SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V2958 OOP (DKNY)

Viewed 314 times 
Reviewed by:Renata
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Renatastar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/9/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/12 7:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said...
Great jacket, Renata, and beautifully stitched. I love the fabric, too. Isn't it amazing how long it takes us to get around to sewing things we really want. Good to see that garment-a-month thing is working. :-)
7/14/12 3:51 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I'm so glad to see this jacket reviewed! I've got the pattern, but have never made it. However, I really like the BIG pockets and the loose fit. This is exactly what I like when taking my dogs out, because it's so easy to layer underneath it. Also, that's my FAVORITE kind of collar/stand. You have my ADMIRATION for all of that topstitching in such a heavy fabric. It looks FABULOUS!
7/1/12 2:20 AM
antiquelvr56 said...
Wow! This jacket is fabulous!! I loved it so much I couldn't rest until I tracked down the pattern. And, I happen to have some corduroy just like it, same color too. You did a wonderful job on it. Thanks for the great review.
6/13/12 7:19 PM
lesliez said...
Fantastic jacket! I've had this pattern in my stash forever, and like you have been searching for the right fabric. I think I found it, now need to get the zippers. I love your version in corduroy. You've inspired me to get going on this one.
6/13/12 10:28 AM
Sharonspils said...
Wow Renta that is a gorgeous jacket and it has some wonderful extras that you don't see too much of. Perfect for our Industry Day.
6/13/12 3:26 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful jacket - I agree with you about the opportunity to purchase more time
6/13/12 3:00 AM
velosewer said...
Love the jacket Renata. It's really lovely and more so in real life.
6/13/12 0:15 AM
cocosloft said...
Love this, such interesting details, so many pockets, I feel like crawling around it and finding all the goodies! This is a great pattern and your work is beautiful.
6/12/12 8:51 PM
TJSEWS said...
What a beautiful jacket!
6/12/12 8:27 PM
Renata said...
Thanks for all the compliments, ladies. As with all of us, we have our favourite techniques, mine is topstitching. I think it is actually bordering on OCD. I still have so much to learn, eg invisible zips and welts. And it also depends on having a good pattern and following all the dots and dashes, and also thanks to Goosegreen, having the right feet. Thanks again.
6/12/12 6:57 PM
Maree P said...
You are such a skilled sewer Renata...great jacket...I love corduroy.
6/12/12 6:38 PM
margk said...
So glad this turned out so beautifully! Enjoy!
6/12/12 6:31 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous jacket and a great review Renata! That corduroy is perfect for that jacket and your top stitching was worth all the angst!
6/12/12 5:52 PM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous Renata, beautifully sewn, great details and a perfect coat for the cold weather we are getting!
6/12/12 5:51 PM
goosegreen said...
I love this jacket as you know. Can you leave it to me in your will?? ;)
6/12/12 5:28 PM
RLL said...
I agree, what a great coat and a beautiful sewing job.
6/12/12 12:59 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful work - my kind of jacket because like you I love to be able to add layers as the weather changes to colder and colder
6/12/12 11:14 AM
sewmaris said...
Renata - thanks for the tip about the topstitching. I have this pattern in my stash too, and still have the original denim I bought for it! You have inspired me - maybe it will get done! Good to know how much I should "size down" as well. It looks great on you - good job getting it done and great review - thanks! And do let me know if you find time for sale anywhere - I am in desperate need as well! Sew Maris
6/12/12 11:09 AM
regine said...
Your jacket is gorgeous, a perfect every day coat to wear over winter clothes, beautiful work.
6/12/12 8:30 AM
Fictionfan said...
Very nice 3-season coat! I'm glad to see a review of a well-aged pattern. Thanks for all the detail photos.
6/12/12 8:15 AM
mm said...
What a wonderful coat. Fabulous sewing. It looks great.
6/12/12 7:57 AM
blue mooney said...
This looks great! So easy to wear, too. I don't have this pattern, but you sure gave lots of inspiration in your review.
6/12/12 7:45 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Oh my...that jacket is spectacular! just LOOK at the details. Beautiful work, Renata - can't wait to see it IRL!
6/12/12 7:26 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a great job you did on this coat! Wonderful review too!
6/12/12 7:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

More Info
Cutting Line Designs 62612

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review