SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5391 (Misses Shorts)

29 more reviews
Viewed 242 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Gaskamp
photo

 
 
About Lisa Gaskampstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/12 8:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shayedknits said...
Cute shorts! I just made these and was annoyed at the left hand zip too! Also that the pockets sag-they definitely need some support. I think I will look at the Sewaholic pattern you recommended! Thanks!
7/12/12 11:48 AM
Lisa Gaskamp said...
thanks! i think i'm switching to the sewaholic pattern (which i just received in the mail!!!) more on principal than anything else. plus they're drafted and constructed like a traditional pair of trousers that can be altered at the back seam to make fitting a little easier.
6/28/12 6:40 PM
MNBarb said...
I agree with you on all accounts. There should always be welt pockets included in the pattern, if for no other reason, placement. It's difficult to get them in the right spot! Also, who ever heard of no fly facing? I don't think people are afraid of pants construction, it's pants fitting that makes sewist quake. The Sewaholic pattern might be good for you if you consider youreself a pear but it will be difficult to top how great you look in these shorts. Very upscale looking!
6/28/12 1:56 PM
Lisa Gaskamp said...
thanks! yeah, i don't get the left hand fly zip! since the left and right pattern pieces were the same i just switched it to go the right way. weird though! and i do follow sallieoh--she has great info on pants!
6/28/12 0:11 AM
Legal.Dealer said...
Nice welts! Yes, what is with left hand fly zips? I was on a rant just last week about that, I had all the ladies at the sewing event comparing their left or right flys! I found a great tut on doing a right hand At sallieoh.blogspot.com. All my pant and shorts patterns are left hand flys, it's like the pattern companies want our stuff to look homey.
6/27/12 10:06 PM
khurtdvm said...
Your shorts look really nice!
6/27/12 9:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

New Look 6108

photo
by: imserious2...

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now