SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Karen Walk Short (Karen Walk Short)

2 more reviews
Viewed 450 times 
Reviewed by:cleverkitty
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cleverkittystarstarstar
OH United States
Member since: 8/22/07
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/12 4:55 PM
Last Updated:7/5/12 5:35 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your shorts are fabulous! I've sewn Style Arc patterns several times and love the fit but crave more detailed instructions. Your details are very impressive.
7/8/12 8:23 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for taking time to review these shorts with such detail. This will be a great reference for all of us who have not ventured into Style Arc territory. All of the photos made the review like a sew-alongs. I LOVE visuals. You were obviously up for the challenge and, I agree, that you need to show off your toned summer legs. Kudos!
7/7/12 12:27 PM
ArtAttack said...
Really cute shorts and great review!
7/6/12 4:43 PM
Kathy7661 said...
Very nice looking pair of shorts. You look great in them and did a wonderful job. Thanks for the great review!
7/6/12 9:14 AM
JEF said...
You made such a wonderfully crafted pair of shorts. Lovely.
7/6/12 9:03 AM
Knitz said...
Not to take away from your complaints, but it's worth noting that not only is the pattern terminology used Australian, but it is also more industry standard, rather than home sewing. I've scratched my head a few times too, but there is info on the website re terms used, plus they are amazingly helpful with any questions you might have. You are correct that instructions are brief and to the point, but when all is said and done you have a nice fitting pair of shorts.
7/5/12 11:33 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful job on your shorts inspite of weaknesses in pattern instructions. Your execution of all details are wonderful. Love those welt pockets! Great fit!
7/5/12 8:53 PM
Cre8tv said...
Beautiful and very helpful review! So thorough with all the comments and pictures! Please upgrade your sewing skills to'advanced'-- you overcame challenges and added details that made this project beautiful.
7/5/12 8:30 PM
SewWil said...
Great job overcoming the pattern shortfalls. Your shorts look so professional and are flattering on you. Love the color.
7/5/12 8:23 PM
khurl said...
I have this pattern but haven't made it yet. You did a really nice job. I love your inside work. It sure can be annoying to deal with odd patterns, but you seem to have worked it out.
7/5/12 8:21 PM
meggipeg said...
Despite the pattern issues, these are lovely shorts which look great on you. You have done a beautiful job making them, well done :)
7/5/12 7:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wonderfully made shorts with impressive details! You have some mighty well-sculpted and toned legs. Diagrams with directions would make things much more comprehensible. Thank you for a very helpful review, cleverkitty.
7/5/12 6:20 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, great review! Thanks for all of the pics. Did they put the seam allowances on the pattern pieces or was that what you did? I have not sewn a Style Arc before. I guess they hand draft each pattern piece? Because it does not look like the pattern edges are computer generated. Your shorts turned out really cute!!
7/5/12 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Burda 7207

photo
by: valerie se...

Review

Pattern

Jalie 2111

photo
by: Steph A

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

More Info
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

More Info