SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Stylish Dress Book 1 (Dress E)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2012 Contest
Viewed 295 times 
Reviewed by:dawn so cal
photo

 
 
About dawn so calstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/6/11
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/12 3:00 PM
Last Updated:7/8/12 3:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
duckbucket said...
I actually think it's cute on you without the belt. A nice light summer dress.
7/6/12 3:18 PM
Mufffet said...
Soooo cute - both ways, and I like the without the belt best! Because more comfy!
7/6/12 3:50 PM
loti said...
I think it's cute, I also like it better without the belt.
7/6/12 4:36 PM
katlew03 said...
Very cute and comfortable looking.
7/6/12 4:56 PM
dawn so cal said...
Really? You all are too kind! I just hate it! I think it looks like a mumu!
7/6/12 5:16 PM
cerulean said...
I like the print! It's too bad that it seems too loose to you!
7/6/12 5:28 PM
sew4grands said...
Like the dress without the belt too. I am looking for a pattern like this, cool for summer, what is the title of the book?
7/7/12 9:10 AM
FreyaStark said...
I like it as it is, without the belt, but then I like the muumuu look and not everyone does. Just wear it around the house! It's too good to waste.
7/7/12 4:28 PM
QuikSew said...
I agree with duck bucket. I actually like the light summery look as a dress without the belt. It's not a church dress, but I would wear it around the house and on short trips to the store. Especially in TX when it's 100 degrees.
7/7/12 6:16 PM
QuikSew said...
I agree with duck bucket. I actually like the light summery look as a dress without the belt. It's not a church dress, but I would wear it around the house and on short trips to the store. Especially in TX when it's 100 degrees.
7/7/12 6:16 PM
dawn so cal said...
Thanks! The book is called Stylish Dress Book.
7/8/12 2:55 AM
Renata said...
I bought the book because of the dress on the cover and it is a pity you don't like it. Maybe with a softer fabric you would like the style. It might soften up after a few washes and you may grow to like it. I do like it without the belt.
7/8/12 4:07 AM
mm said...
It looks fine.
7/8/12 4:08 AM
Renren said...
This looks like the kind of dress that, although it might not at first be my favorite, I would find myself reaching for again and again because of the comfort. I don't know about the sleeves (if they are too tight or if they pull--a definite turn off for me) but I consider dresses like this to be "low demand"--you can wear them in comfort without having to constantly be reminded you have something on. I bet you find you will enjoy wearing this dress.
7/8/12 9:46 AM
pammysarry said...
Love your fabric choice but agree the dress has the mumu look! In fairness, the models picture is side-on so I am thinking even on her it would have that sack like quality. Had similar issue with mumu-ness from simplicity 2174 – it took a lot of reworking to get it to suit my pear shape. Agree with QuikSew – great round the house type of dress for summer. To reduce the mumu-ness, think with this dress - if you are comfortable with doing so - I would recommend lowering the neckline (high necklines are generally not a friend to a fuller bust) to reduce amount of fabric up top. A hint of curve when everything else is hidden. Another option, take the hem up to more mid/upper thigh and wear as tunic over leggings. Really like the deep pockets - look to be at the perfect height!
7/9/12 6:52 AM
dawn so cal said...
That´s a great idea to turn in into a tunic! I never would have thought to lower the neckline. Great idea!!
7/9/12 10:52 AM
Margaret said...
I've decided I have the same problem with anything that doesn't fit into the waist at all, especially in back. Sometimes adding a self-fabric belt helps some (if you have fabric left). I like pammysarry's neckline idea too, and the fabric may also start to soften up more to give it some more drape. Looks like a nice cool dress, though.
7/17/12 10:38 AM
testbunny said...
It's a lovely dress. You have a similar figure to me, I would just have made it lots longer. Have you tried wearing it over a slightly longer skirt?- bet it will suit you just fine then!That's what I do with too short dresses.
7/21/13 4:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now