SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> West End (West End Top and Pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 418 times 
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/12 12:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
I am sorry you had a disappointing experience. Thanks for a useful review.
9/26/12 5:00 AM
sfshaza said...
Yes, those are definitely far too large for you. But I also agree that, with alterations, these could be a winner. Thanks for your honest review.
7/24/12 11:43 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
It is too bad about the pants. I have found that many of the latest Sewing Workshop bottoms have way too much fabric around the waist for my figure, and must be altered significantly. That said, there are figure types for which they are absolutely stunning, and slimming. For me, large hips, small waist: I find that adding darts and an invisible zipper with a way less gathered elastic waist is what suits me best. Thank you for being the brave guinea pig for this pattern.
7/2/12 11:03 AM
Karine said...
Sorry these didn't live up to your expectations. I do appreciate your review, however. You'll save many of us lots of grief, I'm sure. I like the idea of using the Urban pants waistband. Can't wait to see your creation of the West End top. From the pattern, it looks like it's got lots of potential.
7/2/12 10:45 AM
blue mooney said...
You must be the first one off the mark with this pattern! Thanks for posting a very helpful and honest review.
6/30/12 12:57 PM
DorothyK said...
What a disappointment. I'm always wary about elastic waists because of the gathering in the tummy area. I think your planned changes will really help. I hope you repost this when you finish the altered version.
6/30/12 9:49 AM
Barbara V said...
Sorry for your disappointment on these pants that appear to be promising on the pattern envelope and description. I'm thinking with changes to a flat front waistband as you mention, shortened length and more fitted, these could move possibly towards the "favorites" list. Thanks for your review which will help future sewists of these pants. It's a cute ensemble pattern - wish I had it. Good luck with the "rip, rip" thing!
6/29/12 6:06 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
I like the pants and they look very comfy!
6/29/12 3:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Burda 4239

photo
by: Oopsy-Dais...

Review
brerrabbit.com 0000

photo
by: ThreadsofF...

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now