SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6554 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 874 times 
Reviewed by:MissMarnie
photo

 
 
About MissMarniestarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/9/11
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/12 8:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AppleGirl said...
Fabulous. Love the fabric choice & boots. Great job! Going with some Hello Kitty fabric myself.
2/1/13 3:51 PM
bethvanduzer said...
Love your dress - and your fabric. I have some Dalek fabric I am using to make curtains for my husband. After seeing this maybe I'll pick up some tardis fabric & make a version out of that.
7/29/12 10:40 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is just so perfect!!! Great idea to halve the belt and stitch into the side seams.
6/21/12 4:24 PM
KimchiDesigns said...
I bought this pattern a while ago but your version has me excited to make it!
6/21/12 1:49 AM
Terri A said...
Super CUTE!
6/21/12 0:56 AM
MonaNicLeoid said...
The fabric is awesome! You don't have to justify it to anyone. We need more Star Wars dresses in this world! Also, I am very grateful for this review because I've been eyeing this pattern but wasn't sure how it would look on me. Your body shape is not unlike my own, so this is very helpful.
6/19/12 4:38 PM
norie creates said...
How cute and fun is this!
6/18/12 7:25 PM
DDisciplines said...
I love the fabric! The Empire Waist Strikes Back is the perfect name. Good job!
6/18/12 12:29 PM
rdlamb said...
I love this!! The dress, the boots, the hair... everything! You have totally inspired me to go get that crazy skull-print fabric I've been eyeing and go for it.
6/18/12 11:47 AM
MissMarnie said...
2 Airedales n Me, I didn't like the belt as designed because it won't stay secured at the empire waist without something to hold it in place but there are no belt loops, snaps or tacks to hold the belt in place. Sewn this way, it stays right at the seam between the bodice and skirt.
6/18/12 11:46 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
So glad you made your dress a little below the knee because that's where I plan to make mine....and wasn't sure what it would look like. VERY cute dress on you! The fabric is unexpected and FUN. Nice to know quilting cotton might be a bit stiff - will keep that in mind. Can you describe what you didn't like about the belt the way it was designed? Thanks for the helpful review.
6/18/12 11:18 AM
grays08 said...
Thanks for the review (this is in my queue so wondering how it sewed up) and great dress. The fabric is the best way to make it your own so if it makes you happy - go for it! = )
6/18/12 9:21 AM
tigergirl said...
Great dress!
6/18/12 7:58 AM
prttynpnk said...
Jealous. So jealous. I want live where nerdchic is approved. Love your dress!
6/18/12 7:31 AM
lynny said...
Your dress looks terrific on you, such a fun fabric too.
6/18/12 3:06 AM
snowflake0703 said...
I think you look great. Who cares what the fabric is, sometimes you just need tohave a little fun with the fabric and go with it. I used Patriot NFL fabric for a dress and it is one of mh favorite dresses.
6/17/12 9:58 PM
hme75 said...
Hair + Dress = Awesome :)
6/17/12 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

More Info