SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6554 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

10 more reviews
Viewed 856 times 
Reviewed by:MissMarnie
photo

 
 
About MissMarniestarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/9/11
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/12 8:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hme75 said...
Hair + Dress = Awesome :)
6/17/12 9:03 PM
snowflake0703 said...
I think you look great. Who cares what the fabric is, sometimes you just need tohave a little fun with the fabric and go with it. I used Patriot NFL fabric for a dress and it is one of mh favorite dresses.
6/17/12 9:58 PM
lynny said...
Your dress looks terrific on you, such a fun fabric too.
6/18/12 3:06 AM
prttynpnk said...
Jealous. So jealous. I want live where nerdchic is approved. Love your dress!
6/18/12 7:31 AM
tigergirl said...
Great dress!
6/18/12 7:58 AM
grays08 said...
Thanks for the review (this is in my queue so wondering how it sewed up) and great dress. The fabric is the best way to make it your own so if it makes you happy - go for it! = )
6/18/12 9:21 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
So glad you made your dress a little below the knee because that's where I plan to make mine....and wasn't sure what it would look like. VERY cute dress on you! The fabric is unexpected and FUN. Nice to know quilting cotton might be a bit stiff - will keep that in mind. Can you describe what you didn't like about the belt the way it was designed? Thanks for the helpful review.
6/18/12 11:18 AM
MissMarnie said...
2 Airedales n Me, I didn't like the belt as designed because it won't stay secured at the empire waist without something to hold it in place but there are no belt loops, snaps or tacks to hold the belt in place. Sewn this way, it stays right at the seam between the bodice and skirt.
6/18/12 11:46 AM
rdlamb said...
I love this!! The dress, the boots, the hair... everything! You have totally inspired me to go get that crazy skull-print fabric I've been eyeing and go for it.
6/18/12 11:47 AM
DDisciplines said...
I love the fabric! The Empire Waist Strikes Back is the perfect name. Good job!
6/18/12 12:29 PM
norie creates said...
How cute and fun is this!
6/18/12 7:25 PM
MonaNicLeoid said...
The fabric is awesome! You don't have to justify it to anyone. We need more Star Wars dresses in this world! Also, I am very grateful for this review because I've been eyeing this pattern but wasn't sure how it would look on me. Your body shape is not unlike my own, so this is very helpful.
6/19/12 4:38 PM
Terri A said...
Super CUTE!
6/21/12 0:56 AM
KimchiDesigns said...
I bought this pattern a while ago but your version has me excited to make it!
6/21/12 1:49 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is just so perfect!!! Great idea to halve the belt and stitch into the side seams.
6/21/12 4:24 PM
bethvanduzer said...
Love your dress - and your fabric. I have some Dalek fabric I am using to make curtains for my husband. After seeing this maybe I'll pick up some tardis fabric & make a version out of that.
7/29/12 10:40 AM
AppleGirl said...
Fabulous. Love the fabric choice & boots. Great job! Going with some Hello Kitty fabric myself.
2/1/13 3:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now