stitching on the armpit area. Or undo the stitching on the zip and fold over the top and resew and then lower the armhole stitching on the bodice. I hope this helps and isn't too confusng! I am off to make my version as the skirt looks really nice.
6/12/12 3:44 AM
cobble said...
Very nice & It looks great on you!
6/12/12 6:22 AM
NJcowgirl said...
thank you, Joanna, for giving her helpful advice. The dress is lovely. I know how frustrating it is to be looking for advice/instruction and not finding any so I'm glad Joanna was able to help. I agree with her suggestions.
6/12/12 10:41 AM
sewmaris said...
Pretty dress - love this pattern. I would replace the zipper with an invisible zip - I think they usually look more "RTW". Agree with Joanna's comments about the back "V" - also you might try directional stitching - rather than attempting to pivot at the bottom of the V, reduce your stitch length to 1 as you approach the "dot" and stop right on the dot. Then take the top off the machine, turn it over and stitch down the other side toward the dot in the same way - stopping right where the other stitching stopped. Also clip into the seam allowance right up to (but not thru) the stitching, and trim excess SA away. It will help reduce bulk so the turn looks better. Good luck! Sew Maris
6/12/12 11:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6696
photo
Review by littlepink... on 1/17/14
Read Review

McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6613
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us