SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8795 (Marcy Tilton Jacket)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1540 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/12 11:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Excellent review.
1/16/13 6:06 PM
JillyBe said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! Excellent review too; I'll be referring to it when I make up my version; thank you :)
6/21/12 5:59 AM
JillyBe said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! Excellent review too; I'll be referring to it when I make up my version; thank you :)
6/21/12 5:59 AM
Gendun said...
Truly gorgeous! Thanks for the informative, detailed review and for the inspiration! :)
6/20/12 12:05 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thank you so much for the pattern comparison photos of your alterations. While I probably won't tackle this jacket, I am finally learning that the reason I have made so many unflattering garments is due to poor fit( too large) in the shoulders, neck, and sleeves. I have started to make alterations and it is great to see your examples reiterating my instincts! I consider you as much of an authority as any reference book.
6/13/12 11:41 PM
Elke said...
Lovely jacket and it looks very stylish on you! Your photos are very helpful. Thanks for a great review!
6/13/12 10:30 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Clareew, the burrito method is a method I've seen both in David Coffin's Shirtmaking book and Sandra Betzina's Power Sewing book. The method involves rolling the garment inside the collar, like a burrito, helping to reduce the bulk at the front edge of the collar. Hard to explain but it gives professional results. HTH
6/13/12 8:12 PM
Knitz said...
Adding my voice to the chorus -- it may have been a lot of extra adaptation, but it looks great on you!
6/13/12 7:25 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Oh wow! I can't wait to read your blog post on the jacket!
6/13/12 6:28 PM
Rhoda K said...
As always, a beautiful jacket and informative review. Also, ditto what everyone else said ;-)
6/13/12 5:21 PM
Clareew said...
Brilliant review. Great timing for me, I have this on my next to be done pile. Thank you for your tips and ideas, what is the buttito method please?
6/13/12 3:58 PM
LynnG said...
Great looking jacket!
6/13/12 2:10 PM
JaniceCB said...
Thanks so very much for this excellent review! I will making this soon and will certainly use your alterations.
6/13/12 1:37 PM
hme75 said...
What a beautiful jacket. Your changes make it perfect!
6/13/12 1:14 PM
barbcl said...
A gorgeous jacket, and your changes make the difference.
6/13/12 11:21 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
That is a great looking jacket. Worth all the changes you had to make!
6/13/12 11:06 AM
LynnRowe said...
Terrific re-design of the pattern! (Wish Vogue would hire you and others like yourself, and kick the current pattern drafters to the curb!) LOVE your jacket!
6/13/12 10:23 AM
marec said...
This is so lovely! The changes you made to get the fit you desired are so smart-and the jacket in boiled wool is very professional looking. As an aside, I am impressed that the first two reviews of this pattern resulted in 2 very different styles. Your jacket is really superb!
6/13/12 10:18 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket! Great job on the fitting. I love your changes.
6/13/12 9:49 AM
Bobbi A said...
Your jacket looks absolutely beautiful. I really appreciate your review and notes of all the alterations you made, since I have another of Marci Tilton's jacket patterns in my stash. This will give me confidence and a jumping-off point for my own project. Thank you!
6/13/12 9:32 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
That is a beautiful jacket and I love the closure!
6/13/12 9:20 AM
KBT Sewer said...
Thanks for a wonderful review. I agree with your comments about Marci Tilton's designs--they are very shapeless and not particularly flattering--well, not on me. I'd looked at this pattern, then decided not to buy it, but your review has sparked my interest again. You've certainly made a wonderful jacket, far nicer than the original.
6/13/12 8:49 AM
marthamyers said...
Great jacket and very informative review. Your result looks wonderful.
6/13/12 8:45 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Nicely done! The fit is perfect and the jacket looks great on you! Thanks for the review.
6/13/12 8:43 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket with amazing trim. Your changes made a world of difference in the jacket's fitting outcome. Great job.
6/13/12 8:21 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for such a thorough review. Your jacket turned out beautifully and I appreciate all your notes on the sizing.
6/13/12 6:39 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Beautiful work! Thanks for all the details re: how you made this pattern work for you!
6/13/12 6:22 AM
pdiddly said...
love it
6/13/12 5:13 AM
Skye said...
Beautiful jacket
6/13/12 4:20 AM
KaSchu said...
I have never cared for Marcy Tilton's designs and would never have been tempted by the original pattern. Your alterations have made a beautiful jacket and one that I would love to make. Thank you for your great review.
6/13/12 3:28 AM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning jacket and your fitting alterations make it a very smart jacket that has some wonderful lines.
6/13/12 3:17 AM
Lilibet said...
Fabulous result. Your comments are very helpful as this is next on my sewing list.
6/13/12 2:57 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous jacket !!! I am guessing the jacket would be much warmer with a closer fit too. Thanks for your great review Belinda :)
6/13/12 1:43 AM
velosewer said...
Yay. You conquered this pattern. Nice jacket.
6/13/12 0:14 AM
Fictionfan said...
You've articulated exactly what it is that I don't like about Marci Tilton's designs. If you are stick thin and need all that looseness and bulk to have some shape (like those mannequins her designs are always displayed on), the patterns will probably fit right out of the package. Your jacket is how I'd want mine to fit. It is perfect! If I take the plunge and try one of her patterns, I will definitely refer to your review. Thanks for doing all the work of fitting it for me and for all the details! Great review!!
6/12/12 11:35 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely jacket!
6/12/12 11:30 PM
Jrhee said...
This is gorgeous as you've sewn it! Your fitting alterations make all the difference.
6/12/12 11:11 PM
Dilliander said...
Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for the tips and details about your pattern alterations. Well worth it as the end result is just magic :)
6/12/12 11:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info