Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9769 (Civil War Undergarments) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 141 times 30 more reviews
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/12 8:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jrhee said...
Hi - I love these, and I love your blog! I'm currently making Simplicity 2881 for a friend - a pattern for a Civil War gown. Actually, she needs a costume for the White Queen from Alice in Wonderland, and we'll modify it accordingly. I'd be interested in seeing your bustle when you are done with it!
6/23/12 8:29 PM
marec said...
wow, very interesting. I had no idea, but having that open makes sense. You are the best GF to your GF to do all that sewing!
6/24/12 1:34 AM
Kem P. said...
I have done a bit of historical costuming, but no drawers yet. These are historically correct, the fullness that you talk about is necessary, since the crotch seam is open for ease of going to the facilities when wearing a corset. Normal modern underwear would be difficult to pull up and down, so the drawers make it easier to go. I am a bit concerned at the lack of fullness in these which conceals the open seam...I hope your friend is wearing something under these to avoid exposure. ;) Nice job on them though, you have inspired me to make my own pair!
9/23/13 12:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2642
photo
Review by anncie1 on 7/30/12
Read Review

Vogue 8846 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8846 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3988 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3988 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-109
photo
Review by KateS on 2/8/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us