Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8795 (Marcy Tilton Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1471 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/12 11:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for the tips and details about your pattern alterations. Well worth it as the end result is just magic :)
6/12/12 11:06 PM
Jrhee said...
This is gorgeous as you've sewn it! Your fitting alterations make all the difference.
6/12/12 11:11 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely jacket!
6/12/12 11:30 PM
Fictionfan said...
You've articulated exactly what it is that I don't like about Marci Tilton's designs. If you are stick thin and need all that looseness and bulk to have some shape (like those mannequins her designs are always displayed on), the patterns will probably fit right out of the package. Your jacket is how I'd want mine to fit. It is perfect! If I take the plunge and try one of her patterns, I will definitely refer to your review. Thanks for doing all the work of fitting it for me and for all the details! Great review!!
6/12/12 11:35 PM
velosewer said...
Yay. You conquered this pattern. Nice jacket.
6/13/12 0:14 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous jacket !!! I am guessing the jacket would be much warmer with a closer fit too. Thanks for your great review Belinda :)
6/13/12 1:43 AM
Lilibet said...
Fabulous result. Your comments are very helpful as this is next on my sewing list.
6/13/12 2:57 AM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning jacket and your fitting alterations make it a very smart jacket that has some wonderful lines.
6/13/12 3:17 AM
KaSchu said...
I have never cared for Marcy Tilton's designs and would never have been tempted by the original pattern. Your alterations have made a beautiful jacket and one that I would love to make. Thank you for your great review.
6/13/12 3:28 AM
Skye said...
Beautiful jacket
6/13/12 4:20 AM
pdiddly said...
love it
6/13/12 5:13 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Beautiful work! Thanks for all the details re: how you made this pattern work for you!
6/13/12 6:22 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for such a thorough review. Your jacket turned out beautifully and I appreciate all your notes on the sizing.
6/13/12 6:39 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket with amazing trim. Your changes made a world of difference in the jacket's fitting outcome. Great job.
6/13/12 8:21 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Nicely done! The fit is perfect and the jacket looks great on you! Thanks for the review.
6/13/12 8:43 AM
marthamyers said...
Great jacket and very informative review. Your result looks wonderful.
6/13/12 8:45 AM
KBT Sewer said...
Thanks for a wonderful review. I agree with your comments about Marci Tilton's designs--they are very shapeless and not particularly flattering--well, not on me. I'd looked at this pattern, then decided not to buy it, but your review has sparked my interest again. You've certainly made a wonderful jacket, far nicer than the original.
6/13/12 8:49 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
That is a beautiful jacket and I love the closure!
6/13/12 9:20 AM
Bobbi A said...
Your jacket looks absolutely beautiful. I really appreciate your review and notes of all the alterations you made, since I have another of Marci Tilton's jacket patterns in my stash. This will give me confidence and a jumping-off point for my own project. Thank you!
6/13/12 9:32 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket! Great job on the fitting. I love your changes.
6/13/12 9:49 AM
marec said...
This is so lovely! The changes you made to get the fit you desired are so smart-and the jacket in boiled wool is very professional looking. As an aside, I am impressed that the first two reviews of this pattern resulted in 2 very different styles. Your jacket is really superb!
6/13/12 10:18 AM
LynnRowe said...
Terrific re-design of the pattern! (Wish Vogue would hire you and others like yourself, and kick the current pattern drafters to the curb!) LOVE your jacket!
6/13/12 10:23 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
That is a great looking jacket. Worth all the changes you had to make!
6/13/12 11:06 AM
barbcl said...
A gorgeous jacket, and your changes make the difference.
6/13/12 11:21 AM
hme75 said...
What a beautiful jacket. Your changes make it perfect!
6/13/12 1:14 PM
JaniceCB said...
Thanks so very much for this excellent review! I will making this soon and will certainly use your alterations.
6/13/12 1:37 PM
LynnG said...
Great looking jacket!
6/13/12 2:10 PM
Clareew said...
Brilliant review. Great timing for me, I have this on my next to be done pile. Thank you for your tips and ideas, what is the buttito method please?
6/13/12 3:58 PM
Rhoda K said...
As always, a beautiful jacket and informative review. Also, ditto what everyone else said ;-)
6/13/12 5:21 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Oh wow! I can't wait to read your blog post on the jacket!
6/13/12 6:28 PM
Knitz said...
Adding my voice to the chorus -- it may have been a lot of extra adaptation, but it looks great on you!
6/13/12 7:25 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Clareew, the burrito method is a method I've seen both in David Coffin's Shirtmaking book and Sandra Betzina's Power Sewing book. The method involves rolling the garment inside the collar, like a burrito, helping to reduce the bulk at the front edge of the collar. Hard to explain but it gives professional results. HTH
6/13/12 8:12 PM
Elke said...
Lovely jacket and it looks very stylish on you! Your photos are very helpful. Thanks for a great review!
6/13/12 10:30 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thank you so much for the pattern comparison photos of your alterations. While I probably won't tackle this jacket, I am finally learning that the reason I have made so many unflattering garments is due to poor fit( too large) in the shoulders, neck, and sleeves. I have started to make alterations and it is great to see your examples reiterating my instincts! I consider you as much of an authority as any reference book.
6/13/12 11:41 PM
Gendun said...
Truly gorgeous! Thanks for the informative, detailed review and for the inspiration! :)
6/20/12 12:05 PM
JillyBe said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! Excellent review too; I'll be referring to it when I make up my version; thank you :)
6/21/12 5:59 AM
JillyBe said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! Excellent review too; I'll be referring to it when I make up my version; thank you :)
6/21/12 5:59 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Excellent review.
1/16/13 6:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 2132
photo
Review by Sister of ... on 12/5/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2648
photo
Review by aburlock on 3/11/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us