SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5545 (Children's/Girls' Leotard, Skirt, Bag and Ponytail Holder)

2 more reviews
Viewed 146 times 
Reviewed by:Courtney Ostaff
photo

 
 
About Courtney Ostaff
WV USA
Member since: 11/23/10
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/12 3:13 PM
Last Updated:7/23/12 8:58 PM




Buy Pattern
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Courtney Ostaff said...
Thanks for the great tips!! I'm about *this* close to buying a new pattern, though my alterations seem to work well.
7/25/12 10:24 AM
Stargirl7 said...
This blog has tons of tips for sewing swimsuits, which are exactly the same as leotards. Well worth reading all of her posts about it.

A tip for the leg openings: You want to use elastic at about a 1:1 ratio with the seamline for the front, but in the back you want to pull the elastic tighter - that is, use less elastic than fabric - so that the leo will cup under the bottom and stay there. Thus your elastic should be shorter than the opening. The 1:1 on the front part will gather up a bit when you turn it up.

I don't know what this pattern is thinking with the neck finishes. Commercial leos have elastic at the neckline just like the legs. Tank-style leos have elastic at the armhole as well, which allows the leo to move with the body without gaping. (If a leo has sleeves, they are usually hemmed like a knit shirt would be.) I'd adjust the neckline on your pattern to make it wide enough to go over the wearer's head. As a previous poster said, commercial leos often have a lower back, in part to allow for this. My daughter prefers leos with a higher neck, as then the neckline is sure to stay high enough even when stretching.

In future, I *highly* recommend the Kwik Sew patterns for dance and swim wear. They give all the details you need to produce an excellent product.

I love the fabric you chose! And it's so nice to learn to sew leos and swim gear. They take such a small amount of fabric, and you can make them to fit exactly! Little girls love having "one of a kind", "custom-made" creations! How great that your daughter has a mom who can do this for her!

I have also found that dancewear can make great gifts. For very little time and money, I can make "custom" dance shorts and ballet skirts that are beautiful, fit well, and are very much appreciated by the recipient.
7/24/12 1:30 PM
wildbluestarz said...
My LO (boy) had a similar problem with the Jalie biketard pattern for gymnastics. I just put it on him slowly and try not to over stretch it. I think it is a design issue if we had the same problems with two different brand patterns. A lot of the girl style have a lower back line and I think that helps with that opening/head issue.
7/23/12 9:44 PM
Courtney Ostaff said...
No, I didn't add elastic. It said to use bias tape to stiffen the seam, so I did. My main problem is that she has trouble getting it on, because the neck opening isn't big enough. I'm not sure if I should zig-zag that as well -- but it wouldn't look so hot, I don't think. I just turned under the first one, as per directions. I lined the second one, so it was pretty, but again, she had trouble getting it on. Maybe elastic thread?
6/21/12 3:56 PM
Judy Kski said...
When I sew, I never go for the fastest time record. For me it's therapeautic and racing would just cause a lot of stress. Did you happen to add elastic at the neckline and armscyes? I can't really tell from the photo, but for a leotard, the armscye fabric extends out onto the shoulder too far. By the way, I never understood why the Big 4 used casings for swimsuits and leotards instead of the Kwik Sew and Stretch & Sew methods. Zig-zagging or serging the elastic to the inside of the opening and then flipping it under and topstitching it is a whole lot easier and makes for a much cleaner finish. You see the KS & S & S methods down in RTW swimsuits and leotards all the time. Good luck with your future leotards. Remember to slow down and enjoy the journey.
6/21/12 0:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

More Info
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

More Info
No Pattern Used Shirred Maxi Dress

photo
by: Deepika

Review